Eset causing freezes on new system

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by dean2900, Jun 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dean2900

    dean2900 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    I just built a new system and am using Eset SS. I had tried a trial on another computer and really liked it and it didnt cause an issue.

    I purchased it for my new system which is a custom build Asus MB with dual 6400+ Duos in it. I am running XP Pro SP3 (32 bit version).

    My system occasionally has locked up over the past few weeks and I finally tracked it down this afternoon. I watched the auto update lock my system.

    No other programs have locked up this computer and I am having no issues.

    I have now set it to not automatically update. I am going to update it only when I am at the computer and check the CPU utilization.

    I am ASSUMING I can uninstall it from this computer and install it on the other computer that had the trial version before if it continues to be an issue.

    Assuming there is some incomptability with my system and ESET, do you guys have another recommendation for an security suite that is light on resources, has a firewall and antispam and is NOT Symantec or McAfee?

    Thanks,
    Dean
     
  2. dean2900

    dean2900 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    Surely someone else has run into similar problems? Anyone go away from this or try a fresh install? My concern is that it seems to only happen during updates.

    Dean
     
  3. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Hello Dean,

    Hopefully between You, Eset and those using ESS, ya'll will get to the root of your problem.

    As for recommendations for other security suites, We do ask that any discussions along those lines be handled in our other anti-virus software forum, given that this forum is strictly for Eset program support.

    Regards,
    Bubba
     
  4. dean2900

    dean2900 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    Fair enough. I am going to claim ignorance being a newbie to this forum.

    My next step is to try to manually update the antivirus when I am around and see how that goes. If I do get a crash, I am going to uninstall and reinstall. If it still crashes after that then I may be going back to another program!


    Dean
     
  5. dean2900

    dean2900 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    A follow up to my own post. My computer has not frozen up since I turned off the automatic updates on Eset. I have been doing it manually and this is the fourth day without a problem.

    This is not ideal but I really like the antivirus so I will stick with it if it continues not to cause any problems.


    Dean
     
  6. bodgy

    bodgy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2005
    Posts:
    2,387
    Location:
    Qld.
    Have you tried this?
     
  7. dean2900

    dean2900 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    Nope not yet but I want to see if this method works first. I dont mind manually updating snice I am on every day. If I stll get freezes, I will try the safe mode install.

    Dean
     
  8. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    I would also suggest going to Tools\Scheduler and attempting to add an Update task manually even tho the original update task not working is puzzling.
     
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,791
    Location:
    Texas
    Do you have Windows set to automatically update?
     
  10. dean2900

    dean2900 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    NEVER!

    Dean
     
  11. dean2900

    dean2900 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    It locked my system during a manual update this morning. The system does not record any helpful log info.

    I am going to try doing a full uninstall (using safe mode), downloading the newest version, and reinstall.

    If it crashes the system afer that then it is gone. I just cant deal with the instability it is causing the sytem.

    I am going to put ESET on another system that never had a problem with it. Each computer is a different beast and I am not going to hold this against the software. However, I am probably just going to go back to F-Prot (which is light) and go back to Postini for antispam on my exchange server.

    Dean
     
  12. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    A log from ESET SysInspector might reveal installed software that is somehow intervening with ESS. I'd suggest that you do not enable any additional options in the real-time protection setup. In case a problem you described occurs, we'd need to get a full memory dump from you (I can provide you with instructions as how to create and send it). If there is actually a problem, I assume it coud be resolved or worked around quickly.
     
  13. ServWiseDOTcom

    ServWiseDOTcom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Not sure if this is related I have a laptop with ESET SS and it is locking up all the time, not a machine I use and the person using it so cant say if it is ESET but it hangs and the only thing that works is the screen saver and the mouse, cant do CTRL ALT DEL, alt tab show the apps list but wont do anything.

    I have just turned off the auto-update and will see if it stops hanging.
     
  14. dean2900

    dean2900 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    This sounds the same. WHen I had problems with the auto updates, both monitors were black and I could move the mouse but CTR-ALT-DEL would not bring up the task manager.

    Dean
     
  15. ServWiseDOTcom

    ServWiseDOTcom Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Looks like we may have found the culprit, auto-update has been off for today and so far no crashes. (Machine was crashing quite regularly before, at least a three for four times a day).

    This started happening about two weeks ago, no change or update to ESS which has been v3.0.650.0 for quite a while.

    I'm going to try upgrading to the latest ESS and see if that solves the issue.
     
  16. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Prior to installing the latest version, please uninstall the current version and delete the "C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\ESET\ESET Smart Security" folder as well as the registry key HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\ESET", just in case.
     
  17. dean2900

    dean2900 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    I did the clean unisntall (saferam mode), removed Application Data, Progam files directory, and registery key for Eest.

    I will keep you up to date on how it goes.ar

    I have a real question (bare with me, I had had two hours of sleep in the last 3 days). I cannot get the fireall to allow me to RDP in and share files on my interal 192.169.x.x netowrk. I disabled the Eset firewall for now and have the Microfot Fireall running with exceptions.

    I set it up this way before but how o I allow it allow file sharing and RDP only on my internal 192.168,x,x network?

    Thanks,
    Dean
     
  18. dean2900

    dean2900 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Posts:
    20
    So far so good. I have had no freezes or crashes with auto update still on. I just am having an issue with file sharing to the local network and have the Eset firewall disabled and using the Microsoft for the time being.

    Dean
     
  19. ingber

    ingber Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Posts:
    39
    After a reboot today, 667 consumed 100% CPU Time for a full 10 mins 30 secs (0:10:30), except for about 10 secs of fluctuations down as far as 40-70%.

    Lester
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.