eTrust promo updating problem

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by minacross, May 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. minacross

    minacross Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    the AV is no longer updatable via the internal updater,did they change thier ftp server or what? Anyone else having the same problem?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. dan_maran

    dan_maran Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Posts:
    1,053
    Location:
    Stamford, CT
    By logging into the FTP manually I can see the two updates, fi_w9x.exe and fv_w9x.exe. So you might want to FTP to ftp://ftpav2003.ca.com go to pub and download them and do a manual install. Since I don't use CA I cannot verify that they will not update.
     
  3. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It will still update internally with xp.
     
  4. groundling

    groundling Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Posts:
    20
    No problems here, minacross.
    Running Windows98SE.
    Showing:
    InnoculateIt version 23.69.21
    Vet version 11.9.9132

    Checked logs, some failed attempts on the 13th, (Friday).

    I've noticed if there's some problems updating , it tends to be on a Friday.
    For reasons known only to CA.
     
  5. monsunami

    monsunami Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    USA
    hmm. Last time I had that problem it was because a trojan/virus was able to kill my etrust. Might want to use another antivirus scanner to scan computer in case.
     
  6. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
  7. Hi, that has happened to me with the firewall and with a program like prevx or other registry control program because I did something bad with it. with prevx the first time I didn´t let the antivirus to read something and after that it did´t work anymore, until I formatted my PC. It happened too with process guard 2 FREE, because I didn´t let programs to change, and always appeared a dialog like the one you are showing, so that, I think the probelem is not with your antivirus but with any other program.(so that you have to be careful and not block it with any other program).
     
  8. minacross

    minacross Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Posts:
    657
    it seems that your 100% correct. I have this problem after installing/uninstalling of the latest version of Jetico Firewall.
    thanx a lot :)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.