eset and ps3

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by giannizzeronero, Feb 9, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. giannizzeronero

    giannizzeronero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    I have a shared connection between pc and ps3 and it works only when i disable eset smart security(only firewall) I tried to configure but it doesn't work, you can help me?
    sorry for my english but i am italian :D
    thanks.
     
  2. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello giannizzeronero,

    Please check with Sony for specific firewall settings. The following is a link to their Support page: http://www.us.playstation.com/Support.

    Adjust your protocol settings and switch to interactive mode. Below are the procedures.

    1. Open the main program window by clicking the ESET icon next to the system clock or by clicking Start -> All Programs -> ESET -> ESET Smart Security.
    2. Press the F5 key to display the Advanced Setup window.
    3. From the Advanced Setup tree, click Personal Firewall and then select Interactive mode from the Filtering mode drop-down menu.
    4. Then click Protocol Filtering.
    5. Select the Applications marked as Internet browsers or e-mail clients option.
    6. From the Advanced Setup tree, click Antivirus and antispyware -> Web access protection -> HTTP -> Web browsers and make sure that only the applications you want scanned with the Internet filter are selected. Typically only real web browsers (iexplorer.exe, firefox.exe, etc.) will need to be selected. Repeat this step for email clients (outlook.exe, thunderbird.exe, etc.) by clicking POP3 -> Email Clients.
    7. Click OK to save your changes.

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  3. giannizzeronero

    giannizzeronero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    i have follow your istruction but i have same problem only when the firewall is disable i can play online there are some rules that i need to add ?
     
  4. giannizzeronero

    giannizzeronero Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    i have also try to Uncheck every rule that has in the name block but it doesn't work :S
     
  5. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello,

    Did you check with Sony PS3 for the specific settings? They may have settings that can easily resolve your issue.

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.