ESET and Acronis True Image Compatibility

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by Starry 173, Jul 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Starry 173

    Starry 173 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    I have True Image 2011 with Plus Pack. I have a Dell Optiplex 320 with 2 GB of memory on Windows 7 Pro. Recently, I installed ESET Smart Security 4, which I like a lot. However...

    The first time after installing ESET that I tried to back up...to a WD Element external USB drive...the backup appeared to go OK, but the validation failed, claiming that the archive was corrupted. I later confirmed, with a test restore to an extra hard drive, that the archive was corrupted.

    I tested the memory on the PC, having read somewhere that memory problems can cause this error, but the memory tests squeaky clean.

    One thing that did work was to do the backup to another hard drive on the PC, but having the backup go to an external drive is rather important. I tried upgrading my memory, but I have this really quircky PC...the graphics card apparently keeps me from expanding to more than 2 GB. I have never heard of such a crazy thing.

    Anyway, I finally tried shutting down the Internet connection and uninstalling ESET and then the backup and validation ran fine to the external USB drive.

    I normally have the Firewall in Automatic Mode, but put it in Learn mode so that everything would be allowed and I still got the same error in Acronis True Image.

    Any ideas on how I could make ESET and Acronis co-exist?
     
  2. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    Have you tried adding *.tib to the excluded extension list? Or perhaps exclude the destination directory?
     
  3. Starry 173

    Starry 173 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    I'm not sure what you mean. There are no .tib files on my C drive, which is what I am backing up. By destination directory, do you mean the target of the backup (the USB hard drive)? Could you please explain further? Thanks for the reply.
     
  4. como

    como Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2004
    Posts:
    498
    I have happily been backing up to external disks using TI and Eset for a number of years without any special settings in Eset. However I am running TI 2010 and not 2011 but wouldn't have thought it would make a difference, as several posters on the Acronis Forum appear to use Eset.

    I see you have posted on Acronis TI forum as well, I am sure that beween the two you will get a satifactory solution
     
  5. jackbrennan2008

    jackbrennan2008 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Posts:
    12
    I'm using Eset Smart Security 4 and Acronis True Image 2011 and i'm not having any problems at all.
     
  6. Starry 173

    Starry 173 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    Posts:
    4
    Update:

    I tried switching from the video card (Radeon X1300/X1550 Series) which came with the PC to the onboard video. Pretty ugly...max of 1024x768 resolution allowed, but it did allow me to do the backup/validation on Acronis with ESET running, with no problems...so its looking to me like this legacy video board and/or the driver for it, is the real culprit. Need to find a new driver or a new video board I'm thinking. Thanks for your responses.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.