ESET Smart Security v5.0.84 RC VERSUS Office 2007/2010

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by Killjoy_SR, Jul 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Killjoy_SR

    Killjoy_SR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    Hello! I've got a small problem. Few days ago, I've tested ESET SS RC 5 to see how it runs, scans etc.

    Than, I ran into one problem. When I try to install my Office 2007 Suite on my desktop PC, setup won't start. Instead, it says that "Only one setup instance can be runned at the same time", something like that.

    Than I try to install Office Home and Student 2010, same message.
    That problem occurs on a few PCs, not only on mine.
    BUT, when I've installed ESET Smart Security 4, problem dissapears.

    So, problem with "office error message" is surelly because of ESET SS 5 RC.

    Is there any way to fix this or to wait final version of ESET 5?

    P.S. Sorry for bad english.
     
  2. mandud

    mandud Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Posts:
    1
    yeah this too happen to me,i just installed my computer with windows xp sp 3 , and the first software that installed is NOD 5, after i try to uninstall it,its can installed
     
  3. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Was a copy of Microsoft Office (even a Trial Edition) previously installed on the computer?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  4. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    Aryeh, you beat me to it! If there was an old version already on or HAD been installed, an update will be in order. Way I fixed it was completely uninstall the old version, cleaned the registry to get left behind keys, then installed the new version. Had to do this a few times because window kept asking me if I wanted to either "Update" or "Repair". When finally getting it straighten out, choices then were either "Install" or "Update". Then it went right in, win7/64 w/the beta 5 already installed. FYI
     
  5. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    I'm trying to figure out the exact scenario so I can report it to ESET's developers for further examination.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  6. PatG

    PatG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    South Alabama
    To avoid any misunderstanding, my reference is to the uninstall of old office files, NOT NOD files.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.