ESET disabled my photography software

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by dcrowex, Nov 25, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dcrowex

    dcrowex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    Just last week I renewed my license to update to the new Antivirus program. I find out today, my EOS Utility software is not working. I called Canon and they confirmed the new update has disabled my software, especially since it has been working fine with no problems. No one is in today and I have no idea how to go in and fix this in this virus program. Any ideas? I am running ESET Nod32 antivirus 4.0.474.0 on Vista. Photography software is CAnon Utilities. Thank you, Debbie
     
  2. ljg

    ljg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Posts:
    34
    Have you tried uninstalling, then reinstalling your EOS software?

    (By the way, why are you running an older v4 version?)
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Is a part of the software detected? No updates other than signatures have been released recently.
     
  4. dcrowex

    dcrowex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    no updates that i know of. i can detect part of the software, the DPP part where you could edit a photo, but the EOS Utility is the key part of the program and it only says it STOPPED working. i have uninstalled and reinstalled 3 times. It makes sense that Canon told me this is the only new thing done to my computer and now this is not working. He said I had to go into the virus program and "unblock" this as this software is blocking this program.
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I presume that uninstalling ESET wouldn't make any difference. Could you try it just for a test?
     
  6. dcrowex

    dcrowex Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    USA
    ESET installed it for me actually. I just call them, pay for it, and they send it out and when I check my computer, its updated with the new version. They did send me a link but I am afraid to uninstall it and then get it back on there. I have had problems in the past, which is why they do it for me.
     
  7. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    [Edited to correct typo. Thanks DWomack!]

    Hello,

    If you would like to call technical support, perform the upgrade, and investigate the issue further, the toll-free number is +1 (866) 343-3738 in North America.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2011
  8. dwomack

    dwomack Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    588
    It's been a very long Tuesday. Slight correction to the number agoretsky gave:

    +1 (866) 343-3738
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.