ESET NOD32 v3 file server connection troubles

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by rinzwind, May 30, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rinzwind

    rinzwind Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    I installed NOD32 v3 antivirus on a file server in april 2008. This week the company had lots of intermittent IT problems. MS Office crashes, problems with the ordersystem, problems with a MS Access database. Also the server became unresponsive. No network connection possible anymore. I first suspected the network (dropped connections) but this wasn't the case. After I removed NOD32 from the server things went okay. I tried to install it again but next day some problems arrived again. The database folders were excluded from scanning. So I removed it again. This server is also a terminal server for some people.

    So what's going on? NOD32 is also installed on the workstations. No problems there as far as I know.

    Windows 2003 Standard 32 bit
     
  2. Encrypted

    Encrypted Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I am glad I am not the only one having this problem. I have been having the exact same problem on 3 different Windows 2003 Domain Controllers on 3 different Domains. This problem is only in version 3. Version 2.7 did not seam to be a problem.

    The Servers seam to get progressively worse over a number of hours. After a reboot (hard reboot because I can not even log into the console) they seam okay for a few hours, then slow to a crawl, and eventually become completely unresponsive. I read something about turning off IMON, but it did not give an explanation of simptoms so I am not cinvinced that this is the cure.

    I have removed the software and the Servers are running perfectly for a week now. However, last week was extremely stressfull. One of the server is located in a city 6 hours away. Made for an interesting last weekend.

    As with rinzwind I am having no issues on hundreds of workstations I have the software installed on.
     
  3. Marv Gordon

    Marv Gordon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    59
    What version did you install? .650. If so get .657 installed.

    We had the same issues before upgrading to .657 . Now running with no issues on our W2K3 Enterprise R2 servers.
     
  4. Encrypted

    Encrypted Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I will check my versions and upgrade if necessary. I thought the software was supposed to upgrade to the newest version automatically?
     
  5. dwood

    dwood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Posts:
    92
    Only if Eset issue a Program Component Upgrade.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.