ESET Smart Security & ESET NOD32 Antivirus 9 Beta Available

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by SweX, May 28, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    @xxJackxx

    Before I first uninstalled ESS/EAV I picked up on a relevant thread over on the beta forums which, as you found, noted that a "normal, routine" uninstall did not work; https://forum.eset.com/topic/5799-unable-to-uninstall-eset-smart-security-from-windows-10/

    However, as you probably know, Eset 9 has problems other than an efficient uninstall, which have put me off purchasing a license for now; see for example https://forum.eset.com/topic/6131-ssl-filtering-issues/

    But in fairness to Eset, IME other AVs have found WIN 10 a difficult OS to work on. Therefore, I have reverted back to Windows Defender for now after trying about 6 different AVs, all of which gave some sort of problem.
     
  2. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,329
    Location:
    USA
    That's where I'm at right now. Gonna have to call that good enough for now. Thanks for your input. Maybe I'm put MBAM back on and run it realtime.
     
  3. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Running WD and HitmanPro.Alert; a very light combo.

    With the big Win 10 update coming in November, I will probably stay with WD until at least then.
     
  4. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,376
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Well, I am in the U.S. and I received my upgrade notice two days ago. Perhaps you are referring to first time purchases?
     
  5. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,662
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    upgrades will be rolled out phased with beta testers getting early access (or so I am led to believe) so your US based access to v9 final means you are one of the first.

    What I was referring to the download page on the US site for new licenses and 'general release' - we're not there yet.
     
  6. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,662
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    V9 is NOT live on the US download page as yet - have patience:
    http://i.imgur.com/LZutiq6.jpg

    for the majority of users, v9 is not available as an component/online upgrade from within the product - this is a machine which has a license which was NOT beta enrolled:

    http://i.imgur.com/l69TyIt.jpg
     
  7. superssjdan

    superssjdan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Posts:
    148
    Location:
    USA
    It is now live on the us download page.Extrememly happy with it.Kudos to Eset for another superb release.
     
  8. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,960
    Location:
    London On
    Good Afternoon! Just installed Eset S.S.V9...another superb effort by Eset! Will be interesting to see how the Banking App works if and when it's Reviewed and Critiqued! Sincerely...Securon
     
  9. CHEFKOCH

    CHEFKOCH Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Posts:
    395
    Location:
    Swiss
    ESET NOD32 Antivirus 2016 v9.0.318.20 (ger only at this time) was just released (changelog is still the same from 29):

    Changelog:
    http://eset.mynewsdesk.com/pressrel...ecurity-2016-und-nod32-antivirus-2016-1226273

    ESS
    http://download.eset.com/download/win/v9ess/ess_nt32_deu.msi
    http://download.eset.com/download/win/v9ess/ess_nt64_deu.msi

    AV:
    http://download.eset.com/download/win/v9eav/eav_nt32_deu.msi
    http://download.eset.com/download/win/v9eav/eav_nt64_deu.msi

    As always the updates are language and setup depending, so you must wait to receive updates in your language/updater. E.g. on my updater it still 'only' shows 'xxx.10' so this is normal and don't worry about.
     
  10. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,376
    Location:
    U.S.A.
  11. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,517
    Location:
    Outer space
    Interesting, is there more info about this?
     
  12. darts

    darts Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Posts:
    443
    Location:
    Netherlands
    What are the first impressions of the V9 version? How is the preformance an detections?
     
  13. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,376
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    A lot of complaints about ver. 9 over in the Eset forum.

    Personally, I knew they were headed in the wrong direction when they starting adding features like online banking protection and the like. I plan on staying with ver. 8 release .319 for sometime.
     
  14. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    5,813
    Location:
    New York City
    Running version 9 AV without problems. Hopefully, problems users are having
    will be resolved shortly. Moderators are very attentive on the Eset forum.
     
  15. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,662
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    online banking is only in ESET Smart Security (which means you have to purchase ESSH or EMDS to get it. It's also an OPTION to invoke it) - Unless you fire up the banking protection, then it doesn't consume resources or get in the way of anything.
     
  16. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,376
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I believe online banking is implemented by default for IE and Chrome browsers? Yes, it can be disabled.

    Once I install ver.9, the first thing I will check out if OLB will work if you set on the option in SSL protocol scanning not to scan sites with EV certs. No way Eset should have been doing that from day 1. Also I suspect that SSL protocol scanning has to be enabled for OLB to work?
     
  17. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,662
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    why would you differentiate between domain control and EV certs?

    Just because the site was issued to a known business does not mean the activity on that SSL secure site is 100% safe. malvertisements can appear on even trusted sites.
     
  18. BoerenkoolMetWorst

    BoerenkoolMetWorst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Posts:
    4,517
    Location:
    Outer space
    I Wiresharked during the update process: v8 didn't use HTTPS, v9 does.
    So imho "even safer" is exaggerated.
     
  19. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,064
    Using eset smart security 9 on two computer and no issues so far.

    ever since using eset I havent had any desire to switch. hardly know its running tbh.
     
  20. x ZauX x

    x ZauX x Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Posts:
    139
    Pretty much this, it's running light and silent
     
  21. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,376
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Eset ver. 9 - The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

    Installed it yesterday.

    The Good

    Installed over ver. 8 with no issues. However, uninstalled and installed fresh trying to correct issues noted below.

    The online banking protection much to my surprise looks pretty solid. Your browser will open under ekrn.exe and appears to be pretty locked down with the limited testing I did. For example, Process Explorer is locked out from displaying any browser dll details and the like.

    The Bad

    Online banking would not function for my bank site at all when I had my browser set to disable all active content i.e. IE 11's Internet zone highest settings. Had to reduce settings to medium high level. I originally had my bank site listed in IE's Trusted zone with that level set at medium high level. Appears Eset's online banking ignored that setting entirely and just used the Internet zone settings.

    SSL protocol scanning is buggy and doesn't work right. Sometimes the same HTTPS site will show the Eset root cert., other times it does not. Eset hasn't responded to my questions on this yet.

    Hate the Metro GUI. Although functionally it works like ver. 8, settings are displayed differently and make updating firewall and HIPS rules more difficult.

    The Ugly

    If you had a bunch of custom rules created under ver. 8, you can just throw them all away under ver. 9. If you do an on top of ver. 8 install, all your existing allow and block rules will become a jumbled mess as shown by the below screen shot. In ver. 8, all allow rules preceded all block rules and executed top to bottom. Worse in ver. 9, new rules are added always below existing rules regardless of allow or block status. In others words, what Eset has done with this ver. is make the creating custom rules worthless for all practical purposes.

    Overall what I observe is an untested product that removed one of it's strongest features; the ability to create effective custom HIPS rules.

    Eset ver 9 HIPS Screw UP.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2015
  22. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,321
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Thanks for review itman. Did they add lower pane with HIPS rule details when a rule was selected? What about adding folders to file rules (they couldn't be created in beta)? Those were my biggest problems when I tested beta.
     
  23. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    5,813
    Location:
    New York City
    @itman,
    Why not post in the Eset forum? You'll get better coverage there.
     
  24. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,376
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I did. No response from Eset ............... as usual.
     
  25. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,376
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    No. Each option is a separate screen in this ver. versus showing the options as tabs as done in ver. 8. The Metro GUI makes everything in this area more confusing.

    I will try to add one of those to my block rules after training period is completed to do that. Hell if you can't even do that in this ver., this release is definitely a POC.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.