ESET Smart Security v3.0.672 discussion thread

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by agoretsky, Aug 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Please use this message thread to discuss ESET Smart Security v3.0.672.0.

    You are welcome to discuss things you like, experiences with installing and using the software and so forth.

    If you have require assistance troubleshooting the program or wish to post a bug report, please create a new message thread to discuss it, as these types of message threads tend to become very large over time and the issue may not receive prompt attention from ESET's support staff or developers if it is posted here.


    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2008
  2. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    any detailed changelog ?
     
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,774
    Location:
    Texas
  4. CrunchieBite

    CrunchieBite Guest

  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
  6. fan

    fan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Posts:
    11
    Do i need to reinstall the program and install the new one or wut ?
     
  7. kC_

    kC_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    452
    you can just install over the top and keep current settings
     
  8. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    --deleted-- already answered by Marcos :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2008
  9. s4u

    s4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2007
    Posts:
    441
    Testing and working pretty smooth
     
  10. Galaxykiss

    Galaxykiss Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Posts:
    167
    Location:
    China
    when I'm using the version 669 of ess, sometime it comes up a in/out bound traffic window. there is a bug after i choose remenber the rule, which show me "unexpected....."(Can't remenber the detail). Then the window cannot be close, even I click the cancel bottum.does anyone face this problem?
     
  11. KarlBeer

    KarlBeer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Posts:
    50

    Make sure that the APP in question is not running.
     
  12. nickster_uk

    nickster_uk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Posts:
    190
    Since 'updating' from 699 to 672, i've noticed the realtime scanner is far more active than before. After booting up, I have to wait over 5 minutes for things to settle down which is becoming a bit of a pain.

    System start-up scan is not enabled via the scheduler.

    Any ideas?
     
  13. grunf

    grunf Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    have been with eset for the past five years, while I was using only NOD32 couldn't been more hapier, everything went downhill since my change to ESS, waited and waited for Eset to fix never ending issues (compare message boards of other big and popular security companies to this one, - no one has so many compaints and software related issues like ESS, that speaks for it self) ...

    I have another 6 days to renew my licence and I decided I will not.

    Time to move on and spend my money on somethig that will not give me BSOD, update problems, install or uninstall problems etc .....

    Bye all
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2008
  14. mickhardy

    mickhardy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    Australia
    I feel for you. I just had to deal with a Vista 32 BSOD using Depicus WOL and ESS 672. We've been with Nod32 since PC User raved about it over five years ago but the latest PC User issue on security suites skipped the ESET writeup. Makes me wonder if there was some drama that got swept under a rug? I've renewed all 25+ ESS licenses until 2011 so I'm in for the long haul. I would love to see them sort things out but the number of issues with ESS in the last seven months have seen me remove it from our Network and revert to EAV with which I have no current issues.

    Now I'm left up a certain creek researching freeware firewalls so I can protect our Notebooks because I've had more than my three strikes with ESS.

    EDIT: Comodo V3.0.25.378 and ESET EAV V3.0.672 are behaving perfectly so far. Zero issues. Nice!
     
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2008
  15. OLDXTECH

    OLDXTECH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Location:
    Exact center of California
    This thread is slowing going away - down the list!

    Please make it "Sticky"
     
  16. Callistra

    Callistra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Any idea why I cannot just update? This seems to happen with every new version. If I just update then something gets messed up and my real time protection gets disabled. I try to enable it and it says it is malfunctioning. I tried to repair and restart 3 times with no success. I had to totally uninstall and reinstall to get it to work.
     
  17. djmorgan

    djmorgan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Posts:
    167
    Yes I have onlyever had one clean install and fed up with having to do the unistall reinstall thing.

    I don't see many benefits to me in this release so I will wait until a major update presents it self as I don't need the practice and my present .699 version works fine
     
  18. redlabour

    redlabour Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Can you please send Mails to registered Customers if there was a new Version online? Thanks ....
     
  19. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    [Updated 9/17/08 to fix broken URL. AG]

    Hello,

    You can visit the ESET Software Antivirus Updates (formerly Support News) page at http://www.eset.com/support/news.php in your web browser to find out information about the latest versions of the software.

    ESET is looking at adding some new notification methods in the future. What method(s) that would employ and when they would be implemented I could not say, though.


    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2008
  20. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    it says "404 Page Error" :D
     
  21. mickhardy

    mickhardy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Posts:
    140
    Location:
    Australia
  22. Handries

    Handries Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Posts:
    75
    Location:
    Canada
    Hello Aryeh Goretsky,

    It has been several weeks now since ESET Smart Security v3.0.672 has been released and I'm still waiting for the Dutch language version. Hopefully it will be ready soon.

    Thanks.
     
  23. Oblivious

    Oblivious Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Hello everyone.

    I updated some days ago to 672 and now everytime I boot, the real-time protection cannot initialize so I have to do it manually. Do I have to reinstall?
     
  24. djmorgan

    djmorgan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Posts:
    167
    Well I was forced to update after my previous version started without cause to run my dual core at 100% on boot up.

    And as every other time the install failed because a log file was locked resulting in having to turn off eset services and installing again.

    It's getting to a point that I cringe whenever a new update from eset is posted, surely an installer that stops services before the install can't be that hard :blink:
     
  25. p5ym0n

    p5ym0n Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    Well you wouldn't really want a security program being that easy to shut down really :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.