ESET Smart Security installation vs F-Secure

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by johnyb98, Jan 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. johnyb98

    johnyb98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    England
    Good evening.

    On a pc with Windows 7 32-bit I had installed ESET Smart Security 4.
    For educational reasons I had to install F-Secure. I began installation of F-Secure. The first problem is that F-Secure setup made the uninstallation of ESET Security. I believe that this messed it up and caused the following problem.

    Now, I want to install Smart Security back. So I did the following:
    Uninstalled from F-Secure cd the F-Secure application.
    The main problem is that when I begin ESET security installation I get the message that it detects F-Secure security. Some traces are remained in Windows.

    I downloaded both F-Secure removal utility and ESET uninstallation tool.
    I run both with the original sites instructions:nothing.
    I searched for registry remnants for both apps and deleted everything I had to.

    But, again, starting up ESET Smart Security installation I get the message of F-Secure detection.

    Can you please help me?

    Thank you !!
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,415
    Try running the msi installer with the parameter IGNORE_CONFLICTS=1. There must still be some leftovers from F-Secure in the registry.
     
  3. johnyb98

    johnyb98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    England
    What is msi installer and where can I find it?
     
  4. johnyb98

    johnyb98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    England
    I searched registry for F-Secure value and search found a lot of values.

    As you can understand, I cannot take the responsibility to delete them manually.

    Is there any utility to do this for F-Secure values?
     
  5. johnyb98

    johnyb98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    England
    Solution found in penultimate reply here.

    Worked fine for me.

    Thank you for your reply !!
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,415
    I've just tried installing and uninstalling the mentioned AV and the entries used to determine the presence of the AV were actually removed. I assume it must have been some problem with uninstallation on your computer then.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.