ESET version 5.2.9.1

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by PaulBB, May 16, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    708
    I see ESET NOD32 Antivirus and ESET Smart Security 5.2.9.1 on the web. Any change log available?

    Thanks.
     
  2. cumlaude74

    cumlaude74 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Posts:
    23
    can you tell me where is it ? or give me real screen of that version ?

    thank u
     
  3. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
  4. mudSALT

    mudSALT Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    USA
    The download link on the sticky post is for version 5.0.95.0, where can I get 5.2.9.1? Thanks!
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    You probably missed the note "information on the web site may not be accurate yet".
     
  6. DooGie

    DooGie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    112

    Attached Files:

    • nod.png
      nod.png
      File size:
      82.3 KB
      Views:
      91
  7. FicmanS

    FicmanS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Posts:
    23
    Location:
    Indiana
    Sweet...
     
  8. Bugbatter

    Bugbatter Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    USA
    On my Win XP SP3 I opted for a clean install: D/L new version. Removed previous version 5.0.9.5. Rebooted. Installed 5.2.9. On the reboot following the installation, my computer froze as soon as the desktop loaded. Had to do a hard shutdown. Went into Safemode to uninstall 5.2.9. Rebooted normally. Tried the install again. Same problem with the freeze. Ended up doing a System Restore. Am back to v.5.0.9.5.

    Has anyone else had a problem installing 5.2.9 on XP? If I try installing over the top of 5.0.9.5 will that help?
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2012
  9. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    This should be current

     
  10. DooGie

    DooGie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    112
    I'm running Windows 7 x64 and installed over the top of 5.0.9.5
    The installer removed the earlier version of NOD32 and everything went ok.
    All seems to be running great up to now.

    Sorry I can't be of more help Bugbatter.
     
  11. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    The announcement thread states you may install over-top.

     
  12. Bugbatter

    Bugbatter Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    USA
    Thank you, siljaline. Yes, I read that. However, I usually do clean installs when updating software versions and thought a clean install would be better.
     
  13. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Your welcome, you are presented with several options at this juncture.
    You may perform a manual uninstall, as I was presented with a similar situation on a fresh W7 installation. A subsequent installation worked perfectly without issue.
    Fresh installs are preferred and recommended though not obligatory.
    These are all the support options I have for you at this time until you report back from the other side of a manual uninstall. Do this and advise.

     
  14. Bugbatter

    Bugbatter Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    USA
    I used the uninstaller from the Start Menu both times earlier today. Removal went smoothly. Installation went well until the reboot at the very end.

    After my System Restore, I downloaded a clean copy of the offline installer for my XP 32-bit, installed over the top of the old version, everything went smoothly again, but after the reboot I ended up with the same problem I had earlier today -- a frozen desktop, start menu, etc..

    Do you suggest that I try one more time by using ESET's downloaded uninstaller?

    After spending hours on this, I'm happy with my old version for now. :cool:
     
  15. cumlaude74

    cumlaude74 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Posts:
    23
    I would also be hesitant to use this new version of ESET's because the previous version 5 has made me hard with my laptop. freeze my external hard drive.
     
  16. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    If you mean the manual uninstaller, yes, we were waiting for the outcome of that exercise.
    Export your settings in the event you could replicate your previous installation settings, you would be able to demonstrate your software was not remiss in any way.

     
  17. Bugbatter

    Bugbatter Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    USA
    Siljaline, I ran the manual uninstaller per instructions, reinstalled 5.2.9.1. Results were the same as the last 3 attempts.
     
  18. rcdailey

    rcdailey Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Posts:
    233
    I downloaded the new version and did the live install over 5.0.95.0 and it was so slick it was scary. NOD32 popped up a message that it wanted a restart, so I restarted. No problems. Running XP SP3 on an old Dell 2350 with a Pentium 4 2.0 GHz and 2 GB RAM. Maybe you should not uninstall the old version. They say it can be installed over previous versions. The first time I installed version 5.x was way back at the beginning and I had nothing but problems then, but I had to replace my box because the motherboard had become flaky and I also had other issues between XP and version 5.x. By the way, only the box, motherboard, and power supply were replaced. I reused my RAM and hard drive and an old modem card (for faxing). Things look good with the new version 5.2.9.1 so far.

