exclude file from on demand scanner

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by cupez80, Dec 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    how to exclude files from being scanned by on demand scanner module ? if i exclude files within AMON setting it won't be scanned by realtime but still scanned via on demand.
     
  2. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    You can't. Not yet anyways, maybe in ver.3
     
  3. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    The [removed] parameter is for testing purposes only.
    So it's up to you if you wanna have a go at it ;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 10, 2005
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Please refrain from advising people to use that parameter as it does not do exactly what it's supposed to do! It was made only for purposes of the virus lab and using it might expose your computer to risk.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2005
  5. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    hmmmmmmm.... can eset give some update or patch to do that (exclude files from on demand scanner) ? :D it would be very usefull....
     
  6. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    And yet reference to the [censored-but-not-so-secret] command line switch still exists in the 2.51.26 installer posted now, August, 2006. And as a result here I was--until reading this thread--looking at that installer's help file, trying to figure out how to exclude files, wasting my time, like an idiot.

    Someone ought to get around to removing it from the help file...
     
  7. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    IMHO there is still great value in the mention of it in documentation for as long as it is parsed by the application. Perhaps the decsription of this un-named NOD32 feature could be adjusted at some time, at least until it no longer exists.

    Not so long ago a big software company that makes operating systems and office productiviy suites was in trouble because they had 'undocumneted' features in their products. If I remember they were required in judgement to either document or remove these features.

    AFAIK, ESET has not had the same requirement imposed upon them, but it seems if put to that same test they would already comply.

    Cheers :)
     
  8. nameless

    nameless Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Posts:
    1,184
    ~snip~ Blackspear Marcos already said the /exclude switch should be removed from the documentation. I wasted my time because it hadn't been. So propose notional amateur legal theories all you want, but the docs do need to be changed. Change it to say "The /exclude switch is there, but doesn't work. Our bad." I don't care.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 11, 2006
  9. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    That sounds like a nice idea.
    I'm sorry to hear you wasted some time.
    Recently there was a thread here that covered a workaround.

    Cheers :)

    ps. I posted your suggestion into the Future Changes to Nod32 thread here.
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2006
  10. ivanwong

    ivanwong Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    File/Directory Exclusions

    NOD32 can exclude some files or directories for monitoring.
    Can I use "%systemroot%\dir" instead of long path like: "C:\Windows\dir" in the setting o_O
     
  11. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Re: File/Directory Exclusions

    Hi ivanwong,
    I'm guessing that you're referring to exclusions in AMON.
    It is necessary to specify any exclusions explicitly for AMON and to be certain it is best to exclude using two entries, one each for LFN and SFN format since AMON takes notice of the name the file or folder was accessed by.

    If you would like more information there is a past discussion of this here, or feel free to ask.

    Cheers :)
     
  12. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    All this will be alot easier in v3, trust me
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.