Ewido @ 20 MB....?

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by dja2k, Sep 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Is it really necessary to use ewido (paid version) actively? I mean it is using 20 MB from the start and sometimes gets higher. You can see I have all other software below that is protecting my computer, yet I have always came back to the same question - is ewido worth running actively? I mean I do scanning of my computer with all security scanners every week or less, so if a trojan did hit, I would find it scanning manually that is if it past Nod32, PG , and RD of course.
    So with that in mind, do you guys run ewido active or not?

    dja2k
     
  2. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    If you are using a top-notch AV/AT like Kaspersky, IMO the answer is no.

    The chance Ewido will pick up something that an AV/AT like Kaspersky was missing is almost zero;)
     
  3. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Well smokey, don't know if you are right, but using kaspersky would not really help my situation on trying to save resources. Kaspersky is higher resourced than nod32.

    dja2k
     
  4. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    BOClean would save you resources and runs well with NOD and I'm told PG.
     
  5. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    With Nod32 + Ewido you don't save resources;)
     
  6. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    What is your resource use on boclean in MB's ?
     
  7. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Just over 7000K. It is often in the high 6000K range but I'm running a NOD In-Depth Analysis scan which may have bumped it up a bit. Currently at 7236K.
     
  8. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Smokey, I am asking this question about ewido cause I want to remove it to save resources. You are not in the same page as me on aswering my question.

    dja2k
     
  9. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Nod In-Depth Analysis scan completed. BOClean now at 6744K.
     
  10. Smokey

    Smokey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Posts:
    1,513
    Location:
    Annie's Pub
    Your question was: "Is it really necessary to use ewido (paid version) actively".

    Here again my answer: "If you are using a top-notch AV/AT like Kaspersky, IMO the answer is no.

    The chance Ewido will pick up something that an AV/AT like Kaspersky was missing is almost zero".
     
  11. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    Currently, I don't use the ewido guard because of its usage resources, but I'm waiting for the v3.6 that have a lot of guard improvements and configuration, to see if it's worth to use it on active protection...
     
  12. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    It's a little strange how Ewido is apparantly selective with how much a drag it is, on mine it also uses 18-20mb and i couldn't care less because i have plenty of those and it actually feels light in daily use, i don't notice it.

    But dja2k you should be aware that the most important part of an anti-trojan is in fact the guard & Ewido has one of the best with memoryscan too, so unless you have too little ram i would run it with the guard. :)
     
  13. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    ewido Guard also have some problems... Sometimes it freezes or use a lot of CPU when you open a file, and I don't like this behavior...
     
  14. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    I can understand that, i just don't see this, but i would not like that either. :)
     
  15. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Even though I have the plus-version of Ewido, I also disabled the resident scanner - It's just too slow for me.
    Or maybe my computer is getting old & slow, who knows :p
     
  16. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    For old and slow give BOClean a go. :D But it rhymes.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2005
  17. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    I agree with those strong points on the ewido guard, so I am goning to turn it off and not run it active. Thanks guys for all the replies.

    dja2k
     
  18. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    This thread is temporarily closed. PM a mod to open it if you want to post.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.