    Yes, and keep in mind that I installed 5.2.9.1 over 5.0.95.0. I have no idea what would have happened if I had version 4.x installed. When I had the first problems with version 5 and my old motherboard, I thought it was Eset that was the problem and nothing else. Then I found out otherwise over time and testing.

    Oh, and the special uninstaller from Eset does really clean things out, but it also uninstalls in a "non-standard" way, so maybe your particular issues are related to that. I recall having problems with that when I used it to uninstall the first installation of 5.x on my system, but that was before I replaced the motherboard/box. Anyway, good luck with the new version or with 4.x

    Added: I just did the acid test (well, for me it is). I "safely removed" my Seagate GoFlex USB drive, let the system settle (there's a floppy drive in my old box and it gets checked automatically) afterwards and then I reattached the drive. Eset popped up with the window about scanning the USB drive and I elected to scan later. I checked my system settings for the "restore settings" and they were unchanged (this had been a problem previously with version 5.x) and then I checked "my computer" to make sure that the drive was recognized and displayed, which it was. So, I can remove and reconnect an external USB hard drive while the system is up and running and Eset NOD32 5.2.9.1 is installed and enabled. All good.
     
    Last edited: May 17, 2012
  19. GreenWhite

    GreenWhite Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Posts:
    110
    This release is worse than previous one. Won't boot at all and hung at login if ext. hd is attached. Previous 5.0.9.5 at least can attach ext. hd if connected before boot.

    This 5.2.9.1 hung even if ext. hd is attached before boot.


    Got to really reconsider my options now. Don't get me wrong, Eset is good but won't work on my computer. That's all.
     
  20. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If problems with Windows XP locking up after connecting a USB disk persist, we'll need to get a complete memory dump to find out the problematic 3rd party driver clashing with v5. To start off, I'd welcome if you could generate a SysInspector log, upload it to a trusted server and PM me the download link (if necessary, I can provide access to our ftp server). The ESI log will show the drivers and software you have installed which might help us find the problematic one.
     
  21. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    You may submit a customer care ticket and wait for the requested process logs, dumps, etc - or revert to your old software, for now. Let us know what you have decided to do.

     
  22. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    have now updated 11 pc's today 3 were done by removal then reinstall... those were my own personal machines. the rest were at my office where i attempted a upgrade and after the first one seemed okay i went ahead and upgraded the rest as i didnt have my user names and passwords with me at the time.

    so far all seems fine the only thing i notice is things overall seem a bit slower on the upgraded machines vs the fresh install.. what i mean is just general things like opening photoshop seems to be taking longer to open etc. the machines are identical in every way hardware and software wise... they are not networked together which is why i dont use the business version..even boot up seems to take longer on thew upgraded machines, again i have no idea why....

    other than the above the upgrades when just fine and im not sure if its a real issue or not my few xp machines are all booting fine and i do not have the usb issue on them so i would assume there is some kind of driver or file that is on the systems having that issue conflicting with eset v5
     
  23. Bugbatter

    Bugbatter Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2004
    Posts:
    14
    Location:
    USA
    Not in my case with the latest version. There was no USB external drive etc.

    I will attempt to revert to 5.0.95 for the time being. Thank you for your help.
     
  24. ljg

    ljg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    As I continue to have external-USB-drive problems with v5.2.9.1, I've PM'd a link to my ESI log.

    Please. It's been ~7 months since ESET introduced this bug, and I've had it up to here --->|my forehead|, waiting for a resolution.
     
  25. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    uninstalled previous version and installed new version. No issues except you have to untic parental control in order to get my Frank Sinatra blue eye back in the tray. Other then that, no slow downs an working great.:thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.