ESET NOD32 Antivirus v3.0.657 released

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Marcos, May 21, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,033
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Installing the software from the MSI package loads the virus signature database from inside that package. This behavior is by design.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  2. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    How come its so old April 23 ? New build and a month out of date ?
    Anyway refuses to update on its own. Tried everything.
     
  3. Marsman

    Marsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    33
    I had similar issues on my WinXp Pro SP3 system & reinstalling the earlier V3.0.650 solved the problem.

    Thank you Eset ...Upgrading to V657 caused me a lot grief & time! :mad:
     
  4. spunka

    spunka Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Why is it that ESET is causing so many people so many problems lately?

    What has changed at ESET? Who is not doing proper testing?
     
  5. Marv Gordon

    Marv Gordon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    59
    How many different combinations of PC's are there? It's impossible for them to test every possibility.

    I've rolled out .657 to ~150 clients with 50 to go and have had zero issues with this release.
     
  6. spunka

    spunka Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    Whatever the case, it is clear that ESET didn't do enough in this instance.
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,431
    The problem was actually investigated quickly and a fix was released within 1 (one) hour. If it's too long for, I'm sorry then. As it's been explained, it was not a typical false positive caused by a wrong signature or heuristics triggering a false alarm so the problem could not be isolated before the update. A fix has been made which means it won't happen again.
     
  8. spunka

    spunka Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    There is some doubt whether the problem was actually fixed within one hour AND the fact is that people experiences issues for days and days afterwards. Clearly there was an issue with the way this problem was communicated and with the way the "fix" was rolled out. Wouldn't you agree?
     
  9. e36

    e36 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Posts:
    80
    Installed on two PCs, one Vista Home Premium SP1 and one XP Home SP3 with no problems.
     
  10. schoonie84

    schoonie84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    I see from the thread that this was released ~2 weeks ago, but my installation of Nod32 is still version 3.0.650.0. I was under the impression that the program would update itself in addition to downloading new virus signatures, and the fact that there are settings in the configuration menu regarding updating "program components" leads me to believe I'm assuming correctly.

    Does it just take time for the new version to be pushed out through automatic updates, or are we supposed to be manually updating the program every time new versions come out?
     
  11. twl845

    twl845 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    Posts:
    4,186
    Location:
    USA
    Sorry, you gotta go to the ESET download page and download the .exe file, then install the new v3.0.657. ;) Updates to the software are not automatic.
     
  12. schoonie84

    schoonie84 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Posts:
    2
    Fair enough. I imagine that the previous version should be uninstalled first?
     
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    82,341
    Location:
    Texas
    Hello schoonie84,

    You can install the newer version over the older. It will replace the files as needed.
     
  14. Wonkabear

    Wonkabear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Fayetteville NC
    I have the same concern as Schoonie84 had in post #35.

    So can anyone explain just how the update features work.

    I have mine set under "Update/Advance Settings/"Ask before downloading Program Components" and "Offer Computer Restart If Necessary".

    I would assume (bad word) that this means when a newer version of NOD32 is available, i.e. program component, that a window would pop update during an update cycle and say something to the effect, "A newer version is available. Do you want to download/update now?"

    Am I misinterpreting the use of these settings?

    If I am, then can someone please help me understand how the update feature is supposed to work.

    This is the second time that NOD32 has not picked up on a newer version being available.

    Only by coming to Wilders Security Forums have I been able to find out that there is a newer version available for download.

    Thanks for any help.....it is greatly appreciated.

    Now go have a great day and be safe out there.

    Bill
     
  15. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Nope, your understanding is spot on.

    from a recent post....
    Having said that and no dis-respect intended toward Eset but if\when a PCU comes down the pipe I'll wager it will be the most viewed and\or commented to thread We have ever had.

    I do however fully respect their reasoning that has been shared in all the threads it has been shared in. I also understand\respect the flip side from users that wish to be notified via the program of a PCU update.
     
  16. Wonkabear

    Wonkabear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Fayetteville NC
    Dear Bubba,

    Thanks for the reply and info. Actually when I got the email notification I thought my computer, named BUBBA, was sending me some kinda weird email. o_O

    So, if I read the ESET philosophy, it releases an update, but doesn't put it on their update server that NOD32 can check to see if there is an update.

    The update is however released on the web site with notification being made thru whatever various means there are, such as here on Wilders Security Forums.

    So if I have one of the problems such as:

    · Fixed problem causing problems on certain servers on logoff

    · Improved stability for users of Microsoft Windows Mail

    · Fixed issue with deleting email from a POP3 server

    · Fixed incompatibility with PC Translator software

    that the newer version would possibly fix, then I have no other way of finding out about the fix release unless I go to this forum each and every day to check for the fix.

    Am I reading all this correctly so faro_O?

    If I am, then what is the sense of putting in a program component update feature if it's not going to be utilized to it's fullest extent by the company that wrote the program.

    Hmmmm.....again, please help me understand. o_O

    Thanks again and have a great day. TTFN!!!

    Bill
     
  17. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,431
    As it's been mentioned, ESET releases a program component update (PCU) once or twice per year, when all reported problems are fixed and when a PCU is suitable for release to all users. Providing a PCU to all users worldwide without the program not having been used long enough is like playing with fire (or with our clients' safety?) when potential problems that might arise would damage our clients as well as our reputation.

    An automatic program component update will be available some time soon.
     
  18. Wonkabear

    Wonkabear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Fayetteville NC
    Dear Marcos,

    Okey. Now I understand you reasoning. Nuf said about that. I will go to my corner. :oops:
     
  19. Wonkabear

    Wonkabear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    Fayetteville NC
    Now I'm really embarassed.

    I dl'd the update and tried installing it.

    Got the following result:

    Error Code: 11316

    Product ESET NOD32 Antivirus - Error 1316. A Network error occurred while attempting to read file c:\Windows\Installer\eav_nt32_enu.msi.

    Event ID - 11316

    File name: msi.dll

    File version: 3.1.4001.5512

    I did the event view thingy and sent it to MS for possible help and they had nothing on this error.

    But all is well. The update did a rollback, so nothing was changed.

    Now I will return to my corner until further notice....:( <----"sad"
     
  20. psdarauj

    psdarauj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    I experienced the same ekrnl problem, with the processor competely used by this search module when I installed version 3.0.657 on XP SP2 running on a AMD XP 1800 at 1.5 GHz. The solution was the one mentioned in another posting - revert to 3.0.650.
    However, when I installed v 657 on a laptop with an Intel Centrino processor running Win XP SP2, it worked flawlessly. Even after SP3 was installed the NOD 32 AV continued to work without a glitch.
    I would suggest that the 657 problem is related to some incompatibility with AMD processors, similar to what has been reported for Win XP SP3 updated

    Pedro
     
  21. Joan Archer

    Joan Archer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Posts:
    73
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire, South Wales, UK
    I've never had problems with NOD32 before when doing upgrades but this one totally locked up my machine with ekrn taking over the CPU and so I couldn't use my machine, I had to do a System Restore back to this mornings checkpoint to get control back.

    I have XP Home SP3 running on an AMD AthlonXP 1.8 GHz with 768 MB of RAM.
     
  22. J-Mac

    J-Mac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Posts:
    99
    OK - so I just realized that my 3.0.621 is outdated. I, too, thought the program was auto-updating. (And, no, I do NOT agree with the reasons it does not do so, at least via user configuration).

    Anyway it sounds like I might want to have build 650 on hand in case there are issues on my XP Pro SP2 machine with build 657. However I do not see build 650 on the download page. Only 657.

    Is it available elsewhere?

    Thanks!

    Jim
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.