evaluation version?

Discussion in 'WormGuard' started by tutankamon, Nov 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tutankamon

    tutankamon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Lancashire U.K.
    Hi Jooske,
    I am a registered user of Wormguard but when it activates it is still showing "Evaluation version " at the bottom of the window. Where have I gone wrong?
     
  2. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi Tut, When you open the WG GUI you will see licensed to: your name at the top. The other window has a nit :)

    HTH Pilli
     
  3. tutankamon

    tutankamon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Posts:
    170
    Location:
    Lancashire U.K.
    Hi Pilli,
    Yes the program is registered to me, it is the WARNING window when Wormguard is activated that still says "evaluation version". Glad to hear that is merely a nit.
     
  4. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    True, also that will be ironed out in the next version. :cool:
     
  5. NetTraveler

    NetTraveler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    134
    Location:
    Amsterdam Netherlands
    I downloaded trial version I think about two years ago, and it still works... o_O Not that I complain about it, but how is it possible?
    Anyway I was praising WormGuard all over the Internet as "must have" program.. Hope you guy's made nice buck with it.. :) :cool:
    P.S if you guy's have problem with it, give me notice, and I will remove it from my system.. :)
     
  6. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Hi NetTraveler,
    Do you have a file wguard.kf in your WormGuard folder by any chance?
    If so what are it's properties?

    Pilli
     
  7. NetTraveler

    NetTraveler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    134
    Location:
    Amsterdam Netherlands
    Wait... I'll have look.. :)
     
  8. NetTraveler

    NetTraveler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    134
    Location:
    Amsterdam Netherlands
    Nope.. That's all I have...

    allowed.txt
    DiamondCS Homepage
    Email Support
    license.txt
    lockfile.txt
    locktype.txt
    register.exe
    register.txt
    testprot.exe
    uninstal.exe
    wgscan.exe
    wguard.cfg
    wguard.exe
    wguard.exp
    wguard.hlp
    WormGuard Homepage

    Oh.. and it's 2.0 version..
     
  9. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Version 2! Ah well we will have to await DCS's comments on that one.

    Cheers. Pilli
     
  10. NetTraveler

    NetTraveler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    134
    Location:
    Amsterdam Netherlands
    If you people need any other input, I'll be glad to help.. :)
    I have question tho.. It happened few times that WG gave warning while opening Word document that I just finished but wanted to change something in text.. It said it was a high risk and had two extentions .doc.doc
    do you have any ideas how it is possible?
     
  11. Pilli

    Pilli Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    6,217
    Location:
    Hampshire UK
    Yes it is possible. If for instance you do a save as in word by default it automatically adds the .doc extension - If you type say word.doc then word could may have added the .doc extension also making word.doc.doc

    Dual extended files such as this are flagged because you could open malware with an unseen extentions such as:

    virus.doc ..............................................................................exe

    Note Extra dots shown as the forum software knocks out the extra spaces. o_O

    Because there are lots of spaces between the .doc and the .exe a user might miss the.exe therefore concluding that the file is just a normal .doc file and not an executable thus opening the file and infecting themselves.

    HTH Pilli :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.