Error: Failed to read data from the disk

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by TomBrooklyn, Jan 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TomBrooklyn

    TomBrooklyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Posts:
    76
    XP Pro, Acronis TI 10

    Whenever I do a backup I get the same error. It comes up in a window labled error and it is...

    ================================================
    | E000101F4: Failed to read data from the disk.
    | Failed to read from the sector 228,173,733 of the hard disk 2
    | Retry Ignore Ignore All Cancel
    ================================================

    If I click retry the same error comes back with the same sector.

    If I select Ignore the backup completes, Acronis says its a good backup, and it verifies OK.

    What's up with this error and is there any way to resolve it?
     
  2. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Have you run a chkdsk /r on the hard disk?

    Does it show any bad sectors?
     
  3. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello TomBrooklyn,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Disk Backup Software.

    Please notice that, as pointed by MudCrab, such error is usually caused by bad sectors on the drive, and running "chkdsk /r" on all partitions of the drive should fix the problem (you will need to reboot your computer to check system partition).

    Please be aware that when you click "Ignore", the problem sector is skipped, and not included into the archive. Such archive will verify and restore, but any data that was in the problem sector will be missing.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  4. minh1234

    minh1234 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    I think I am having the exact same problem with this error:
    Failed to read from the sector XYZ of the Hard Disk 4.

    However, the strange thing is: Hard Disk 4 is a GoVault, an external hard drive that's packaged into a cartridge, and inserted into a caddy connected to the server via USB. After having this problem, I thought that the external hard drive was faulty, so I replace with another cartridge (basically another HDD). Restart the server, launch Acronis again, but before I even proceed with making an image, the exact same error happens again at the exact same sector. And yes, I ran chkdsk on both HDD several times with /r switch. Here is the chkdsk result:

    CHKDSK is verifying files (stage 1 of 5)...
    File verification completed.
    CHKDSK is verifying indexes (stage 2 of 5)...
    Index verification completed.
    CHKDSK is verifying security descriptors (stage 3 of 5)...
    Security descriptor verification completed.
    CHKDSK is verifying file data (stage 4 of 5)...
    File data verification completed.
    CHKDSK is verifying free space (stage 5 of 5)...
    Free space verification is complete.
    Windows has checked the file system and found no problems.

    156290391 KB total disk space.
    32527600 KB in 9 files.
    12 KB in 11 indexes.
    0 KB in bad sectors.
    70775 KB in use by the system.
    65536 KB occupied by the log file.
    123692004 KB available on disk.

    4096 bytes in each allocation unit.
    39072597 total allocation units on disk.
    30923001 allocation units available on disk.

    Now this leads me into thinking that the problem is not with the HDD but it was something else. Might be Acronis, might be the chkdsk that Acronis invokes assumes that there is a problem with the HDD but there is none.

    The True Image we are using is True Image Server version 9.1 (build 3,926).

    I also did some search on the net as well as in our forum but not yet found a solution. Can someone help? Thanks lot in advanced for the solution.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2008
  5. TomBrooklyn

    TomBrooklyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Posts:
    76
    Hi,
    I ran chkdsk /r on the drive and I am no longer getting the error when I backup. Thanks mudcrab and tech support.
    Regards,
    Tom
     
  6. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello minh1234,

    Thank you for choosing Acronis Server Disk Backup Software.

    Please download the latest version of Acronis drivers and install it with disabled logging.

    If the issue persists, please collect some information to let us investigate it thoroughly:

    - Reinstall Acronis drivers with enabled logging;
    - Reproduce the issue and collect the log file without closing any application windows (including the error message windows if there are any). The log file will be created at C:\ . The name of the log file will be snapapi [date-time].log

    Please create Acronis Report and Windows System Information as it is described in Acronis Help Post.

    Please also create a screenshot of the error message.

    Then submit a request for technical support. Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  7. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello TomBrooklyn,

    We are glad to hear that your issue has been solved and you can use Acronis True Image successfully.

    If you have any further questions concerning Acronis software, please feel free to submit a request for technical support or post any of them on this forum. We will certainly try to help you in resolving any issues.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  8. minh1234

    minh1234 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    Hi Marat,

    Thanks for your help, but:
    I have re-install Acronis SnapAPI without logging, restart the server, ran chkdsk /r, the output is as below:

    CHKDSK is verifying files (stage 1 of 5)...
    File verification completed.
    CHKDSK is verifying indexes (stage 2 of 5)...
    Index verification completed.
    CHKDSK is verifying security descriptors (stage 3 of 5)...
    Security descriptor verification completed.
    CHKDSK is verifying file data (stage 4 of 5)...
    File data verification completed.
    CHKDSK is verifying free space (stage 5 of 5)...
    Free space verification is complete.
    Windows has checked the file system and found no problems.

    156290391 KB total disk space.
    32527600 KB in 9 files.
    12 KB in 11 indexes.
    0 KB in bad sectors.
    70775 KB in use by the system.
    65536 KB occupied by the log file.
    123692004 KB available on disk.

    4096 bytes in each allocation unit.
    39072597 total allocation units on disk.
    30923001 allocation units available on disk.

    Then I launch Acronis True Image again, but still the same problem:

    Failed to read from the sector XYZ... of the hard disk 4.

    I will re-install SNAPAPI again now, with logging, then will provide you more detail.

