excluding files in on demand scan

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by bigc73542, May 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Is there a way to exclude files in the on demand scan?
     
  2. dog

    dog Guest

    Hi BigC, ;)

    I think if you set AMON to exclude a file/folder, it will also exclude the file/folder in an on demand scan.

    AMON -> Setup -> Exculsions Tab

    Steve
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I will try it. it takes forever for it to complete a scan.
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    Start an on demand scan and minimize the window. Continue what you are doing. The drag on the computer is very low.
    Doing an in depth scan will not slow you by much.
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It isn't slowing my comp down at all the av is just damn slow.
     
  6. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    I probably don't have as many files as you do. This is an in depth scan on my computer.

    Number of scanned files: 111866
    Number of threats found: 0
    Time of completion: 12:24:53 Total scanning time: 853 sec (00:14:13)
     
  7. dog

    dog Guest

    How many files is NOD scanning?

    I have around 300 000 files :blink: and my scan time is a lot less than 49 mins :doubt: with full-blown paranoid settings.

    Here's a sample from my scan log - It's a full scan minus two partitions on a slave drive. There are alot of archives, zips, rars etc. too.

    Number of scanned files: 223908
    Number of threats found: 0
    Time of completion: 20:37:48 Total scanning time: 2214 sec (00:36:54)
     
  8. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    I have had trouble with nod scanning slow before so i will move on to another av now. Even mcafee and Kav scan my comp in under 30 mins. Thanks guys.
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hey, I resemble that remark ;) :D

    :D :D :D
     
  10. fosius

    fosius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Posts:
    479
    Location:
    Partizanske, Slovakia
    The exclusion works only in AMON not in NOD32 on-demand scanner.
     
  11. SaM_J

    SaM_J Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    13
    Yes so how do I exclude files in on demmand scanner?

    /Sam
     
  12. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    You can't, at least not with NOD32 2.5. This has been a requested feature added to the "wishlist" thread.
     
  13. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    Hope it will be in version 3.0 . It's very useful, and very strange NOD32 scans so slow. :(
     
  14. manzz

    manzz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Have never seen a slow scan, last scan:
    Files 98568 : Threats 0: Total scanning time: 473 sec (00:07:53)
     
  15. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Scan speed will depend on your computer and the number of archived/packed files you have.

    So comparing NOD's on-demand scan speed on different sytems is not really telling you anything!
     
  16. manzz

    manzz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Posts:
    55
    Yes, I agree

    Would this not depend on how much info was available, and the number of systems to compare.
     
  17. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    Indeed, I too hope that exclusions for on-demand are added to the next version. I have FirstDefense installed on my system and I use the maximum of ten Snapshots. When I do an on-demand scan (trial version) it scans all ten Snapshots. Picture scanning your entire c:drive ten times, one scan right after the other; THAT's exactly what its like! If I do not purchase NOD, it will only be because of this reason; everything else about the program I do like.

    Acadia
     
  18. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    I came here hoping to find a way to exclude files/folders from the on-demand scanner. (As has been pointed out, excluding from AMON does not do it. Try testing it before suggesting it.)

    I don't want to exclude files because of the performance hit; I am running an FTP server that is detected as a "threat", and I want to exclude it, rather than having to configure NOD32 to omit scanning for all "Potentially dangerous applications".

    Edit: I know it can't currently be done. :)
     
  19. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Currently it can't be done.
     
  20. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Actually, it can be done - just correctly configure your scanning targests window and you can scan or not scan any files or folders you choose. It's not that hard...
    HTH :)
     
  21. BlueZannetti

    BlueZannetti Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Posts:
    6,590
    Maybe I'm missing something, but it would seem that the only way to reasonably do this is via a command line invocation of the scanner via the Windows Scheduled tasks coupled with the command line exclude option, not the integrated task scheduler/profile specification. I assume that your talking about the integrated scheduler being an inconvenient route for the result you're looking for - which it decidedly is.

    Blue
     
  22. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm guessing you mean with a command line...
    If you use the scheduler within NOD32 you can have it run a profile instead - even one you have specifically created and configured exactly as you requre it just for this purpose.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.