ESS 6 won't install

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Shankle, Jan 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shankle

    Shankle Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2006
    Posts:
    510
    Problem solved.
    Went to the Green icon and solved it that way.
    Nice job ESET.
    I wonder for the computer novices out there that don't have a license yet
    how hard their task will be?

    I am not complaining just trying to get to the bottom of the problem.
    Running windows 8 pro 64-bit upgrade.
    Eset SS 5.2.9.1
    downloaded ess_nt64.enu.msi - wanted the offline installer.

    When I tried to uninstall the old version I got the screen asking
    me why I wanted to delete ESS. I responded with "uninstalling
    temporarily". Then it just hung there doing nothing.

    Then I went to the spot that ESS downloaded the program to and
    clicked to install it. Up came a screen telling me it was searching
    for the program and it hung there doing nothing.

    So I am still using V. 5.2.9.1 and stuck.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2013
  2. punta30

    punta30 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    I had trouble installing the new version 6 until I uninstalled Malware Bytes (the latest version.)
    After that installation and activation was very smooth.

    I had to use the EsetUninsatller in safe mode after the initial install failure.
     
  3. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    EDIT: Sorry. JUST by Uninstalling MBAM Pro my "Failed V6 Install" became a Good Install with Max Protection active and Virus database Current.
    I presume punta30's MBAM was Pro with Real-time Protect Active - can U clarify that Vs. MBAM Free?
    -------------------------------------------------
    I just posted about V6 Live-Installer/Offline Install failure and have MBAM Pro Real-Time activated.
    Does anyone know IF just Turning OFF MBAM Real-time Protect would solve the MBAM issue Vs. UNINSTALLING it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2013
  4. punta30

    punta30 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    My version of MalwareBytes was 1.7 and is Pro with real time protection.

    I reinstalled it after installing Eset V6 and all is OK
     
  5. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    Thanks. I Re-installed MBAM Pro, too, ran a good Scan, and all seems well.

    I hope someone sees this and has the patience to just DISABLE MBAM Pro's Real-Time Protection and try the V6 upgrade - Vs. Uninstall of MBAM Pro. The answer ought to be a Sticky.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.