Error writing File - Acronis True Image Echo Enterprise Server

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by alexh, Apr 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. alexh

    alexh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    After upgrading from TIS 9.1 to TI Echo Server doing scheduled backups to a shared network drive constantly fails with the following errors (activated logging to windows eventlog):

    Ereignistyp: Informationen
    Ereignisquelle: Acronis True Image Echo Enterprise Server
    Ereigniskategorie: Dienste
    Ereigniskennung: 3
    Datum: 04.04.2009
    Zeit: 03:04:06
    Benutzer: Nicht zutreffend
    Computer: CASTOR
    Beschreibung:
    Fehler beim Schreiben der Datei. (0x40003) function = "WriteFileNoCache" Tag = 0x7CEB2CDC9FB12189
    Nicht genügend Systemressourcen, um den angeforderten Dienst auszuführen (0xFFF0) code = 800705AA) Tag = 0xBD28FDBD64EDB8AF

    followed by

    Ereignistyp: Fehler
    Ereignisquelle: Acronis True Image Echo Enterprise Server
    Ereigniskategorie: Dienste
    Ereigniskennung: 3
    Datum: 04.04.2009
    Zeit: 03:04:06
    Benutzer: Nicht zutreffend
    Computer: CASTOR
    Beschreibung:
    Fehler beim Schreiben der Datei. Klicken Sie auf Wiederholen für einen weiteren Versuch oder auf Abbrechen, um die Aktion abzubrechen.: Wiederholen/Abbrechen

    After that entries the eventlog is filled up with the following messages and you are unable to log in to the server until rebooting the server

    Ereignistyp: Warnung
    Ereignisquelle: PerfOS
    Ereigniskategorie: Keine
    Ereigniskennung: 2012
    Datum: 04.04.2009
    Zeit: 03:17:22
    Benutzer: Nicht zutreffend
    Computer: CASTOR
    Beschreibung:
    Die Prozessinformationen des Systems konnten nicht abgerufen werden. Der zurückgegebene Statuscode liegt im ersten DWORD0 des Datenbereichs.
    Daten:
    0000: 9a 00 00 c0 š..À

    Some technical details:
    ProLiant DL380 G4 with 4GB RAM
    Windowsinstallation is on local disks
    Data is on a HP MSA1500CS 900GB Volume
    Windows Server 2003 SP2
    Lotus Domino Server

    For further assistance I attached a Acronis System Report Tool file.

    Any help is greatly appreciated!
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 6, 2009
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello alexh,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    Check the following step-by-step troubleshooting regarding your issue. Let us know the results.

    Can you please clarify the build number?

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  3. alexh

    alexh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Sorry, forgot to mention that. It's Acronis®*True*Image*Echo*Enterprise*Server® (build*8.206)
    Following the step-by-step trubleshooting:
    - I can browse the share
    - reducing backup speed is no option because of the limited backup time window and the amount of data (~200GB]
    - no limitations on inbound connections -> Server 2003
    - there are no network errors and no continued or new backup files, only one "castor1.tib" showing that the process is not finished (or aborted)
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello alexh,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    Have you tried to backup to a different computer? Does the issue remains? Can you please describe step-by-step actions you perform? Also please attach full log file which contains error message to your next reply.

    Renew Acronis scheduler using this link and see if the issue remains.

    If the issue still persists do the following:

    - Download the http://www.acronis.com/files/support/schedmgr.exe file ;
    - Start the Command Prompt from Start -> Programs -> Accessories menu;
    - Run the following commands in the folder you saved the file to:

    schedmgr task zap
    schedmgr service stop
    schedmgr service uninstall
    schedmgr service install
    schedmgr service start

    This should delete all the scheduled tasks on the PC. You should manage your scheduled tasks from the scratch.

    Please make sure that Acronis Scheduler2 Service (Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Services) Startup Type is set to Automatic. Otherwise, please set it to Automatic yourself and reboot your computer.

    Finally reinstall SnapAPI drivers. Check your PM.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  5. alexh

    alexh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    I have updated the scheduler as described and configured a new task.
    SnapAPI driver is up-to-date (Version 3.3 build 380)
    Doing a test-backup of this partition is a bit comlicated because the only server having enough free disk space is the same server where all our images are stored.
    Today, again the task didn't finish correct, see attached log (attached logfiles of the last backups).
    For today backup I reconfigured the task with low backup priority and half network priority.

    Thanks for your help
     

    Attached Files:

  6. alexh

    alexh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Today the job finished "successfully" with this settings:
    - no archive protection enabled
    - pre/post: stop domino server( and start via windows scheduled task after one hour)
    - no multi-volume snapshot
    - no VSS
    - high compression
    - backup priority set to low
    - network througput set to half
    - email notification
    - logging to windows eventlog enabled
    - no splitting
    - ignore bad sectors and retry after 2 minutes

    The job created two .tib files castor1.tib and castor2.tib. I can mount both, browse and copy files out of it. But there should be only one file?

    How should I proceed?
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello alexh,

    Thank you for your interesting in Acronis True Image

    Good news. What is the size of the backups and file system partition where they are stored. You see split is not an issue, it can be limitation of FAT32 file system (4 gb maximum file size). You should format it to NTFS to overcome the issue.

    In order to be sure validate image by means of Validate backup archives option within the program and tell me the result.

    Best regards,
    --
    Dmitry Nikolaev
     
  8. alexh

    alexh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Hello Dmitry,
    sorry to tell you the backup didn't work again.
    The target partition storing the images of our servers is 1.199.977.922.560 Bytes 1,09TB using NTFS.
    I gathered a few infos on the source and target partition using fsutil and attached the files.
    I also attached the logfiles of the last failed backups.
    I don't have a clue where to search. One time it's failing because of read-errors from disk, possible reason bad sectors on disk (on a SAN-Volume?) and the other time it's failing because of "not enough system ressources to run the requested service".
    I tried to backup and verify the system partition C: to the same server manually.
    These are the results:
    • manual backup works
    • backup file is split, although splitting is set to automatic (and so normally the file is not splitted?)
    • backup priority is set to low and "TrueImageService.exe" is using 100% cpu over the whole backup time
    • verifying the image works using ~20% cpu

    Any ideas?

    Thanks for your help!
     

    Attached Files:

  9. alexh

    alexh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Today the backup failed again. This time the "error" was (translated, original log attached) "Error writing file... poor qualitiy media".
    Remember: still the target is a 1TB big NTFS partition on a other server. Other servers (same OS) with installed Echo work fine.
    I did a test and manually started a backup of partition D: to the same target as in the task. I backed up about 8 GB before i aborted the process. The backup spilt the files in 2.097.152 KB files although no (automatic) splitting was defined.
    I think I have to remove Acronis and try another solution.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello alexh,

    Thank you for using Acronis Corporate Products

    If you want to give the issue a further investigation, please let us know your e-mail via PM, it is more convenient to exchange with the diagnostic files via e-mail.

    Are you able to copy a file of size more than 2GB to the network share? I suppose the splitting is related to the network drive settings. Also, what is the exact model of your network drive? What is the exact protocol of the connection?

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  11. alexh

    alexh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Posts:
    9
    Hello Oleg,

    if possible I really want to investigate this problem. How can I send you a PM?

    I can copy files larger than 2GB to this network share. I did a litle research on ftp-usage in Acronis and thats the limit for a tib-file.
    It's a shared folder on a Windows Server 2003 using TCP/IP.

    Thanks.
     
  12. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello alexh,

    Thank you for using Acronis Corporate Products

    To send a PM to Acronis support you should make click on any Acronis Moderator and select Send Private Message option. We are awaiting for your reply.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.