ESET v6.0.115.0 RC

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by anuraag, Jun 28, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    USA
    Will another build be coming out or does it look like this might become the final build?
     
  2. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,103
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    hoping a few changes are made before its final myself..
     
  3. Computer567

    Computer567 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    There is one thing I would definitely love to see in this version of ESET, a WIFI authentication database much like Kaspersky has. For when it detects you are using a WIFI, it pops up requesting the username and password of the connection and storing that information within an encrypted file for when it does it's virus updates via the wifi. Detecting new WIFI's and remembering them. But otherwise, I like the changes that are being done, I just hope the repair utility of ESET is much improved.
     
  4. rinem

    rinem Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Posts:
    156
    I know win8 is not released yet but how far is eset6 compatible with win8 cp?
     
  5. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    USA
    The number one thing Eset needs to do more than anything in V6 is greatly improve its malware removal capability. Detection is good, but removal capability has been lacking.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Please be more specific as to what malware you've been unable to clean using ESET's products.
     
  7. tosbsas

    tosbsas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    789
    Location:
    Lima, Peru
    will our v5 licenses still by vaild on version 6?
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    121,003
    Location:
    Texas
  9. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,034
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    You might be interested in ESET Authentication Server, a program which allows a network connection to be verified in a similar manner, if I understand your question correctly.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky


     
  10. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,034
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Interoperability testing is ongoing but no major issues have been noted so far. It is, however, a good idea to turn on pre-release updates to get the latest modules for your pre-release ESET software.

    If the past is any indication, a formal announcement will be made about the same time the latest version of Windows becomes available in the retail channel.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky

     
  11. Computer567

    Computer567 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Aryeh Goretsky,

    I'm not sure if that's what I'm talking about. I am a University Student that connects to the University WiFi network via student number and password. What I have in mind is for ESET to be able to detect that people like me are connected to a WIFI, and make a popup come up for ESET requesting the username and password so it can store that for updating purposes of it's virus update and program updates while being connected to that wifi.

    Thanks for the link though, I will have a look at it more.

    Regards
     
  12. lonely22

    lonely22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    Hello
    When is the issuance of the final version?
     
  13. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,034
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    No date has been announced yet.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky

     
  14. bodean

    bodean Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Posts:
    76
    hopefully soon, been in "RC" for a few months now =/ no updates either.
     
  15. MartinPe

    MartinPe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Canada
    Eset could make the software final fo us MSDN users. ;) Does the RC relatively stable?

    By the way Bitdefender updated their suite and it say Windows 8 compatible ;)

    P.S. Sorry for putting some presures.

    Martin
     
  16. jazzman_jeff

    jazzman_jeff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    United State
    I've installed the beta 6 RC1 ... after uninstalling EAV 5.x... only to find this memory leak problem (see attachment) is still present in the V6. I also notice that much of the virus checking seems to halt when the application gets into this state. Other than a slowdown for web browsing of flash sites, I suspect the symptoms are not understood by the majority of users an that this issue goes under reported. I've seen this reported by others here on wilder. ESET support informed me they have had many reports of this but I was one of the first users to submit all the procmon data to them. I was advised to revert to EAV4. Unfortunately, I view this as being put in the position to consider pulling the plug on ESET for good and would like alternative recommendations. :mad: Essentially, ESET has a zero-day exploit... if someone can figure out how to trigger this memory-leak behavior, a PC is likely naked in terms of protection.

     

    Attached Files:

  17. 4L3X

    4L3X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    47
    I had a similar problem with the memory leaks, not only in ekrn.exe but also with firefox too. Each one consumed over 1gb of ram, firefox sometimes over 2gb ...... Done a little playing around for a while and i believe i actually found the culprit :D

    Flash !!

    Reverted back to flash player V 10.3 and i don't have the leaks in either program any more :argh:

    Give it a try and see for yourself , you have nothing to loose :)

    I have tried every AV made in history over the years, and none of them come close to what Eset offers and in either system usage or protection levels.
     
  18. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Yes but it's normal for web browsers to use several hundred MB of RAM,
    all browsers do it, more or less.

    While it's not normal, and not acceptable for Ekrn.exe to use anything over 100-150MB of RAM.

    And no it's not connected to Flash, Ekrn.exe has nothing to do with Flash and vice versa.

    ESET has even confirmed that there was a leak, but if it has been fixed yet is still unknown to me.
     
  19. 4L3X

    4L3X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Posts:
    47
    Hmm i beg to differ. If your antivirus is scanning websites as you browse them via your browser and you have a dodgy or faulty plugin installed for your browser, then i am sure that can in fact cause a problem with your antivirus as they are all linked together.

    Yes browsers eat lots of ram, and the more ram you have then the more it will eat up. They are greedy that way :)

    I was merely offering this as a suggestion as since changing back to a previous version of flash, ekrn.exe on my system now peaks at around 85mb.
    A far cry from the 1.5gb that it used to use :-*

    If it worked for me, then it "might" work for others. That's why i posted what cured my problem.

    Even if people don't want to uninstall flash and use the older version that i mentioned above, then they can disable it from their plugins and see if there any difference.
     
  20. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    I understand what you are saying, and it's absolutely fine to post any solutions that you might find.

    Though the reason why I disagree about that Flash is causing the leak is that I do always use the latest Flash player version, but I have never seen the memory leak myself. (And thank god for that since I only got 512MB of RAM and if ekrn.exe would reach almost 2GB then I would surely notice that in a bad way ;))

    But we'll see what ESET's final answer/fix/solution on this will be, and when......:doubt:
     
  21. jazzman_jeff

    jazzman_jeff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    United State
    Firefox is known for being a high consumer of system ram. That's one of the knocks against it. Regardless, your AV software should not go berserk consuming memory and/or stop checking for all classes of failures regardless of the poor behavior of other applications. I have 8GB of DRAM and ekrn will consume about 1.9x GB before it seems to stop downloading updates or checking inserted media. If this were due to some software I have installed or some other reason, I'd be willing to try some experiments. It's disruptive to my work to have to reboot 2-3 times per day to keep it operational.

    I have Windows 7 Professional SP1 with updates on an HP Pavilion M9550F with 8GB RAM, Core2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.5GHz. If a developer at ESET has any clue there is the dump from Belarc advisor attached...
    ====================================================================
     

    Attached Files:

  22. jazzman_jeff

    jazzman_jeff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    United State
    I believe I have found the "trigger" for ESET's memory leak on my Windows7 x64 system. I run a S.M.A.R.T monitoring program (hdsentinal). I have run for 5+ years with OLDER versions of ESET - pre 5 with no issue. I terminated hdsentinal after rebooting this morning and ESET has stayed at about 115M all day long. Normally, it hits the 1.9GB hang point after about 6-8 hours. It's been 8 hours as of this writing. I'm convinced it is triggered by hdsentinals API calls to read my two HDD's SMART status. This should still be considered a zero-day exploit by ESET as any program that replicated this behavior will render ESET useless. hdsentinal can be found here: (http://www.hdsentinel.com). Again, this worked fine with ESET4 but not with 5 or beta6.
     
  23. Kasun

    Kasun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    22
    It's forever waiting...for new version :)
     
  24. BALTAGY

    BALTAGY Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    99
    i reported the memory leak problem many times without any solution :(

    i hope it will be fixed in final version but how to fix it without connecting to people that have this problem?!
     
  25. encus

    encus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Posts:
    535
    I think the final version is getting closer to its release. Keep your finger crossed ;)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.