ESET Smart Security and ESET NOD32 v3.0 Release Candidates available

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by Marcos, Sep 21, 2007.

  1. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    In the current RC you can simply open the GUI and from the Setup click one button and disable all the protection . It is not done and if it depended on me I wouldn't implement such thing because:
    - it is risky (many people claim to know what they are doing but...)
    - generally ESET's scanner doesn't slow down such things
    - it will scan them and you'll be protected ;)

    This is what I think . Perhaps you can mail them as a suggestion to betasupport[at]eset[dot]sk and they may include such thing in a future release
     
  2. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    3,531
    Will NOD32 version 3 be able to be run on Windows 98/ME ?
     
  3. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    My guesses are NO , it won't be able to run on Win 9x OS . Otherwise they should have made 9x version of the RC.
    These are very old operating systems and their support and future developement was ceased a long time ago first by Microsoft and later by other vendors . Most AV companies at the moment (and especially the big names) stopped supporting Win 9x long time agon .
     
  4. Don johnson

    Don johnson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Posts:
    77
    I'm using NOD32 V3 now,I have found many changes(eg GUI and have fixed some bugs in nod32 V2.7),but when I click "OK" in advanced program settings,I feel no response brief.
     
  5. Remigius

    Remigius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    Have used Nod32 V3 for a couple of weeks now.
    I must say I'm impressed. All is working stable and quick.
    Mail spamfilter is filtering out 95% of the spam.
    I will certainly remain a sattisfied customer :thumb:

    Greets Remigius
     
  6. crotale26

    crotale26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Posts:
    45
    in this topic, i have seen that the final version of eset smart security should be available at the latest 30 days after the Release candidate version ?

    The RC version were available the 21th of September...

    Do you have an idea of the marketing date of ESS ?

    Thanks
     
  7. ldupuy

    ldupuy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    SD
    What email program are you using with the spam filter? Also, I just installed SpamFighter this morning. How do you think the two of these compare?

    TIA for any and all input!
     
  8. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,058
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    The only thing I have observed is that the Windows Security Center in XP Pro sometimes does not "see" the firewall. The firewall is always working however. A reboot solves the problem at least on my machine.
     
  9. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    This may help you resolve your Security Center issue:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=896193#post896193

    It is about v2 of NOD32 but will do the same for ESS
     
  10. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,058
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    Thanks but that is not the problem. It only does not see the firewall from time to time. It may have to do with WinPatrol Plus and the order of loading programs. I am not concerned since the firewall is working.
     
  11. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    @Bunkhouse Buck

    Just try it . It doesn't hurt and cannot make bad to your computer :)
     
  12. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,058
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I do not agree that is the proper solution based on having used computers since 1971. A better solution in Windows XP Pro is to stop and restart the security center service in Administrative Tools/Services. That works for me.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2007
  13. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,174
    Location:
    Denmark
    Just disable the "security center" and you're good to go.
    I haven't figured out what it's supposed to help me with, other than using even more resources..
     
  14. Bunkhouse Buck

    Bunkhouse Buck Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Posts:
    1,058
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    There is a much easier solution and you don't need to disable it (although I agree it is not of much help unless you are new to computers). Just stop the Security Center service and restart it. It should now work properly.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2007
  15. timeit

    timeit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    But ESS has problems with some kind of lan-enabledd progs, with ipsec-clients and for me with some kind of progs with little files aon lan too.
    therefore it would be very nice, to disable the nod-modules on a quick way.
     
  16. Remigius

    Remigius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2007
    Posts:
    10
    I've been using RC1 for a couple of weeks now.
    Very sattisfied. All is working properly.
    I'm missing one feature in the anti-spam module: I've created several differant maps in my inbox in Outlook express. I'm using rules to replace incoming mails to the right map. I notice that the anti-spam module only filters out the spam in the root of Inbox... the submaps are not checked.
    Or an I overlooking a setup-feature o_O

    Greets Remigius
     
  17. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,184
    Just installed the beta on my machine. So far so good. Question, are there any advanced settings to setup that are written up in a guide similar to Blackspear's yet?

    Thanks.
     
  18. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    The default settings are OK . Read the Help file (press F1 while the GUI is opened)
     
  19. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,184
    Yeah I pretty much already did that. I ended up just going through everything and changing it to my liking. There were some things that were not enabled, so I just went ahead and enabled them.
     
  20. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hi!

    Thanks for letting me know.
    If you want a configuration , you can see this one (the one I use actually):
    Download from here :thumb:

    After download , open Eset Smart Securiry's UI , select Tools -> Import/Export settings . Choose Import and navigate to the xml file . Confirm and you are done ;)
     
  21. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Is there a similar XML file for just the AV? Would be nice.
     
  22. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Make sure you also create a XML file with your personal configuration for future use. Just export and save. It includes your user/pass etc.
    When re-installing......just import and you're up and running.
     
  23. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I'll create one for you . You'll have it in 20 minutes :thumb:
     
  24. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    You are the best, just downloaded it! Thanks a million. :thumb:
     
  25. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    You are welcome
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.