Error ?

Discussion in 'Prevx Releases' started by CloneRanger, Nov 8, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Discovered this screenie that i tucked away under SD's commit folder yesterday & forgot about !

    instr7.gif

    It restarted & ran OK after that.

    What does the error imply ?

    TIA
     
  2. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Just got some major type failures now :eek:

    dep.gif

    I keep getting different "instruction" numbers etc alerts about every 3 seconds. Also lots of extra oubound FW prompts, which were driving me mad, so i've denied for now. Prevx kept shuting down & restarting many times with similar errors each time. Now this, but it is running ?

    prob.gif

    Going to reboot & see & i expect everything to be fine :) Well hope so :p
     
  3. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    You may want to try just uninstalling/reinstalling - I suspect your HIPS has prevented Prevx from accessing its own components and therefore corrupted some underlying functionality.

    Let me know your results!
     
  4. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @ PrevxHelp

    On boot today everythings back to normal :thumb:

    Hi, no i don't believe it was anything to do with my HIPS. I think it might have been due to Atelier Web Ports Traffic Analyzer i was testing in SD. I was supposed to reboot for for full effect, but as i was in an SD session it wouldn't have worked ;)

    It seemed to work fine without the reboot, but maybe it threw a wobbly & interfered with PSOL in some way/s ?

    I'm going to install it properly & see how it goes :thumb: I'll let you know if i get any more problems :thumb:
     
  5. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    Here you go & they ain't pretty :mad:

    Found out what i believe the problem was/IS & it's a BIG one

    As you saw i it when i was testing Atelier Web Ports Traffic Analyzer (AWPTA) 2.34 that these problems happened & Prevx was experiencing ALL those errors & shutdowns/restarts.

    I was testing whilst having ShadowDefender running so couldn't reboot to install the Provider. I presumed that even though AWPTA worked without the reboot, the errors etc should stop if i installed it. On reboots SD is no longer active, so i then rebooted & installed AWPTA normally & rebooted. I experienced ALL the same/similar errors & problems, which was a nasty surprise. Realising that obviously for some unknown "reason/s" AWPTA & PSOL don't like each other, i decided to uninstall it. Unfortunately by this time my comp had frozen & wouldn't respond to the keyboard/mouse. Did a reset which booted to the welcome screen, tried to type in the first character of my PW but it didn't appear & total lockup again. Reset again & tried to boot into Safe Mode, but got no further than the welcome screen etc again. Attempted multiple versions of Safe Mode & System Restore but got nowhere.

    In other words it's fkd :mad:

    Today i hooked my HD to another comp to delete Everything AWPTA related, replaced it but got the same welcome screen problems.

    Hooked my HD to the other comp again & deleted Everything Prevx related, same ****

    Thought i had a backup, but can't find it, so unless i do it's a TOTAL reinstall of Windows & ALL my settings & Apps etc to the C:\Drive At least my D:\Drive will be fine, some consolation though :(

    Prevx you might be interested in this - snipped as per policy Jotti/Virus Total Results But I sent to PrevxHelp via PM - Maybe nothing but ?

    I'm not blaming Prevx, but there is obviously some serious conflict/s between the 2 apps going on, which you need to be aware of.

    I'm posting from another comp until i get it sorted.

    Not happy, but **** happens

    *

    It talks about how to uninstall AWPTA in the Read Me file

    View attachment README.TXT

    But you CAN'T if you CAN'T boot :mad:

    aw2.4.gif

    Damn sure i will :p
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 10, 2010
  6. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    UPDATE

    That windows Registry install & maybe more, is corrupt beyond repair, even after some helpful advice from PrevxHelp & several hours spent with a friend of mine who runs an IT company :(

    He used all manner of tricks including booting from ERD Commander etc to try & rescue it, with only partial success. So i decided we'd spent enough time on it % he reinstalled Windows into a new folder. Didn't know you could do that :D

    So at least i am able to copy across ALL my folders with Lots of stuff etc in them, from the previous Windows etc folder to the new one ;)

    I guess i won't be installing AWPTA ever again :thumbd:
     
  7. incognitus

    incognitus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2010
    Posts:
    3
    Just saw this thread - I just had an almost identical experience with Prevx (just posted it here 5 min ago: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=287084).

    I got my system working again, but will likely do a fresh reinstall as the system was badly corrupted.

    Interestingly, I have not used or installed any of the programs you mentioned, in fact I have not installed anything for quite a while when disaster stroke.

    Any borked Prevx update maybe ?
     
  8. CloneRanger

    CloneRanger Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,833
    @ incognitus

    Hi, VERY interesting that you also Suffered similar Massive problems & inconveniences etc etc that i did :eek:

    I'm extremely surprised to to see someone else have to go through ALL this, & so soon after i did :( as i thought it was a one off & Totally related to AWPTA. Now it appears it might not have been ?

    I've read your other thread & am following events with great interest. I sincerely hope that Prevx now appreciate that there is possibly a Major flaw and/or incompatability with something/s & get on the case ASAP, as i wouldn't like to have to go through ALL that again, or indeed i doubt Anyone else would either !

    I'm glad you were able to at least able to do more than i could, & hope that no more problems occurr.

    Regards
     
  9. Rivalen

    Rivalen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Posts:
    413
    How do I go about it to check the event log in win 7? I have some odd messages when browsing that there has been something wrong and IE will recover the sites I had up at the moment. It does recover so its a minor irritation sofar.

    I would like - if possible - to determine if its IE only in the log or maybe some other app signals a wrong at the same instant.

    I will not try to highjack your thread - if my - sofar - small errors doesnt seem related I will open a new thread. Now I want to learn how to see the event log in Win7 x64.

    Best Regards
     
  10. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    If you click Start - Run - and type eventvwr.msc, you will be able to navigate through the event log :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.