Eset NOD 32 will not update Virus signatures

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Cutting_Edgetech, Jun 6, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    Are any of Eset's update servers down? I'm living in USA, and Eset will not update virus definitions. My license is good until 2013. Something is not right since it says my virus signature database has not been updated successfully in some time. When I look at the signature is says its from today. Signature version 7201, but right above that it says it has not been successfully updated since 05/30/2012.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Could it be your Router again as you had the same problem with WSA?

    TH
     
  3. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    I don't think so. My UTM that caused that is in storage along with the rest of my gear. I'm visiting with family at the moment, and their router has never gave me problems before. I have Eset's programs folder C:/programs/Eset set as an exception in Shadow Defender. I wonder if an update could have been applied to NOD 32 program folder, but not to the registry while being in Shadow Mode. I don't think that should cause this though since I updated NOD 32 to the latest version while not in Shadow Mode. I'm not in Shadow mode now. It looks like i'm going to have to uninstall NOD 32, and reinstall. The latest build seems to have some bugs. Right after installing it I got some error messages about something failing to update. This was about 2 weeks ago. I haven't gotten it since though. I'm sure they will probably want me to run sysinspector, and send log files.
     
  4. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Didn't hurt to ask as I remembered dealing with that issue! :)

    Cheers,

    TH
     
  5. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    I uninstalled, and reinstalled NOD 32, and that fixed the update problem. The only thing is I got the same error message I did the last time when updating from 5.0.0.95 to 5.2.9.1. The error message is in the screen shot below.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    1, when a message about the computer not having updated for some time appears, check the system date and make sure it's correct. Then restart the computer.

    2, as for the error message about invalid data in the file containing rules, I'd suggest uninstalling EAV, making sure that the folder "C:\ProgramData\ESET\ESET NOD32 Antivirus" doesn't exist or contain files and eventually installing v. 5.2.9.
     
  7. dwomack

    dwomack Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    588
  8. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    The article about the error message I received can not be correct. I have the latest version of NOD 32 5.2.9.1. I still got the error message.
     
  9. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    Ok, i'm back with the same problem again. Once again NOD 32 will not update. I have already fixed this 3 times in the past month by uninstalling NOD 32, and reinstalling it. This is getting old! I don't want to have to continue uninstalling NOD 32 to fix the problem. Below is a screen shot of NOD 32 in the update process for the past 30 minutes. It will not connect, and download the updates. I'm using Shadow Defender, and I run in shadow mode 90%. I have the following exclusion set for NOD 32. C:/program files/Eset. I have the entire Eset folder excluded. It makes no difference now that i'm not running in Shadow Mode. It still will not update. Could this be causing the problem. I was thinking maybe registry entries or other Eset folders in the user space may not be getting updated. If so could removing the exclusion fix this problem? If you do not believe this could be the problem then what do you need to trouble shoot the problem. I'm on the verge of just switching to another AV to use on my laptop, and i've been using Eset since 2001. There may be an easy fix to this, but I need to resolve this now because i'm surfing the net without sig updates. I'm using NOD 32 5.2.9.1. on W7 X 64 with all the latest updates.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 21, 2012
  10. rockshox

    rockshox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    Posts:
    261
    NOD32 has another folder in the ProgramData folder (C:\ProgramData\ESET) that I would probably try excluding in Shadow Defender. The Update Files are downloaded to folders within this folder. I've never used Shadow Defender, but from the way it's explained on the website I can definitely see how it could interfere.
     
  11. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    Are signature updates downloaded to C:\ProgramData\ESET? I assumed the signature updates were downloaded to C:\program files\Eset. Maybe some parts of Eset are able to update since I have an excluded folder, and other parts are reverting back to old files and modules after I reboot. I could try setting that folder as excluded as well. I would like to hear one of the developers confirm if this could indeed be causing the problem.
     
  12. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    4,953
    Location:
    USA
    I went ahead, and uninstalled Eset & reinstalled it again. I removed the exclusion from Shadow Defender for Eset. If I have this problem again I will just have to find another AV for my laptop.
     
  13. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    You should exclude:
    C:\Program Files\ESET
    C:\ProgramData\ESET
    %USERPROFILE%\AppData\ESET (not necessary for update)
    %USERPROFILE%\Local Settings\ESET (not necessary for update)
     
  14. alex T

    alex T Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    Hello, I have an update problem too. NOD updates at windows startup but not after. I uninstall and reinstall : no change. I can't install version 4 or version 6 beta : process stops without any message and roll back.
     
  15. dwomack

    dwomack Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    588
    Before going through the whole uninstall/reinstall issue for a failed VSD update, it may help to clear the update cache. Also, if you're not using a proxy server, it may help to tell the update module not to look for one by going into the Advanced Update Setup, clicking the 'http Proxy' tab and selecting 'Do Not Use Proxy Server'
     
  16. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Firstly try the BFE fix as it is probably the most common cause of rollbacks.
    If it doesn't help, generate an install log as per the instructions here, upload it somewhere and paste the download link here.
     
  17. alex T

    alex T Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    I'd tried both tricks cited by DWOMACK, but no results.
    To reply to Marcos, I've the french version of BFE "Moteur de filtrage de base". Now I'm using microsoft seven 64, the installation hangs at drivers install step, it succeds with NOD 5.0 only if I launch the exe as an administrator. Version 4.0 or 6 beta installer are msi format. Is it possible to launch a .msi as an administrator ?

    Previously, I have another PC with XP SP3 and NOD 4, without any problem.
     
  18. alex T

    alex T Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Posts:
    25
    My update problem was caused by the memory leak problem under Seven 64. The memory used by ekrn.exe was 1 854 G after 24 hours! I applied the patch MicrosoftFixit50688.msi, it solved most of the leak but the memory used is still growing as a slow pace.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.