ESET Smart Security installation vs F-Secure

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by johnyb98, Jan 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. johnyb98

    johnyb98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    England
    Good evening.

    On a pc with Windows 7 32-bit I had installed ESET Smart Security 4.
    For educational reasons I had to install F-Secure. I began installation of F-Secure. The first problem is that F-Secure setup made the uninstallation of ESET Security. I believe that this messed it up and caused the following problem.

    Now, I want to install Smart Security back. So I did the following:
    Uninstalled from F-Secure cd the F-Secure application.
    The main problem is that when I begin ESET security installation I get the message that it detects F-Secure security. Some traces are remained in Windows.

    I downloaded both F-Secure removal utility and ESET uninstallation tool.
    I run both with the original sites instructions:nothing.
    I searched for registry remnants for both apps and deleted everything I had to.

    But, again, starting up ESET Smart Security installation I get the message of F-Secure detection.

    Can you please help me?

    Thank you !!
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Try running the msi installer with the parameter IGNORE_CONFLICTS=1. There must still be some leftovers from F-Secure in the registry.
     
  3. johnyb98

    johnyb98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    England
    What is msi installer and where can I find it?
     
  4. johnyb98

    johnyb98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    England
    I searched registry for F-Secure value and search found a lot of values.

    As you can understand, I cannot take the responsibility to delete them manually.

    Is there any utility to do this for F-Secure values?
     
  5. johnyb98

    johnyb98 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    4
    Location:
    England
    Solution found in penultimate reply here.

    Worked fine for me.

    Thank you for your reply !!
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I've just tried installing and uninstalling the mentioned AV and the entries used to determine the presence of the AV were actually removed. I assume it must have been some problem with uninstallation on your computer then.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.