Error in reading Disc 1 - New user Heeelp!!

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by davidlloydhoare, Apr 14, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. davidlloydhoare

    davidlloydhoare Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I have been using Acronis True Image 9 to make backups of my hard drive using the clone disc facility. This has worked twice. After a few weeks of new programs, a new graphics card and new data, I decided it was time to do another clone disc. (I use this method of disaster recovery as I've never had success with taking images etc. At least with this way you can immediately try out the cloned disc to see if it works - then there's no question about it - you're safe!!)

    However, this time I got the error message when it reached 4%, "error in reading disc 1, sector then a lot of numbers) retry, abort, ignore"

    This happened once before and I defraged the disc and it worked. I defraged the disc this time using the Windows XP defrag tool and also a Norton Speed disc tool. But still the same problem.

    I am using Windows XP SP2.

    Would appreciate any help with this problem.
    David
     
  2. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hello David,

    You may have some bad sectors. From the Window "Start" > "Run" menu, run chkdsk C: /r, chkdsk D: /r etc for each partition on your hard drive in turn (this will take some time).

    Regards
     
  3. davidlloydhoare

    davidlloydhoare Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Hi Menorcaman, Thanks for your reply, I've run CHKDSK but the problem still persists.
     
  4. davidlloydhoare

    davidlloydhoare Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    Just realised that chkdsk C: /r is different to chkdsk - I'll run it now!
     
  5. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    If you ran just "chkdsk" and no errors were reported then it is unlikely that the "chkdsk /r" will do anything different. The r parameter is for repairing any errors.
     
  6. seekforever

    seekforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Posts:
    4,751
    No. /f fixes errors, /r is a much more comprehensive test.

    From MS site:

    /r : Locates bad sectors and recovers readable information. The disk must be locked.
     
  7. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802

    Thou shalt not defrag a disk that has such errors, at best the situation will not worsen, but more damage can result.

    Such an error does indicate a serious problem.

    Make sure that the drive cables are seated properly.

    1. Run the diagnostics from the drive manufacturer.
    2. If the drive is connected to a SCSI or separate controller card, run diagnostics provided by the controller manufacturer.
    3.Run the tests at http://www.hgst.com/hdd/support/download.
     
  8. davidlloydhoare

    davidlloydhoare Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    I ran the chkdsk C: /r, and it is a more compehensive program than chkdsk. It found an error on the disc and fixed it, and now I have been able to clone my disc once more!!!
    Thank you all so much for your help.
    David
     
  9. Howard Kaikow

    Howard Kaikow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Posts:
    2,802
    I'd still run the tests I listed, they are more exhaustive than chkdsk.
     
  10. Chutsman

    Chutsman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,181
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida, USA
    Oops, I stand corrected. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.