ESS getting poor with LAN

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by bkisc, Oct 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bkisc

bkisc Registered Member

Hello All,

I've been using ESET since last 3 years very happily but recently ever since I have started using LAN, ESET started messing up things in ways that freak sme out. after banging my head for a while I found a solution but I think ESET fellows should better do something about this, here's what's happening:

I've got a desktop and a netbook, and use a crossover cable to connect them using fix ip address, either 169.254.x.x or 192.168.x.x, everything as required to configure ESET for lan is also done, like Allow Sharing, and Do not ~ Snipped as per TOS ~ up when IP changes etc. these two subnets are added to the Trusted Zone. So basically everything runs okay without fuss Except...

The Problem: I've a high speed wireless internet USB which I use on my desktop for day to day work, so when I dial my internet connection, somehow ESET figures out that theres a Port Scanning Attack on my LAN IP address and thereafter keeps blocking port 137, 138, 139 and a few more required by Netbios.

The Solution: I've disable IDS to stop detecting Port Scanning Attacks on UDP and TCP and this works, but at what cost ? wouldn't it make my actual internet connection vulnerable to real attack from the internet ?

Please guys I see similar post going unanswered, Can't ESET be taught to simply ignore the Trusted Zone for everything unless told otherwise !!!

Many Thanks in Advance ...

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 20, 2010
  2. bkisc

bkisc Registered Member