ESS and Windows 8 locking up at logon screen

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Jedis, Oct 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jedis

    Jedis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    I installed Windows 8 and ESS and they were working fine. Until ESS updated.

    It finished updating and gave an error saying HIPS could not be started. I restarted the computer and Windows 8 locks up at the logon screen. I had to boot to Safe mode and run the ESET uninstaller in order to restore access to the system again.

    I'm downloading the beta of v6 now and hope that gets rid of the hard lock at the logon screen.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    It doesn't sound like a general issue as many other users, including me, have been using ESS on Windows 8 without issues. Also the weird thing you mentioned is that the issue began manifesting after an update although there haven't been any modules updates recently that might potentially have such an effect on the system.
    Let us know if installing v6 makes a difference.
     
  3. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    There is some kind of limited issue because I experienced a similar problem. In my case it locked, causing bsod, after I created a fw rules.
     
  4. Jedis

    Jedis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    I had downloaded the latest version of v5 on eset.com and it worked after a reboot. It was when it downloaded definition updates and any module updates that were newer when it caused the problem.

    The machine didn't completely lock up - I could use the mouse, but the keyboard stopped working and clicking on buttons did not do anything. However, the text input cursor on the password entry box was frozen and not blinking. I tried rebooting multiple times but it never let me actually type anything in the password box. That was when I went on eset.com and downloaded the uninstaller, which I ran from Safe mode.

    I have ESS v6 beta on my laptop now and everything seems fine for now. I am able to login and use the system successfully now.
     
  5. Jedis

    Jedis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    Ok I spoke too soon. Rebooted and it's doing the same thing again, locking up at the logon screen.

    Any suggestions or a way to get a log file that might indicate what is going on?
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Does switching HIPS to learning mode until you restart the computer and Windows starts again make a difference? If not, what about disabling HIPS completely and restarting the computer?
    Is it a clean Windows 8 installation or you've already installed some other applications?
     
  7. Jedis

    Jedis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    It seems to be intermittant.

    It's a fresh Windows 8 Pro install. The only programs loaded are Office, Dropbox, and ESS.

    I restarted it a couple times and was actually able to login this last time, unlike before with v5. I just set HIPS to learning mode. What exactly does HIPS do and what does learning mode change? I rebooted once and was able to login for now.
     
  8. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Switching HIPS to learning mode will ensure that necessary rules will be created automatically so in case you use special software, it won't block it upon logon which might result in unexpected system behavior if the software is integrated tightly with the oper. system.
    After a computer restart, switch HIPS to the automatic mode with rules, go to the rules setup, take a sceen shot of it and post it here.
     
  9. Jedis

    Jedis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    Attached are the screenshots:
    1.png
    2.png
    3.png
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Besides the software you've mentioned, I also see that you have MBAM, Stardock sw, Cisco VPN and some Dell sw installed.

    It's not clear to me whether the screen shots were taken from v5.2 or v6. If you installed v6, were you able to log in without switching HIPS to learning mode after installation? If the rules were created with v6, does the issue occur if you remove the rules and switch HIPS to "automatic mode with rules"?
     
  11. Jedis

    Jedis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Posts:
    15
    Those were taken from v6. I had to remove v5.2 via Safemode with the ESET uninstaller as I couldn't get past the logon screen with v5.2.

    I did install more software. And I was able to login without switching anything to HIPS after installing v6. It has only frozen for me once at the logon screen with v6. With v5.2, it happened every time after it updated the program after the initial install.

    So to be clear, you want me to delete all of those rules and leave HIPS in learning mode? It is still in learning mode from the last time.
     
  12. ciscodisco

    ciscodisco Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    18
    Location:
    World!
    I hate to bring up old threads but I seem to have something similar and I am also using ESET SS 6 with interactive HIPS and have used learning mode. I wasn’t sure if it was related to ESET or the HIPS but did seem a likely cause with it been set to interactive.


    Interestingly it only seems to happen after a long period of inactivity and after a reboot-meaning the computer is not in fast boot up mode.

    I don’t get BSOD but sometimes it completely freezes, sometimes takes ages to load or works after the computer goes into sleep.


    Did anyone solve this problem?

    Thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.