Eset hangs all web downloads

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by jovball, Dec 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jovball

    jovball Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Vista x64 SP2
    Eset Business 4.0.474.0
    IE7
    Firefox 3.5.6

    I have been fighting with this for a really long time and I'm completely frustrated with it. I have two workstations running Vista x64 SP2. On one of them, most, but not all web downloads of zip files will hang at "Estimated time left: 1 second" for IE7 or "a few seconds remaining" for Firefox 3.5.x (currently 3.5.6). If I leave them alone, sometimes they will finish in 30 minutes to one hour.

    During this time, my CPU shows ekrn.exe is using 40-60% of CPU time (this on a box with dual Opteron 170 processors). If I disable eset nod32 _before_ I start the download, everything is fine.

    My 10 licenses are up for renewal in Feb. If I can't get this problem solved by then, I'll be looking for different malware protection.
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    if you disable web access protection does it still stall?
    "..
    Click Web access protection from the Advanced Setup tree and deselect the Enable web access protection option. Then click HTTP, HTTPS from the Advanced Setup tree and deselect the Enable HTTP checking option.
    .."

    Cudni
     
  3. jovball

    jovball Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    What, exactly, would be the point of my using this software if I disable web scanning? That's where all of the malware comes from.
     
  4. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  5. jovball

    jovball Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    I'm using AV only, not SmartSecurity. I don't believe I have that option. It doesn't appear in the setup tree, only "HTTP, HTTPS" show under Web access protection.
     
  6. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Please see screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    It could be that you're downloading larger archives that are unpacked and each of the contained file is scanned when download completes. In such case, you can set a limit for archives in web access protection and sfx archives in web/real-time protection if you mind the delay caused by unpacking and scanning files in archives.
     
  8. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    the point being that your software would and is still protecting your machine from malware with or without web scanning disabled
     
  9. pondlife152

    pondlife152 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    UK
    I noticed this issue a long while back. I have set a limit of 30 seconds to complete scanning of any file with the real-time & web access scanners which seems to overcome the really long delays on some archives as Marcos has said.

    Okay, I understand that something could get through, but it would be trapped when the archive is expanded anyway.

    And if you're still worried, a friend of mine has McAfee on his PC and while looking through the settings I noticed that this also has a similar scan-time limit for an individual file, which is set by default. So I guess that other antivirus applications may use this method too.
     
  10. jovball

    jovball Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    siljaline:

    I already looked at that in the advanced setup tree. I don't have that option on any of my workstations with NOD32.

    Edit:

    OK, I see it now. I needed to expand one more level down. They are all empty.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 19, 2009
  11. jovball

    jovball Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Posts:
    7
    Marcos:

    Why does it hang on only one workstation? All of the others are OK. And this is the most powerful one. Lots of CPU and lots of RAM and NOD32 is just chewing it up.

    Also, in regards to your comment about larger archives. This is happening on zip files as small as 5 MB. I would expect that NOD32 could go through an 5 MB zip file without any problems.
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2009
  12. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Then you likely have another unknown issue. At the moment, I am puzzled.
     
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,802
    Location:
    Texas
    Download the free Process Explorer and see if you can gather any information on what may causing a problem on that particular computer.

    ESET Sysinspector is also a useful tool.
     
  14. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    Out of curiosity, can you temporarily disable one of the CPUs?

    We had issues with some software a while ago, on a two-CPU system, and disabling a CPU solved the problem. We actually disable it within Task Manager, setting the CPU affinity for the process in question.


    Jim
     
  15. biggerbyte

    biggerbyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    I am having trouble with version 4 as well. It has taken the performance of my Vista 32 and made it a bit sluggish compared to version 3. The biggest annoyance for me is how it slows writes to the hard drive down considerably while browsing the Internet. This is all on top of the issue you are seeing with your downloads. Having to wait this long period of time once the download completes is a huge annoyance.

    I have two 7 machines now, on top of the two vista machines, so going back to version 3 at this point probably is not an option. Besides that, the whole reason behind migrating to 4 was because vista began to complain that my antivirus was no longer able to report to the security center. It had to do with Microsoft changing something in Vista.

    At any rate... I've gone from being a very satisfied customer, to something other than. My 5 Meg dsl writes to the hard drive in my browser like I'm on something slightly better than dialup.
     
  16. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    I doubt v3 would be different as both v3 and v4 are same in terms of the engine, archive scanning, scan limitations, etc. Could you confirm that uninstalling v4 and installing v3 actually makes a difference for you? If so, we'd need you to provide the complete url to the file you're attempting to download. A log from SysInspector might be required as well if we're unable to reproduce the problem.
     
  17. biggerbyte

    biggerbyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    53

    Oh, there is no doubt that version 3 scanned quicker than 4. I hardly ever knew 3 was running, no matter what I was doing on the computer. I can try again on the vista machines to see if the problems go away. Other than that, I'm not sure if I can isolate the problem for you.
     
  18. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    Since Vista SP1 and newer OS use WFP and the http traffic is no longer redirected through a local proxy as of v4, I'd suggest trying out the latest v. 4.2 beta which includes some improvements in terms of scanning http traffic via WFP.
     
  19. biggerbyte

    biggerbyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    I just confirmed my suspicians.. I uninstalled 4 and ran vista without antivirus. Problem solved. Then I reinstalled 3... Problem solved. Last, version 4 is back on, as is the problem.

    Very annoying...
     
  20. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,376
    What about v. 4.2 beta? Especially if you have another application utilizing WFP installed, installing the beta might help. If possible, please provide step-by-step instructions how to reproduce the problem (ie. what browser you use, what url you're attempting to download the file from, etc.). A log from SysInspector might shed more light as well, feel free to create one and PM me the link to it.
     
  21. biggerbyte

    biggerbyte Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    53
    It is not a file, or a website, it is any file, from anywhere. Also, all websites are effected by the slowdown. Just as with the thread starter, my issue is with nod32 v. 4. I'm afraid there isn't going to be anything that can be provided to you that will make a difference. I have a powerful computer that has zero issues, otherwise.

    I may have to try the beta, which is something I don't normally do. I consider running beta security software as risky as downloading a hacked antivirus/security software. It is all about reliable protection.

    Good luck to the person who opened this thread. It was not my intention to hijack this thread. Our issues are identical, so anything that helps either if us will help the other.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.