Eset - better readable, bigger characters?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by FanJ, Jun 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Is there some way in which I can make the menus in NOD32 better readable?
    The characters must be much more bigger for me to be able to read them. I have bad eyes.
    Maybe this is a more general issue (maybe not related to NOD32). I am slowly trying to get familiar with this new computer (win 7) and monitor.

    Please help me, please.

    If I am posting this in the wrong forum section, I apologize!

    Just an example of a NOD32 menu that I can hardly read (if at all ...)

    NOD32_2014_06_11_01.png

    Many thanks in advance!
     
  2. malware1

    malware1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Posts:
    133
  3. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Looking at that screenshot now after having posted it, in some way I am able to read it better here on the board than I am able to read the original menu. Maybe I have to change settings for the monitor. I don't know.....
     
  4. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Thank you, malware1. I will definitely look there!
     
  5. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Hopefully that will help, but the problem I had with ESET products is that they seem to be locked to a fixed size and don't actually scale with a DPI change. Maybe it will work differently on someone else's machine, but I wouldn't be surprised if it didn't.
     
  6. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Display.png


    Change your Display settings via Control Panel.
     
  7. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  8. Charyb

    Charyb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    552
    You could try using Magnifier located in Control Panel -> Ease of Access Center. In the settings you can have it start with Windows. It can be set for lens, full screen or dock.

    See example. This is lens at 200%.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 11, 2014
  9. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Thanks all. I still have to look at it further; sorry!


    It is already at 150 %.
     
  10. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Hi xxJackxx,
    It looks like you were right. Even at 200 % the characters in the menus of Eset are the same and way too small for me. Very frustrating!
    ESET, fix this !!!

    I have to look at the suggestion from Charyb.
     
  11. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  12. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Are you a member over at the official ESET forums? You may want to post about it there. If not I may go there and post about it again. I think I have brought it up there previously. I think. I think they are working on a new UI, but I have no idea when that will come out.
     
  13. Mirjalovic

    Mirjalovic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Posts:
    44
    Location:
    In Your Heart
    look at how big your mouse pointer is, maybe you need to tweak display resolution on your computer. Set it in your pc/laptop native resolution.
     
  14. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    Based on the reply from FanJ it looks like we are in agreement that it doesn't matter how you set anything else, ESET products are set to a fixed size and do not scale with resolution/DPI changes. I started a thread over at their official forums in the NOD32 section (since that is what he is using in the screenshots posted above). Hopefully we will get a positive response.
     
  15. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  16. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
  17. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    It's good that both forum links reference each other. It is acceptable.
     
  18. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Right you are, but if it will show up in V8 or later is something we have heard nothing about yet.
     
  19. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Thanks xxJackxx for starting the thread there and Silj for the reply there.
    Thanks for all the other suggestions. All replies and help is much appreciated.
    I still need to check things further; sorry about that.

    The screenshot in the first post shows in no way the actual very small characters. Why it shows here as a larger picture, I don't know.
     
  20. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    ...and this is why I do not like that they split off their official forums. Not even an acknowledgement that the thread exists.
     
  21. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    This has been noted by ESET that the DPI issue is a bug. When it will be sorted, I do not know this.
     
  22. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    They being who ? I did take the liberty of posting back the standing ESET board link to this thread.
     
  23. xxJackxx

    xxJackxx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    USA
    I meant on their forum. Your reply was the only one.
     
  24. FanJ

    FanJ Updates Team

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,564
    Thanks again guys.

    It is ESET their decision whether they want to reply and it is ESET their decision whether they will fix things.
    If they don't, then it tells me something.
    And it will be my decision, if they don't, to get rid of this AV, even after using it for more ten years, and even having an existing licence. Whether that will happen, time will tell. But not being able to read their menu's, makes it almost useless for me.
     
  25. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.