ESET NOD32 Antivirus 5 and ESET Smart Security 5 Release Candidate available

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus/Smart Security Beta' started by Marcos, Jun 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rekun

    rekun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Posts:
    89
    I know, but by default, the HIPS shows a message everytime an action has been allowed. This means if you install an app or runs Windows Update, it keeps popping up with messages about what has been allowed. This goes on even after the updates has been installed becaurse every message stays on for some time, so they gets queued.

    This is stupid. Most eset users would properly like that by default, messages about allowed things wasn't showed.
     
  2. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    you can override the ESET default rules by creating your own rules

    for example create a rule, allowing modification of startup settings and tell me if that works

    note that i am not saying you what apps or what what registry keys have to be specified, this is intentional
     
  3. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,281
    Location:
    UK
    I noticed that this happens in Automatic mode but not in Interactive or Learning mode. (Not sure about Policy mode because I didn't try it.)

    There are two ways to deal with this. One way is to completely disable HIPS notifications via the HIPS settings in Advanced Settings. The other way is to click on the drop-down arrow on the notification message box where there is an option to cancel all currently pending notifications, without disabling future notifications.

    I agree that it could have been better thought out though.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    It will be possible to disable these notifications as of the next HIPS module build. The number of pop-ups should be lowered to the bare minimum as well.
    To me as an advanced user this feature is very useful and has already saved me from not yet recognized malware as soon as it got installed on a computer. Of course, like other features also this one is subject to evolution and should evolve in terms of efficiency and reliability over the time.
     
  5. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,281
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks Marcos. :)
     
  6. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    You are ofcourse right about everything you say there. But I guess that most of ESET users are novice/average users. Therefore, by default only messages which require user intervention should be displayed, unnecessary messages could confuse users. Additionaly, the messages should also clearly explain what is exactly happening and why it is dangerous. By nature, it is very hard to create a HIPS which is easy to use and yet effective against threats, the automatic mode might be a good option but demands serious improvements before final release, in my eyes.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 25, 2011
  7. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    6,902
    Location:
    USA
    I agree with everything you said but that single statement. I think most novice users have never heard of ESET. It would be nice to see both novice and advanced users considered with options for both.
     
  8. ashishsingh1508

    ashishsingh1508 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Pune
    Threats has been detected and after selecting "clean" from context menu ESET does not clean those file automatically

    Secondly, there should be an option like "apply to all" and whatever I apply will be applied to all like delete or clean
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Are you positive those files in the recycle bin are 100% legit files that have been infected by a virus? Couldn't it be that it's the virus itself, with no useful code behind?

    Probably you're new to ESET and haven't used v4 before. In such case, please read the descriptive text in that window more carefully to find out how to select an action for multiple files.
     
  10. ashishsingh1508

    ashishsingh1508 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Pune
    Yes,I am new to ESET. I just heard that its detection rates are better than the rest. So I purchased it.
     
  11. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    No problem with cleaning here
    maybe you can fix the minor bug in the infected count statistics
     
  12. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    Bug_Statistics.GIF

    - In Statistics section:
    Files cleaned through the context menu (Advanced options > Clean files) remains as infected
    Files cleaned by Real-time filesystem protection remains as infected
    (This problem doesnt occurs On File Create)

    Checking of the current File status in the cache, maybe could help
    If the file path doesnt exist, this can be removed from infected objects count


    Please add On-demand scanner statistics ( containing On-demand and scheduled scans)
    Please add a Protection count (Number of blocked threats, like in v4) or a Detection Count (Number of detected threats)

    Bug_SmartOptimization.GIF

    - Smart optimization problems (both in Filesystem and operating memory) are still present, Default settings

    - Add icons for cleaning in notifications, depending it was succesful or failed, like these:

    http://www.mediafire.com/?ewddg9u07d4h8b6
     
  13. NoobStick

    NoobStick Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Posts:
    0
    Just a feedback.....

    Just did a small Windows Update and it went smooth and easy, did not have to uncheck "Enable application protocol content filtering. :D

    Regards NoobStick
     

    Attached Files:

    • mm.png
      mm.png
      File size:
      41.3 KB
      Views:
      745
  14. JeremyW

    JeremyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
    Same here this evening. No problems with the same updates.
     
  15. Temp Member

    Temp Member Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Posts:
    263
    Location:
    Glasgow
    WU inc Office 2010 SP1 all went on fine now keep it that way please, no repeat of 4.2 breaking it twice! :)
     
  16. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    6,029
    Location:
    New York City
    Is this a display error in the advanced setup of HIPS?
     

    Attached Files:

    • HIPS.GIF
      HIPS.GIF
      File size:
      25.2 KB
      Views:
      696
  17. JeremyW

    JeremyW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
    Very strange - this is what I see:
     

    Attached Files:

  18. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    6,029
    Location:
    New York City
    JeremyW,

    Thanks for responding. I just installed the release candidate. After restarting my computer, I have what you have. Should this be considered a bug?
     
  19. ashishsingh1508

    ashishsingh1508 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Pune
    Why don't ESET protect its registry entries I can simply disable loading it on startup by just tweaking its registry with any software and even make changes to many of registry entries. Don't tell these are not critical registries.

    Why don't you protect all files in Program Data folder from deletion or modification and why dont you protect all registry related to ESET?

    Regards
    Ashish
     
  20. toxinon12345

    toxinon12345 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Posts:
    1,200
    Location:
    Managua, Nicaragua
    did you disabled something in HIPS?
     
  21. ashishsingh1508

    ashishsingh1508 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Pune
    No its in automatic mode
    Self protection enabled
    HIPS enabled
     
  22. ashishsingh1508

    ashishsingh1508 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Pune
    Good news yesterdays module update of HIPS solved the problem of self protection of ESET.

    Now all files are protected by ESET in Program files folder and Program Data folder also Registry entry responsible for startup is also protected. I will check other registry and report back..

    Regards
    Ash
     
  23. ashishsingh1508

    ashishsingh1508 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Pune
    Sorry to see that not all registry entries of ESET are protected.
    I can easily change all the registry in below picture.

    Disappointing

    Regards
    Ash
     

    Attached Files:

  24. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    Those are just GUI settings, not really that important
     
  25. ashishsingh1508

    ashishsingh1508 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Posts:
    125
    Location:
    Pune
    See on left side.
    Also I can edit Registry keys under here I just tried

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ESET
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.