ESS 6 (Firewall Problem)

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by 4L3X, Jan 25, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 4L3X

    4L3X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    40
    Have tried installing the release version of ESS 6 and have noticed that certain applications when run that need internet access do not show a pop up to allow me to create a rule when the firewall is set to run in interactive mode. Even if i tab out of the application there is not a pop up showing behind it.

    When i run steam.exe , pop up appears as it should ..... then when any game is launched from within steam that requires internet access it does not show. So rules have to be added manually.

    Only a little fault, but annoying none the less.
     
  2. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    247
    Seems to be the same behavior that I encountered with ESS v5...have since been using Outpost Pro and used my license of ESS with EAV instead. What's the behavior when you use "Automatic mode with exceptions (user-defined rules) "..?
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2013
  3. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    In Automatic Mode, ESET Smart Security generates it's own firewall rules, allowing all outbound traffic and blocking all inbound traffic originating from the outside.

    Automatic Mode with User-Defined Rules, is the same as the above, plus it provides access to the editor for adding your own rules.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  4. 4L3X

    4L3X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    40
    Thanks for the reply Aryeh but the reason that i mentioned this is that its actually a fault within the firewall itself if it does not allow me to define the rules in the way that i want to via the interactive mode.

    Like Jason said above this problem was present in V5 also and like he done i used a combination of EAV 5 along side comodo firewall to get the level of control that i wanted from the firewall.

    I was hoping that the issue was resolved on the release of V6, but sadly its still present. For the majority of users they probably just use the automatic mode and they wont have any problems at all, but for more fussy users like myself then the firewall is not doing what it should do when in interactive mode.

    I have actually went back to ESS 4 as the problem is not present on that version and the interactive mode works as it should without any issues.

    I'm running windows 7 64 bit and the issue might just be isolated to this operating system ?
     
  5. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    We will probably need to look at the firewall rule set and a packet capture to determine why this is happening. Please contact your local ESET office's technical support department to log a ticket with them. You will want to have an exported a copy of your ESET Smart Security configuration to provide them, as well as a packet capture, which they can walk you through if you are not familiar with how to do so.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  6. 4L3X

    4L3X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    40
    Installed 6.0.308.0 and the problem is not in that version :D

    Installer i used before was 6.0.306.0 with the problem.

    Happy now :argh:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.