Ewido Micro

Discussion in 'ewido anti-spyware forum' started by G1111, Feb 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    I found the link to Ewido Micro and use it as an on-demand scanner. Just wondering why it isn't more easily found (on Ewido's website)?
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    my guess is that they offer ewido micro only as an alternative to the online scanner for user who dont use IE.
     
  3. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Where did you find ewido micro?

    Gerard
     
  4. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    On their site ;)

    But you need to use a non-IE browser to see the micro link on their online scanner beta page. Use IE and the ewido micro link is not displayed.

    Hence, as WSFuser noted, this is an alternative to the usual (beta) online scanner for those users who do not use Internet Explorer.
     
  5. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
  6. GUI_Tex

    GUI_Tex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    189
    ;) I agree
     
  7. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Thanks :D

    Never noticed that one before ;)

    Gerard
     
  8. TheQuest

    TheQuest Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Posts:
    2,301
    Location:
    Kent. UK by the sea
    Hi, Blackcat

    Hope you do not mind me adding this bit,

    And your browser must not be blocking JavaScript or you will not see the link.

    Take Care,
    TheQuest :cool:
     
  9. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Not at all. Thanks for the amendment ;)
     
  10. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    So it's on demand. Is it updateable?
     
  11. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    Yes. When you run it the signatures are downloaded automatically. Today there were 271,424 signatures. Attached is a screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Thanks I experienced that today as I ran it. I'm on dialup. Is there anyway to retain these signatures & would that make the next update smaller? Cause this is an .exe not installed. Btw I didn't wait for your screenshot to load. Thanks.
     
  13. G1111

    G1111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Posts:
    2,127
    Location:
    USA
    Does not appear to be any options. Each time I open it the signatures are then downloaded. I have had no hits yet so not sure if there is an option to remove the nasty or if it just ID's it.
     
  14. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    I had 2 fp's. It gave me the option to remove. Course I didn't.
     
  15. raffnixpert

    raffnixpert Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    My browser is Firefox 1.5.0.2. I downloaded ewido_micro.exe and tried to start it (don't even know whether it is a program or a setup. It does not do anything when double-clicking on it. I hope this thread is still visited and somebody will help me.o_O
     
  16. OldRebel

    OldRebel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    Just let Firefox download the micro into the Firefox folder and then let the online scan run. You do not need to double click the micro - just start the scan from the controls provided on the website.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2006
  17. OldRebel

    OldRebel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    After Firefox downloads the Ewido Micro, you have to click to open the micro file within the Firefox download dialogue box.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: May 2, 2006
  18. raffnixpert

    raffnixpert Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    Thank you for trying to help me, OldRebel. Unfortunately it did not work. I have attached a screenshot that should show the actions I have carried out according to your instructions. I cannot see that I have made any mistake there.
    If by "controls provided on the website" you mean the "Open" button in the sidebar this does not effect anything. The statusbar just reads "Ready". (The URL entered in the address field was typed in by me; it did not appear automatically by pressing "Open" in the Downloads Sidebar.)

    I tried to disable various combinations of my safety progs and settings – nothing changed. I still think there must be something in my safety settings that is preventing ewido_micro from starting.

    Here is what I tried (in a rather unsystematic manner I fear):

    1) Disable Sygate PFW
    2) Disable avast! WebShield
    3) Disable WinPatrol
    4) Disable dak's customblocking list in SpywareBlaster

    In Firefox:
    5) Enable Java
    6) Enable Popups
    7) Enable JavaScript on the ewido website (with NoScript extension)

    My hosts file does not contain any entry for ewido.


    I do not know whether all the items above are pertinent to the problem at all. I just wanted to try everything I could think of. I think I have tried almost every reasonable combination of the above settings except that I did not dare to disable WebShield and Sygate PFW simultaneously.

    Do you or anybody else reading this have any idea what else I could try (apart from using MSIE)?
     

    Attached Files:

  19. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    Download ewido_micro to your desktop and double click it from your desktop the signatures are downloaded to your IE history you will see them if you search. When the downloading of signatures is complete you will see a screen like attached. If you are not connected to the Inet you will see an error.
    Please post a screen of what heppens as you click it for further TS.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. raffnixpert

    raffnixpert Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    13
    What do you mean by "IE history"? Is it C:\WINDOWS\Temporary Internet Files? There is nothing in it but C:\WINDOWS\Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5\index.dat.

    Could you give me some file names for which to carry out a Windows search after having double-clicked on the ewido_micro.exe symbol on my desktop?
     
  21. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    No they go to TEMP sorry... I think they used to be in IE5 history it's been a few.

    Go to Start -> Run type in "%TEMP%\ewido_signatures" w/o quotes.

    But this is useless if the program errors out.
     
  22. OldRebel

    OldRebel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    I don't have the same configuration you do, so I can't duplicate your steps. I do know that SpywareBlaster is not a problem, because I have it fully enabled. It is possible that Ewido micro cannot run because of your Internet Explorer Internet Zone settings, because they also control what happens in the Local Zone (your computer). Try putting Ewido.net in the IE Trusted Zone and set that zone to default level. And make sure that Java and Active X are set to Prompt instead of Disable in the IE Internet zone. NO matter what you download with Firefox, it won't be able to run if your IE settings are too restrictiive. For example, if I set IE Internet Zone to disable active scripting, my McAfee virusscan will not run, even though it is an installed program.
     
  23. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    What is ewido micro? (and why):D
     
  24. OldRebel

    OldRebel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Posts:
    153
    Location:
    South Carolina USA
    It is an online Ewido scanner compatible for use with the Firefox browser for those who need to scan but do not use Internet Explorer.
     
  25. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    OK, thanks for that OldRebel.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.