ESET Endpoint Antivirus 5.0.2122 blue screen

Discussion in 'ESET Endpoint Products' started by peter_7, Jun 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. peter_7

    peter_7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Sweden
    I just want to inform you that you should not install ESET Antivirus Endpoint 5.0.2122 business edition. We have enormous problems in our company nearly all 120 computers have begun to get blue screens. Major problems with USB some computers you cannot log on if you have a mouse plugged stopped at welcome screen.I have started going back to version 4 and after that everything works as it should.
     
  2. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
    your suggestion seems pointless as it is a particular problem on your systems.

    btw why did admin did not install it on a test system? thats normal way with major upgrades.

    if you collect the crash dumps send them to Marcos oder eset to gain support.

    HTH
     
  3. Geosoft

    Geosoft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    I have deployed ESET Enpoint to 15 of our 80 computers in this particular office with no blue screens or issues. Noticing faster performance than before actually.
     
  4. SolidState

    SolidState Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Posts:
    92
    Is there an Eset product with backend/management that works on SBS as an "add-on" IE integrated into the SBS admin console? Other AV vendors have done this and IMHO it's a much more elegant solution that a standalone management console separate from the server console.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2012
  5. BeanCounter

    BeanCounter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2006
    Posts:
    66
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I have had Endpoint installed on 4 desktops and one laptop for more than a week without any problems.
     
  6. EmpereurZorg

    EmpereurZorg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Posts:
    12
    I had Endpoint recently installed on my Lenovo x201i / W7x64, and got bluescreens too (reboot after ~30minutes). It seems to have a conflict with the lenovo power management drivers.
    I also had a problem wiith software installations (to update power drivers or install lenovo update) : with EndPoint installed, locked to 0%, ok after Endpoint was uninstalled.

    This is a bad bad news...
     
  7. peter_7

    peter_7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Sweden
    I've done some more testing with the installation and re-installed the Antivirus version 5 but unfortunately the same problems with blue screens. The computers that we have the most trouble with is Lenovo L412, L420, L520, T420, T520, X220i and HP SFF8100, SFF HP8200.
    When I install back version 4, then everything is working well. This is not good.
     
  8. Geosoft

    Geosoft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    We completed a full deployment earlier this week. Not reporting any issues here with all Dell Latitude Laptops or Precision Desktops.

    Our company tried Lenovo in the past but was upset with the performance that it accounted to for all it's crappy monitoring software that's installed. Have you tried uninstalling the software to see if that makes a difference?
     
  9. peter_7

    peter_7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Sweden
    Yes we have uninstalled the antivirus then everything is working like it should. We have seen freezing screens, blue screens and freezing computers after connecting something to USB port.
     
  10. EmpereurZorg

    EmpereurZorg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Posts:
    12
    This is not the subject, Eset Endpoint is "just an antivirus" installed on a "fully functional computer", and it's pobably not a simple software but a driver wich cause these bluescreens (power management programs are "part of" laptops)
    6 months after v5 was launched for home users, we could expect these bugs shouldn't be in business version (oups, my english is probably buggy too :D)
     
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If you experience BSOD after installing Endpoint Antivirus or Endpoint Security, please contact Customer Care for a hotfix. This issue does not affect home version of v5 as it doesn't use Device Control.
     
  12. Geosoft

    Geosoft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Several days later, I'm getting random one-offs on laptops bluescreening. No desktops thus far.
     
  13. peter_7

    peter_7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Sweden
    I have now received the hotfix for the BSOD problem I will come back with results.
     
  14. tuntun

    tuntun Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Posts:
    39
    can this patch put in their daily updates? so that transparent to users to patch manually.
     
  15. peter_7

    peter_7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Sweden
    I have installed the hotfix on 6 computers and the result is very good so far (4 hours) there is no freezing or blue screens.
     
  16. Geosoft

    Geosoft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Hi Tuntun,

    The patch is related to the Device Control Driver and can only be applied in safe mode while the driver is not loaded. If you aren't using any Device Control policies, I assume (like I am now) simply disabling the "System Integration" of this feature will be good enough for most needs as there wouldn't be any definitions for device lockouts.
     
  17. adza

    adza Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    Thanks for that suggestion... disabling Device control before rebooting fixed the problem!

    In regards to this hotfix - is this something that will be included in the next version, or is it available for download from the web somewhere?
     
  18. tuntun

    tuntun Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Posts:
    39
    How may I get the patch? can help to send to my email? I want to apply to one PC and confirm since pattern is same.
     
  19. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Disabling Device control integration will fix the issue. If you want to use Device control to block access to certain devices, contact Customer care for a hotfix please.
     
  20. Geosoft

    Geosoft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  21. Bakker

    Bakker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Posts:
    90
    We've had a simmilar issue related to this version.
    When installing this version on 3 test machines, we encountered a problem where users could no longer log into their computer.

    At the welcome screen, after pressing control-alt-delete the screen would remain empty.

    After disabeling the checkbox for intergration the error went away.

    We ran some tests with a modified installation package where this option is disabled through the included policy. It seems that this doesn't work. After the installation the checkbox is checked, and not disabled as it should be as set in the policy included with the package.

    Also the modification of this setting in the group policy for the client doesn't seem to be picked up right after install (but i guess this would not work anyway untill the machine is rebooted).

    I'm a bit baffled as to why the setting in the package policy is ignored upon install. For us it means we can't risk rolling this version out to our company.

    Any ideas?
     
  22. Geosoft

    Geosoft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Hi Bakker,

    Push/pull install from ERAS has it's own set of client policies in the package manager, including the default replication time (I think) connecting to the ERAS in 10 minute intervals, including the initial replication. I usually modify the base installer package and change that time to 0 so that the replication is near instant. Maybe that will fix your issue?
     
  23. Bakker

    Bakker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Posts:
    90
    Hi Geosoft,

    I actually waited (12 hours) for normal replication for the 5.0 policy to 'uncheck' that box. it never happened.

    Thanks for the suggestion though.
     
  24. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I've tested Endpoint installation with Device control disabled by default as follows and it worked like a charm:
    1, create an xml with Device control integration disabled
    <NODE NAME="BlockRemovableDevicesEnabled" VALUE="0" TYPE="DWORD" />
    2, name the file cfg.xml
    3, put the xml file to the folder containing the Endpoint msi installer
    4, run msi (the settings from xml will be applied automatically)

    We're going to update the installers shortly so that Device control is disabled by default. Afterwards we're planning to release a service build with a fixed Device control driver and addressing some issues that have been reported from users after the release.
     
  25. tuntun

    tuntun Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Posts:
    39
    Hi Marcos,

    Thank you for your info. I am awaiting for this installer. By the way how will it release this to us? By normal dail updates or? I want to have this asap.

    Thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.