     
  9. minh1234

    minh1234 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    OK, I remove the SNAPAPI and re-install again the driver file you provided. However it still does not work.
    I have made the screen shoot as well as the nfo. Please rename the acronis.txt to .nfo due to the attachment restriction.

    Really look forward to have a solution for this since this is a great software but unfortunately this is happening to me. Thanks lot in advanced.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. neo19

    neo19 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    I had the same error message during the backup and did the chdsk /r but the problem is still remain.

    Please help!

    Neo
     
  11. yamaneko

    yamaneko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    53
    try chkdsk /b
     
  12. neo19

    neo19 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    there is no /b in XP but /r does the same job i believe.
     
  13. yamaneko

    yamaneko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2007
    Posts:
    53
  14. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,755
    Location:
    Texas
    Off topic post removed. Keep in mind this is the Acronis support forum.
     
  15. neo19

    neo19 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    is was about using acronis but not able to do the entire backup when getting this error even after chkdsk /r of my c:

    So I end up reinstalling all of my software manually!!!

    but I still would like to know .
     
  16. thecreator

    thecreator Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    Baltimore Co., Maryland USA
    Hi minh1234,

    Question: Do you have any attached NAS Hard Drives mapped to your computer, from its software? Example: Netgear's Storage Central Unit SC-101 or its Turbo SC-101T.

    Is Drive 4, internal Hard Drive or External Hard Drive?
     
  17. minh1234

    minh1234 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    Hi thecreator,
    No NAS, drive 4 is a Quantum GoVault, which is basically an external HDD with a caddy and removable HDD cartridge that can be inserted and ejected. I change another cartridge but still could not be able to complete an image from Acronis.
    Also as said, I completed the chkdsk /r with no error, I pasted the output afterward so we call can take a look.
    I've got stuck really. Try several things but none work including remove abosolutely the whole software cleanly accordingly to Acronis's guide and re-install couple of times, I also reinstall Acronis's SnapAPI drive with and without logging enabled, I also change another GoVault's catridge (just a 2.5" HDD really), but none work.

     
  18. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello all,

    neo19, could you please proceed with instructions in this post?

    minh1234, could you please clarify if you've submitted support request with attached SnapApi log? If so then could you please provide me with your support request number?

    Thank you
    --
    Michael Levchenko
     
  19. minh1234

    minh1234 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    Hi Michael,

    I could not see the SNAPAPI log even with logging enabled (checked in C:\, also in default program installation folders, as well as where I try to save the image to (drive 4)), and even right at the time that Acronis TI was having this issue. All I have is the .nfo file which was submitted and renamed to .txt with a screenshoot attached in my previous post on the January 22nd, 2008, 01:40 PM .

    Thank you for your help.

     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2008
  20. dantz

    dantz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Posts:
    991
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I'm quite surprised that chkdsk /r failed to help, whereas chkdsk /b (which runs only under Vista) solved your problem. I'm going to have to delve a bit deeper into the reasons why Microsoft added that new chkdsk switch to Vista.

    Generally, if chkdsk finds any read/write errors on your hard disk then you need to be aware that it might be failing. The hard disk's firmware normally takes care of these types of errors transparently, and if any are getting through to the operating system then there's probably something seriously wrong with that disk.

    I suggest looking at the chkdsk logs to see if any bad sectors are listed.
     
  21. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello minh1234,

    Please notice that instead of posting the screenshot and system information here you neet to submit a request for technical support via our website form (please click on the blue text to be redirected to the respective page). Attach all the collected files and information to your request along with the step-by-step description of the actions taken before the problem appears and the link to this thread. We will investigate the problem and try to provide you with a solution.

    Thank you.
    --
    Marat Setdikov
     
  22. minh1234

    minh1234 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    Hi Marat,

    When I tried to go and submit a support ticket at the link you gave, I've got:
    Serial number is valid but cannot be registered at this moment. Please contact Acronis Customer Service for assistance.

    Please help. Thanks.

     
  23. Redlance

    Redlance Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    I'm having this exact same issue:

    Win2003 SBS
    Intel S3000AH motherboard, bios level 44
    Quantum GoVault drive with 160GB cartrdige (SATA, connected on port 3)
    Drive firmware 00C0, Govault application v 1.30.10
    Using Acronis TI Server 9.1
    When I try a file restore from within Windows I get:

    Failed to read data from the disk.
    Failed to read from the sector 729,050,305 of the hard disk 2: Retry/Ignore/ignore All/Cancel

    Could this be an incompatibility with the GoVault drive? They do behave a little bit differently than a regular external hard drive.... in Windows there's some sort of shell tie-in... if you right click & properties the drive there's an additional tab with Govault information, and you can't use MMC to delete the partition, and you can't use Acronis to create a secure zone.

    The really weird part is the Validate backup archive works flawlessly, and the backup works great. You just can't actually get a file off.

    If you boot from CD it's really sluggish and works even less.

    Kinda scary thinking you have this good backup because the logs look great but then you can't get anything off.
     
  24. minh1234

    minh1234 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    Yep, sounds familiar to me, but no solution just yet. Please let me know when you find out something. BTW, I can't even make the image since at the beginning of the process, Acronis will evoke chkdsk and giving me this error.

     
  25. minh1234

    minh1234 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    12
    Hi Marat,

    I just submitted a support ticket via the link you gave, it went through this time. Please take a look and help us with a solution toward this problem. Thanks.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.