ESS 6 with Windows 8 Action Center flashing annoyance

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by thndr, Feb 8, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thndr

    thndr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Just wondering if anyone else has seen this issue. I'm currently using the latest ESS 6.0.308 x64 version, and I've been noticing an annoying but not fatal issue where the Windows 8 Action center would randomly but regularly toggle a popup message in the taskbar about not having an firewall or antivirus installed. If I open and stare at the action center, I see that it briefly toggles between the normal state (where it is installed and working fine) and not having anything installed.

    I have done a full clean / reinstall of ESS 6. I didn't see this issue with the latest ESS 5 installed.

    Any ideas on how to get rid of this, as annoyingly harmless as it is?
     
  2. Janus

    Janus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Posts:
    588
    Location:
    Europe - Denmark .
  3. thndr

    thndr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks. I must have missed it using my search terms. I'll keep following it there.
     
  4. jumanji

    jumanji Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Posts:
    31
    Hi,
    you are not allone (Win8 64)!
    I had this 2 days before and i played a little bit with this problem, disabled and enabled the firewall wihtin eset, also used the window tools for selecting eset as firewall, have done a sfc /scannow - nothing helped.
    In the end i have restored my system.

    I think we should let this thread open because the other thread is from November.

    I have given this info also to eset via my other problems i have.
     
  5. fredra

    fredra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Posts:
    366
    I agree that this thread should remain open, until ESET provides a positive response or a fix.
    ESET has known about this since ESS6 was in "beta",https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=335414 and for some unknown reason it has not been addressed or fixed.
    'sighs" o_O I am also having the problem, and I would appreciate a response from ESET.
    Cheers :D
     
  6. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,050
    Location:
    USA
    I was able to reproduce this issue on a virtual machine but not on 2 physical machines. If it were a software conflict I would think it more likely to happen on my physical machines as they have a lot of other 3rd party software. The virtual machine has only Windows 8 (x64), Office 2013, SQL Server 2012 and Visual Studio 2012. Maybe it is a hardware or timing issue? It might be helpful for those having the issue to post some hardware specs to see if there is a common element...
     
  7. fredra

    fredra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Posts:
    366
    Good point, however, I can't do that as I have removed ESS 6.x from my laptop (although I have a 3 yr license) but left it on my wife's laptop (she is running Win7 with ESS 5.x).
    I will have no further input or interest in this thread :mad:
    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.