Ewido not updating

Discussion in 'ewido anti-spyware forum' started by PeterVO, Mar 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PeterVO

    PeterVO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    Belgium, Leuven
    Hello,

    the following message is displayed: "connection error during receive". The last update is from 18th of this month.
    In IMON's compatibility setup both 'ewidoguard.exe' and 'securitysuite.exe' are set to 'higher compatibility'.
    Ewido was and still is allowed to connect in 'Look & Stop' firewall.

    Kind regards,

    PeterVO
     
  2. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    could be that they have some server issues...I am sure Fish will elaborate on this further.

    my problem was solved when I had set nod to high compatibility mode
     
  3. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Could you please go to update.ewido.net and tell me the IP address that is shown? Thanks!
     
  4. PeterVO

    PeterVO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    Belgium, Leuven
    Hello Fish,

    the IP-address shown in the browser is 217.172.187.213

    Kind regards,

    PeterVO
     
  5. PeterVO

    PeterVO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    Belgium, Leuven
    Hello Fish,

    after I did the above, i tried to update Ewido again and believe it or not but now it works again ?! What a magical trick!

    What was the reason for the update not working before?

    Kind regards,

    PeterVO
     
  6. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    When did you try the last unsuccessful update?
     
  7. PeterVO

    PeterVO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    Belgium, Leuven
    Around noon today or somewhat earlier.

    Kind regards,

    PeterVO
     
  8. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Hmm... If it should happen again, could you please check which update server you are using? Thanks ;)
     
  9. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    I had it yesterday a lot of times... The IP is: 212.112.236.135
     
  10. PeterVO

    PeterVO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    Belgium, Leuven
    Hello,

    it happens again this morning with IP 217.172.187.213 (=the same as yesterday).
    So not able to update.

    Kind regards,

    PeterVO
     
  11. PeterVO

    PeterVO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    Belgium, Leuven
    Hello, :rolleyes:

    A bit of investigation revealed the following.
    Lately I've started to use AdMuncher instead of Proxomitron but use both (not together!) on and off. When I use Proxomitron and explicitly select the option in Ewido to use localhost as proxyon port 8080, the update is done. In the past when using Proxomitron only I never had to use this proxy-setting.
    Could it also be that for a successfull update, Internet Explorer has to be the default browser? At the moment Opera is the default one.

    Kind regards,

    PeterVO
     
  12. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    No ;)
     
  13. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    And here we go again:

    Today update errors again, which even prohibited me from updatting manually...

    No problem pinging it though... IP is 212.172.187.213
     

    Attached Files:

  14. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Hmm, very strange... We didn't change anything ;(
     
  15. Randy_Bell

    Randy_Bell Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2002
    Posts:
    3,004
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    I haven't had any issues myself, ewido is updating normally .. ;)
     
  16. bigbuck

    bigbuck Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Posts:
    4,877
    Location:
    Qld, Aus
    I got that error twice yesterday. Updated ok the third time.
     
  17. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    Randy, maybe you are the lucky one to be on a server with a different IP?

    I don't write this to be funny or something...

    And uhm... just now Ewido says "update needed", nothing happened and yes, again the same error.... So Fish: please put me on a different machine ;)

    PS: after EIGHT manual update tries the update worked... the eight tries all gave that error which I printed here in the attachment.
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2005
  18. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Hmm, could it be a firewall or something preventing update.ewido.net from pointing to a different address?
     
  19. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    The fact that a manual update works after 8 (!) times brings me the idea that something is wrong with the server... can you agree on that?
     
  20. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Hmm, as we use DNS round robbing it could also be that your (local) DNS cache got refreshed and the sub-domain now points to a different IP. Very strange... ;(
     
  21. Edwin024

    Edwin024 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2004
    Posts:
    1,000
    You're correct. The IP now is 212.112.236.135 and a ping showed that this server is much slower than the other and also even gave a time out...
     
  22. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    i have the same problem when i tried to update ewido. what should i do ?
     
  23. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Close the GUI, shutdown the guard if full version and go into the Ewido folder and delete the content of the signatures-folder (not the folder!), open the GUI and update, reboot when finished. :)
     
  24. chew

    chew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    515
    Location:
    GeordieLand.
    "Don Pelotas: Close the GUI, shutdown the guard if full version and go into the Ewido folder and delete the content of the signatures-folder (not the folder!), open the GUI and update, reboot when finished."

    Hi Don Pelotas

    I have tried your method but it did not work.

    I keept getting this message at the bottom of Ewido GUI "You need to restart before you can receive new updates" and I have restart my PC so many times without successfully updating anything at all.

    Any ideas?

    Chew
     
  25. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Try to download the full database here and reboot after installing it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.