error: Server Connection Failure

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 v3 Beta Forum' started by no13, Apr 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    That's what it syays when I try to update... instantly... no connection attempt observed by firewall or Sysinternals.com Process Explorer

    No further info...

    multiple reinstalls

    same issue

    Twice it nuked my internet connection...

    I traced it to IMON...
    unregistering IMON didn't help
    NOD uninstall didn't help

    finally had to use WinSockXP fix from softpedia.com

    any clueso_O
     
  2. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi,

    I'm afraid that I don't have the answer, but a few questions:

    1.
    Did it only happen when you try to update NOD32 ?

    2.
    Have you tried to click the Repair Now button in IMON Setup > Miscellaneous ?
    Quotes:
    Automatically detect changes in network configuration and repair necessary settings - if enabled, IMON will try to repair the LSP chain in order to ensure proper functionality of the network and mail scanner. If IMON keeps repairing configuration on system startup due to another program utilizing the same technique, turn this option off. Click Repair now to force IMON repair network configuration.
    - end quotes -
     
  3. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Hi FanJ
    Long time no see... err... chat?... umm... discussion?...uuhhh.... I'll find a more suitable word soon. promise.

    1. yes. Only for updates... however, I found my Internet connection nuked twice out of 20 or so restarts..

    2. No.
    I'll do the "repair" thingy when i reinstall.

    I'll report back soon, sarge!
     
  4. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Hi no13 :D

    Maybe you could also try to remove the checkmark in that box "Automatically detect changes in network configuration and repair necessary settings" and see whether that might help.

    No other programs "blocking" something?

    Is your software firewall maybe blocking access to beta25.eset.com (that's where my beta-version gets its updates from)?

    LOL :D

    Warm regards, Jan.
     
  5. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    no... and no.
    let's see... tomorrow is a new day, and my butt hurts for today :D

    Guess I'll need a strong batch of mom's spiced tea for ths, huh? :D
     
  6. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    But do take some Butterscotch too :D :cool:
     
  7. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    Well... i did it... thanks to Fan for help :D

    Anyone got any Nut Butterscotch IceCream? I forgot to order last night :(

    Must... celebrate... fairly... happy... must... not... resist....

    Thanks FanJ :D
     
  8. FanJ

    FanJ Guest

    Congrats no13 :D
    I'm very happy you were able to solve it ! :D
    Was it that "Repair Now" that did the trick?

    LOL, don't forget that nice Nut Butterscotch IceCream tomorrow :cool:

    Cheers, Jan.
     
  9. no13

    no13 Retired Major Resident Nutcase

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Posts:
    1,327
    Location:
    Wouldn't YOU like to know?
    yep. ;)
    thx!
    ACK SENT
    :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.