ESET NOD32 Antivirus 4.0.474.0 released

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by cocolucho, Nov 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cocolucho

    cocolucho Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Posts:
    80
    Marcos

    h t t p://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=259044

    Just download the version 4.0.467.0 is no other version

    Gracias from Chiclayo - Peru
     
  2. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    give it time it took 8 days for me to get the 1054 firewall after it was posted here.
     
  3. c2d

    c2d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2007
    Posts:
    570
    Location:
    Bosnia
    Hey folks try to download here
    This new version is displayed here
     
  4. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    it shows it but downloaded 467 here? :doubt:
     
  5. cocolucho

    cocolucho Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Posts:
    80
  6. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  7. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Please keep in mind that sometimes it takes a few hours for changes to made to web site content to to go live on the production web server farm.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  8. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  9. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,014
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Working well and solved my download problems!

    Thanks to the ESET Team! :thumb:

    TH
     
  10. XN04113

    XN04113 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    This version has massive problems if using with RA 3.1.15 : NO signature database updates possible

    What was done?
    1. previous installed version 4.0.467
    2. starting install 4.0.474 with option "keep settings"
    3. reboot
    4. update does not work

    After cleaning up ALL temp and nod32 update directories it looks working.
    But I didn't find any reasion for this or a general method to fix it.
    Current state : this version is NOT acceptable for our company

    Tested on three plattforms: XP SP3, 2003 R2 SP2 and Vista x64

    Tomorrow I will inform our support company DATSEC and try to make a clean install on a fresh maschine without nod32.

    regards
    mike
     
  11. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,734
    Thats normal since v3 - goto settings (F5) > Update and "clear" all.
    I always recommend it when updating - usual work when updating eset.
    (i mean - nothing to complain meanwhile :p)

    PS i have in mind that eset kb will recommend that procedure too
     
  12. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    In cases like this, we'd need you to:
    1, back up all dat files from the ESET install folder as well as the content of the "C:\Documents and settings (Users)\All Users\ESET\ESET Smart Security\Updfiles" folder
    2, try updating via Windows shares instead of HTTP to see if it makes a difference
    3, as the last resort you can try clearing the update cache, but we'll surely need to figure out the root of the problem so the previously backed up files may come handy.

    Let us know about the result please.
     
  13. RyanW

    RyanW Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Posts:
    77
    Mine works, no reboot required! RA 3.1.15 shows my 4.0.474 clients as updated with the latest signatures, but warns that the systems need a reboot (I installed over 4.0.467).

    :D
     
  14. biggerbyte

    biggerbyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    I am confused about something. When Nod32 does it's updates, does it only update the signatures, or does it also update the program to the latest version? In other words, do I need to always download the new versions as a whole from the website? It seems like to me the most logical thing for eset to do would be to update the program from within itself. If I have to redownload the entire program again, do I just install it over the previous version already installed?

    Anyone?
     
  15. XN04113

    XN04113 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    1. I will test some more clients and possible situations today and if the problems still exists send the required data to datsec
    2. sorry, this isn't an option for us
    3. can this be done via RA, no chance to click manually at over 1000 servers.

    regards
    mike
     
  16. XN04113

    XN04113 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    - only updates and program modules (if selected)
    - yes
    - yes (select "keep settings")

    mike
     
  17. XN04113

    XN04113 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Posts:
    25
    ok, testet two more system. One server 2008 x64 with version 4.0.437 (x64) and an xp sp3 client with 4.0437. They got there updates via RA without any problems before installing 474.

    Then I made a manual upgrade installing with "keep" settings" options.
    Did the required reboot.
    Tried to update - ERROR!
    Used the Advanced Setup Option "Clear Update Cache"
    Tried to update - DONE!

    OK, anything with updating is going wrong. How can this be solved - MUST be done remote.

    regards
    mike
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2009
  18. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,734
    i heard that feature is in preparation
    request that feature - first clear cache on update ;)
    (or write some autoit script that will do it for you)
     
  19. Carbonyl

    Carbonyl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Posts:
    256
    In a previous thread where I asked about updating NOD versions, I was linked to a forum post that indicated that newer versions of NOD provide no additional protection and should only be downloaded and manually installed when encountering conflicts or problems.

    Yet I see people on these forums scrambling to update their NOD versions to to 4.0.474.0 from the previous v4 revision.

    Is there a compelling reason to update to 4.0.474.0 if the v4 revision I am running on seem to be operating fine? Will detection or cleaning be impacted if I stay on the older 4.0.4xx.0 versions? Is it a security risk?
     
  20. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Other than the fixes and changes in the new build, you are not required to upgrade, it is your option.
     
  21. cssoz

    cssoz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Posts:
    79
    this is why u enable pre-release mode (test mode) i got it 1 month before it was confirmed stable and ready to go.

    Eset is always stable with things, except the fact that windows are always updating and users have different software that might conflict with NOD32.
     
  22. dtsgk

    dtsgk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Posts:
    14
    I also had this problem.
    It was solved with disabling the original "Regular Update" setting under Scheduler, and then creating another one with same settings but with another name. (In Policy Editor).

    Then every computer started update correctly.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.