Ewido memory usage during scan.

Discussion in 'ewido anti-spyware forum' started by tansu, Dec 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tansu

    tansu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    210
    Greetings,
    I am a loyal ewido user and I am very glad using it.
    But in my Turkish forum there is a topic like this and screenshots. One of our moderators posted this and I want to show to you. It is spending 280MB from the memory, during scan. What is wrong do you think?
    http://www.doctus.net/index.php?topic=666.0
    Regards
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2005
  2. kemikkurdu

    kemikkurdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Hello

    This problem happened to me. While i'm making a design with Adobe Photoshop i started ewido scan. After a few minutes everything started to slow down. And i try to look task manager to find the problem. Then i saw that screenshot. I was shocked :)

    If it didn't happened to me, i would say that is a joke.

    What is wrong with my ewido or Windows?
     
  3. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Did it stay like that? Could you please try a scan without the archives-support?
     
  4. kemikkurdu

    kemikkurdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    4
  5. TouchuvGrey

    TouchuvGrey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    441
    Location:
    South Mississippi USA ( ya'll )
    I downloaded and installed Ewido a few months ago shortly after DCS TDS-3 was discontinued. I liked it and would have kept it except that it caused my computer to slow to a crawl and sometimes lock up completly while running a scan. Genuine Intel P4 2.53 ghz, 512 meg ram.



    Mike
     
  6. kemikkurdu

    kemikkurdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    I don't understand why anybody didn't answer. Are sure that this is an official Support Forum?
     
  7. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    Such a high peak memory usage is quite normal as the ewido engine does everything in-memory to avoid having to create temp-files... For example unpacking archives etc.
     
  8. TouchuvGrey

    TouchuvGrey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    441
    Location:
    South Mississippi USA ( ya'll )

    It's normal for a computer to lock up when using Ewido ?
     
  9. tansu

    tansu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Posts:
    210
    I think it is not casual using, it is scanning. Time to time people get have to scan in safe mod,which you are unable to use your OS like you get used to.
     
  10. TouchuvGrey

    TouchuvGrey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    441
    Location:
    South Mississippi USA ( ya'll )

    I should have been more specific in my question. I should have asked if it was normal for a computer such as mine ( Genuine Intel P4 2.53 ghz processor, 512 meg ram ) to lock up and freeze while running a scan with Ewido. By lock up i mean, i start the scan before i go to bed, and when i get up the computer is stopped dead in the middle of the scan.


    Mike
     
  11. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    No, that's not normal and is often caused by faulty hardware e.g. RAM, overheating CPU etc. as ewido anti-malware sometimes stresses the hardware more than other scanners (e.g. when the emulation has to run). You should check your computer with tools like memtest86, you can find a very handy bootable cd including these tools at: http://www.ultimatebootcd.com
    Hope this helps :)
     
  12. Brinn

    Brinn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Posts:
    181
    Location:
    Canada
    I had trouble with Ewido before I reformatted. It would get about 60% through a scan then suddenly shut down. My system's a P4 3.0 with 512 megs of RAM. After the format, everything was fine. It seems you need a fast comp with everything ship shape to ensure the scanner runs smoothly.
     
  13. Jaws

    Jaws Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    210
    Well, I suppose only problems get posted and I'm not saying that some people don't have problems. But ...I would have to disagree with the last statement (but not the shipshape part :) ).

    On my (self built) relatively ancient computer, AMD 1.33 T-Bird, 512 ram, I've had no problems either with RAM usage or CPU usage. I run with everything active - realtime protection, automatic updates and guard installed.

    No noticeable slowdown in browsing or opening applications, as some have reported elsewhere. I guess if I “felt” I had slowdowns I'd be looking at Task Manager too.

    Complete system scans on my system are amazingly fast, comparable to nod32, of around 6 minutes. I been using Ewido for about 8 months and the last time the HD was reformatted was about one year ago.

    Hope this helps, because I would assume this is the performance you should be seeing if everything was “OK” with your computer. But, then again, everyones configurations are different. So, ... YMMV.

    Regards
     
  14. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    Indeed very often bad memory is the cause of problems, IMO a RAM-check is the first act to execute.;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.