EverQuest Fix?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by dawmdt, Feb 18, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dawmdt

    dawmdt Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    London
    Is this imminent at all? I know it was reported during beta (EverQuest - keyboard doesn't work unless WRSA is completely shutdown) and I was wondering when it's intending to be fixed?
     
  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Have you contacted WSA support recently to see if they can help you? http://www.webrootanywhere.com/support ;)

    TH
     
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Everquest compatibility is currently an outstanding issue which we'll be addressing in one of the next releases, but it is currently not fixed yet.
     
  4. Geri

    Geri Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    I hope this gets fixed soon as this problem has been around for a long time already. I reported it several months ago (support is aware of the issue). I've de-installed WRSA for now, since this it is too bothersome to disable WSRA when I want to play. I also seem to forget to turn it back on when I quit playing.

    It doesn't appear to be keyboard related, as I tried several keyboards, also driverless keyboards (I deinstalled all drivers). All show the same behaviour.

    Joe, could you post on this forum when the problem is fixed or show in a change log if it is fixed?

    Thanks!
     
  5. Geri

    Geri Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    Hi Joe,

    Any news on the EverQuest fix? Or any indication on when this may get fixed?

    Thanks!
     
  6. superssjdan

    superssjdan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    I think i may have a similar problem with an mmo called Aion.Keyboard seems to lock up i.e. keys not responding or character go.I changed my behavior and it happens almost never now.It only happens if i have open an internet explorer window open at some point while playing the game.I like to hit the windows button on my keyboard and go back and forth between games and desktop and the net.I usually wind up shutting down wsa for like 30 seconds and then launch wsa again and all usually stays well unless i happen to open another ie window while playing aion.Never really thought about it being much of a problem.It's been this way since the day i installed WSA.It's just something i'm willing to just deal with because of what a great overall product WSA is.Just a bit of a nag as it seems to be remedied if i close wsa for like 30 seconds then restart it providing i have no open ie windows.
     
  7. Geri

    Geri Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    Thanks for your reply. I tried your workaround for your Aion issue, but it doesn't appear to work for EverQuest. It still won't receive any alphanumeric characters until WRSA is shut down even if WSRA and EverQuest are the only applications having a window, are run. But let me make that more precise. It did work right after removing and (re)installing WSRA. Rebooting the system after WSRA is installed, causes the problem. From there on the problem remains until WSRA is shut down.
     
  8. superssjdan

    superssjdan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    Sorry i couldn't be of more help.I'm very sure Joe and his team will fix your issue in a future update.If there is one reason i love webroot/prevx,it's because i know for a fact they care and they actually listen and respond to us:)
     
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Can you please contact WSA support http://www.webrootanywhere.com/support and say that you are from Wilders with the link to this thread as support has been looking at this thread!

    Thanks,

    TH
     
  10. Geri

    Geri Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    Hi TH,

    Done. I've included some information I gave to support in the past concerning this matter. I just hope this gets fixed soon, as the problem has been around for a long, long time.

    Kind regards.
     
  11. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    We thought that we had fixed this but we've still received a couple reports. I'll be digging into it closer to hopefully find the cause shortly.

    Thanks!
     
  12. Geri

    Geri Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    Thanks, Joe!
     
  13. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    I just wanted to let everyone here know that we do have a fix for Everquest in place. It won't make it into the next immediate build but you'll see it in ~8.0.1.180.

    Thanks!
     
  14. Geri

    Geri Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    It's indeed fixed in the .179 build. Thanks for the hard work, Joe!
     
  15. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Great to hear! ;)

    TH
     
  16. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Very glad to hear it! :thumb:
     
  17. superssjdan

    superssjdan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    I can also say my similar problem with the MMO Aion has been remedied in a recent update as well and works like a charm.Not a single lockup in recent memory.Kudos to Joe and the team at webroot for actuallly responding to us:D It's great to know user experiences are valued and not just blown off.
     
  18. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Thanks :) User experience is definitely our top priority and will never be ignored!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.