ESS v4 vs. v5

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by SBMongoos, Jan 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    Is there a consensus on which is better? Early on it sounded like there were some issues with v5 so I've stuck with v4.2.71.2.
     
  2. Skier

    Skier Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Posts:
    28
    I can only give my personal experience but; on my desktop with Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit and ESET SS v5 I suffered with freezes. I have gone back to v4 and had no problems whatsoever.

    On my laptop running Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit I am running ESET SS v5 with no problem.

    I don't have the time or inclination to spend hours trying to diagnose the issues with v5 and the fact that I experienced the same issue before and after a complete rebuild (following the installation of a new motherboard and processor) indicates that there is an issue with the 64-bit version. Whether that's an inherent internal issue or a specific incompatibility I have no idea.

    Regards

    Skier
     
  3. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i have no issues with v5 x64 personally
     
  4. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    ESS 4 blows v5 out of the water! Internet is much faster for me with v4 and some images don't load properly with v5 on some sites like facebook.

    Eset is really screwing up a quality Security suite with every update unfortunately :(
     
  5. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
    Hey berryracer
    Sorry but I couldn't help myself noticing that you almost have the same system as I. ( i5/ 8gb ram/ windows 7 64bit). It just sometime very funny, meant ironically, that two systems that is almost identically can experience the same piece of software so differently. Me and some friends have a small group of 9 gamers that occasionally, when school and work allowed it :) , play some games in our small network . And recently a friend of mine experienced some compatibility problems, we thought. He was also runnig Eset smart security v5, like most of us now. His problem were, that he has used a registry cleaner from uni-blue very aggresively, that messed up his system extremely good. (We have convinced him to only use ccleaner :) ). So my point is just that many of our problems we have can most of the time be found in the software that sorrund our chosen Antimalware solution, not saying that this is your issue with version 5 ,don't get me wrong. ...just my humble experience with a lot of crapware/bad coding.
    Have a super nice weekend
    Regards
    Janus
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2012
  6. berryracer

    berryracer Suspended Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Posts:
    1,640
    Location:
    Dubai, UAE
    That's interesting.

    My system has not even been cleaned by a registry cleaner by the way.

    But when I do choose to clean my registry, I only use Auslogics Registry Cleaner which is the best registry cleaner out there and is very safe. Much better than CCleaner IMO

    I am much happier with ESS v4
     
  7. jackbrennan2008

    jackbrennan2008 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Posts:
    12
    v4 and v5 work fine for me, but v5 keeps telling me to turn off gamer mode, which is off. As well as saying "Eset needs your attention" when it doesn't.

    I'm still on v5, but these messages are just unnecessary.
     
  8. Novicex

    Novicex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Posts:
    72
    YES!YES! and YES! Ive retuned to v4 too. I think ESET should get concerned about that.
     
  9. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    i wish you all had better experiences with v5.. i have it running on 12 systems all are fine the only issue i still rarely see is the window resize thing, after updating to .95 it seemed to be totally gone till just a couple days ago which makes me think its releated to one of the modules possibly that were updated again?? not sure. i actually uninstalled v5 and installed v4 and really saw VERY little difference performance wise?? not sure guess maybe im lucky but i dont have issues with it at all..
     
  10. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    USA
    I'm still using v4.2.71.2. (AV not ESS) due to a major bug with V5 where the user receives a BSOD from having an external storage device plugged into the local machine. I don't understand why this has not been fixed yet. Is it due to ESET having a lack of programmers or is it due to some other reason like not caring about their customers. I have external storage devices plugged into all my machines so I don't plan on switching anytime soon. Luckily I'm happy with v4.2.71.2. so I don't need to switch. I usually wait several months to switch to a new version anyways so the development team has plenty of time to work out most bugs, but come one! Whats the hold up here? Its one bug that was reported at least 2 months ago. It should be fixed ASAP for those that want to switch to V5 that can't.
     
