ESET Mobile Antivirus Released

Discussion in 'Other ESET Home Products' started by agoretsky, Nov 12, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Please use this message thread to discuss ESET Mobile Antivirus.

    You are welcome to discuss things you like, experiences with installing and using the software and so forth.

    If you have require assistance troubleshooting the program or wish to post a bug report, please create a new message thread to discuss it, as these types of message threads tend to become very large over time and the issue may not receive prompt attention from ESET's support staff or developers if it is posted here.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  2. nodyforever

    nodyforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    PT / Lisbon
    Hello Aryeh Goretsky,




    Trial Version link?




    site:

    Memory 1 MB


    PDF Manual:

    Memory
    32 MB
    16 MB


    PDF Datasheet:

    Memory: 1 MB


    confuseo_O


    Most Reagrds,
    NF
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2008
  3. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    A trial version is not yet available, although an ESET reseller should be able to provide you with a custom 30-day license for evaluation.

    I'll let the tech writers know about the user's guide.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  4. TW_John

    TW_John Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    I installed it on my Windows Mobile Smart phone (Yes, I downloaded the correct one in .cab format) and upon boot, it says it could initialize the on-access scanner? Nor can I activate it... I guess it is a glitch of some sort? Sorry for not knowing anything, I am not a tech-knowledgeable person, but i have trusted ESET. Help maybe?
     
  5. nodyforever

    nodyforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    PT / Lisbon
    Hello,

    Site:


    Light Footprint: About 300 KB installed...


    PDF Datasheet:

    400kb


    indecisive numbers if memory and installed disk :(



    CPU usageo_O
     
  6. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Can you tell us more about your Windows Mobile Smartphone? Knowing the brand, model and carrier can help identify compatibility issues.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky

     
  7. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    During tests memory usage was observed at about 350KB, so I'm guessing there was a rounding error. I have asked that the figures be corrected so they match.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky


     
  8. nodyforever

    nodyforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    PT / Lisbon


    Hello,

    Thanks you for explanation agoretsky


    Processor
    400 Mhz
    200 Mhz


    correct values?



    How many KB or MB disk occupies in the mobile?


    Most Regards,
    NF
     
    Last edited: Nov 16, 2008
  9. TW_John

    TW_John Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    As to my problem here is my phone:
    Phone Model: BlackJack I
    Manufacturer: Samsung
    Carrier: AT&T
    Installed on: Phone Memory
    Problems: Cannot initialize ESET Mobile because I cannot activate it. When I choose "activate", nothing happens.
     
  10. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    I believe a it is 200MHz minimum, 400MHz recommended for the processor.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky


     
  11. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Is your AT&T Samsung BlackJack I Smartphone locked, TW_John?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky

     
  12. TW_John

    TW_John Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    i do not know what you mean by locked.... as in not activated for phone service i guess? my phone is active for at&t service, and has internet and texts enabled.
     
  13. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Are you able to use the device with SIMs from other carriers, install software which isn't digitally signed and/or update it with third-party firmware?

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky

     
  14. TW_John

    TW_John Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    I would not know, as I have never tried. I can take out the SIM and change it for another, I guess, but I have not tried as all my family is on AT&T. The only other programs I have on my phone are: Opera Mini, Skyfire browser, Live Search. I do not know how to go about with testing the other things....
     
  15. geckogod2

    geckogod2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    Is there a trial version out yet..

    I d/l'd this through the trial download links. i installed it on my phone but it says it's says it can't scan my phone, suggests i do a soft reboot, which i did but nothing happens. i cannot activate it either, it does nothing.

    I have a black jack 2 with WM 6.1

    btw.. the memory usage on my phone for this App shows 556k.
     
  16. LLJKTechnogeek

    LLJKTechnogeek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    I'm having the same "activate does nothing" problem.

    Device is an HTC Touch Diamond running WinMo 6.1 Pro on the Sprint network.
     
  17. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
    Is there likely to be an anti-theft feature in the future like the Kaspersky Mobile product has? Other than the possibly useful SMS spam protection, I don't see much worth for AV protection on mobiles. However a good solid anti-theft feature would be a useful selling point.
     
  18. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Please try uninstalling and then reinstalling the software.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky

     
  19. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Please try uninstalling and reinstalling the software.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky

     
  20. mr_yoda

    mr_yoda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Posts:
    57
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    Are there any plans for Eset to release this for Symbian phones? I know there are other av software that work on the Symbian OS (Kaspersky and F-Secure) but I prefer Eset software.
     
  21. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Support for additional operating systems is planned, however, I could not say for which ones or when it would be available.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.