Error Sbie2312 Could not enable BrowseNewProcess setting: [77 / C0000001]

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by HMP, Nov 10, 2019.

  1. HMP

    HMP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    UK
    Hi, I'm on latest Free Sandboxie on Windows 7 Pro.
    I regularly get this error loading sandboxed programs, especially latest Firefox.
    How can I fix it?
     
  2. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,381
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    HMP, I run Firefox and havent seen Sandboxie message 2312. What happens if you close the message?

    Does sandboxed Firefox still works well after doing it? If it does, then you can safely ignore the message and hide it and forget about it.

    If Firefox doesnt work well after closing the message, then it means there is a problem.

    Tell us how Firefox behaves after closing the message.

    Bo
     
  3. HMP

    HMP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    UK
    Yes, Firefox runs, but I can't tell if sbie is protecting it securely or properly
     
  4. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,381
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    Alright, then you can ignore the message. Sandboxie messages are not necessarily errors, they can also be information.

    You can tell you are running sandboxed in different ways. One, look at Sandboxie control. If you are running Firefox sandboxed and you see Firefox.exe inside SBIE control, then you know you are OK.

    3.jpg

    Another way is using colored borders, or the # sign. Usually this things work when the program you are running has the Window title. If there is no Window title, the # sign wont show but the colored borders should. Personally, I cant stand the colored borders. I don't mind the # sign but I gotten used to not using anything to tell me I am running sandboxed. I just know I am running sandboxed. Look in:

    Sandbox settings>Appearance

    You ll find something there to set this up the way you like it.

    You can also invoke the "Is Window sandboxed?" tool. This is where you ll find it.

    1.jpg

    After you drag the finder over the window of the sandboxed program, you ll get a confirmation from Sandboxie, like this.

    2.jpg

    After a while when confidence on Sandboxie grows, you know you are sandboxed when you are supposed to be. Also, look at the SBIE icon by the clock, when you see red dots there, it means, programs are active, running in the sandbox. No dots, means nothing is running sandboxed. And when you see a red x, it means sandbox contents are getting deleted.

    Bo
     
  5. HMP

    HMP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    UK
    I understand. Yellow borders and # is enabled and looks okay.
    Sometimes I also see the error with Thunderbird.
    Isn't there a way to know for sure what the warning means?
    What if part of firefox & Thunderbird aren't loading properly, causing background issues I might need to know about?
     
  6. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,381
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    This is the explanation for Message 2312. I never had one of this, you shouldn't worry about it.

    https://www.sandboxie.com/SBIE2312

    With Thunderbird, same thing, if it works well under SBIE, ignore the message.

    Regardless of the message, its very very likely, if something was not loading properly, the program would not run at all in the sandbox.

    Save this link.
    https://www.sandboxie.com/SBIE_Messages

    Bo
     
  7. HMP

    HMP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    UK
    Okay thank you. Just annoying. Wish I could disable the alert.
     
  8. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,381
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You can.

    Click Hide in the message next time it appears.

    Bo
     
  9. HMP

    HMP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    UK
    Don't know how to block only this warning specifically, but will try next time warning appears. Thanks
     
  10. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,381
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You click were it says Hide (see picture below) in the bottom part of the message. Doing it only hides this particular message. Usually only for the sandbox you were using when you clicked to hide it. If the message shows the name of the sandbox in parenthesis like in the picture, then that's the case. If it doesn't, then the message is hidden globally. You can revert hidden messages later on if you want to.

    Sin título.jpg

    Bo
     
  11. HMP

    HMP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Posts:
    20
    Location:
    UK
    Okay done it thanks!
     
  12. bo elam

    bo elam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2010
    Posts:
    5,381
    Location:
    Nicaragua
    You are welcome, HMP. I am glad to help (happy sandboxing).

    Bo
     
Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.