  11. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    why does everyone not have that bug though?? i know i dont and i use external media ALL the time whether it be usb or hdd etc.. no issues here, i know some reported this bug but im curious as to what the cause is since it does not effect everyone
     
  12. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Morning ! I've experienced the same problems as JackBrennan2008...and consider them minor annoyances...but shouldn't be part of a fully mature product...it would nice if a fix is applied in a future update. Sincerely...Securon
     
  13. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    This is a known issue with Microsoft Windows XP. Version 5.0.95.0 fixed the issue on some systems, but it still being looked into. Are you running a different version of Windows and having this problem?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky


     
  14. nickster_uk

    nickster_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    190
    I've rolled back to v4.2.71.2 for now. I was generally impressed with v5.0.95..some of the new features were pretty cool and the Acronis True Image bug was fixed but I had a couple of BSODs which seemed to be related to v5.
     
  15. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    It's 3/7/2012. Just thought I would tap this consensus again to see if it's time to migrate to v5 of ESS or stay put. I see the business edition of ESS v4.x received an update so I assume the home edition will. ??

    Anyone happier with v5.x or still sticking with v4.x.
     
  16. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    Almost two months and no updates on v4 vs v5?
     
  17. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Any particular update(fix) you are waiting for?

    You get on average 2-4 VSD updates per day.

    Plus that the modules get updated often, recently they have got updates several times per week. When ever you get module updates depends on if you use pre-release updates or not.

    A new version doesn't need to come out every month like, 5.1.2, 5.1.3 etc..
    if there's no severe issues with the current release.
    Instead ESET updates the modules wich is far more important than releasing a new version every single month.

    And YES it's perfectly fine to download and use V5 :thumb:
    After you have done that you can enable Pre-release updates and you will receive module updates faster. :)
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2012
  18. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    Will there any bad effects if I don't turn on this pre release update?

    Is this feature available in ESS 4.2.64.12?

    Thanks.
     
  19. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    Been running 4.2.712 for a while now. Seems to be just fine. Was curious if there is a gain to moving to v5.x. Better? Faster? Features worth while? Do I need to uninstall my 4.x or can I upgrade? Apparently the kinks are worked out of v5.
     
  20. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    As my colleague Marcos has indicated, a service release for ESET Smart Security/ESET NOD32 Antivirus 5 is being prepared. Some of the technologies that will be included in that service release are incorporated into the release candidate for ESET Endpoint Security (formerly ESET Smart Security Business Edition) and can be downloaded here if you are interested in taking a sneak peak at the improvements.

    Please keep in mind, though, that this edition of the software for businesses has different licensing than the home edition as well as some features which are specifically for businesses, so all the features in there won't be showing up in ESET Smart Security.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  21. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    I just simply want to know if v5 is better than v4. Are people having success with it or or issues yet? Is there a comparison chart or something (also to see) that compares that two?
     
  22. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    A definite matter of opinion. 5 has more features. 4 is probably faster because of it. Both are lighter than most other products. I found 5 unusable when it was first released. At the current time I am running it on 2 machines without any problems. The only way you can really know for sure is to roll up your sleeves and give it a go. I feel that in its current state it's worth a try.
     
  23. m0unds

    m0unds Guest

    technically, yes, v5 is better. some people have issues with v5. then again, some people had issues with v4. i, personally, have no problems with v5 whatsoever.
     
  24. SBMongoos

    SBMongoos Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Posts:
    215
    -> xxJackxx and m0unds:

    Thanks! Helpful feedback. If I make the change it will mostly out of curiosity and playing with it. I have to say I have v4.x working perfect and it has been. I'm sure you know how it goes. "If it ain't broke don't fix it" but I've been real curious.
     
  25. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    I know exactly what you mean. I do throw the HIPS and Firewall into learning mode when I first install it. I find it is better to let it auto create the initial set of rules to avoid problems. Once you get it settled in for a couple of days it is rare to hear from it, which it good.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.