Error, Error, Error

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by screamer, Feb 28, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Having some strange things happening here. If I didn't know better, I'd suspect a Poltergist.

    Last nights Auto Copy / Update didn't work. I tried a manual this morning. It worked, but w/ 12 Errors. All the same:

    Error: Could not open the Shortcut File \\?\E:\$ISR\2\$ISR

    Strange...


    ...screamer
     
  2. Tony

    Tony Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2003
    Posts:
    722
    Location:
    Cumbria, England
    Hi screamer.
    I have just noticed in another of your threads that you have installed a new Hard drive.
    Its not been formatted Fat32 instead of NTFS has it.
     
  3. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Hi Tony,

    I remember doing a quick format to NTFS.

    Also not being in this screen very often. If you look at the top it lists C: first, but the bottom section is different.

    I think I screwed something up installing the HDD or it could be the new / refurbished MB

    I got more errors in Event Viewer and they are starting to point to the MB.

    Grrr.

    ...Screamer

    edit: hmmm, C: was listed first before. Unless I'm loosing it. Which is also possible.
    edit 2: I'm also wondering about the ? in the path.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    Hi Screamer

    Sounds like you might be chasing a hardware monkey. I had one of those that started with FDISR not being able to make a new archive. Turned out I couldn't even copy a big file off the c: drive. Could copy on, but not off. That was the start of a "fun" adventure. I wish you the best.

    Pete
     
  5. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Just on the outside chance, I thought I'd mention that E seems like a non-standard drive letter for the system partition. BUT, FD-ISR being as robust as it usually is, I would think that to it, system partition is system partition, period. Anyways, any chance of changing that drive letter to "C" to "see" if FD-ISR behaves any better?
     
  6. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    @ Pete:

    Well some of the Event Viewer reports point to a MB issue, so I need to call Dell since they issued the MB. First I need to collect some data that refers to my situation. But I believe what you said. Bummer : (

    @ crofttk:

    This happened two years ago while re-installing Windows. I inadvertently left a USB drive plugged in while installing, hence the the drive letter E: Ever since then I've been unable to install anything in Drive C: I get something like Error: Dick / Drive C: not available. or something along those lines. The strange thing is since then I've "installed new" HDD and a "new / re-furbished" MotherBoard.

    My question is: where does the "?" in the path come from.

    ...screamer
     
  7. Acadia

    Acadia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Posts:
    4,048
    Location:
    SouthCentral PA
    My boot drive instead of being "C" is "I" ... FDISR works just fine.

    Acadia
     
  8. crofttk

    crofttk Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Posts:
    1,976
    Location:
    Eastern PA, USA
    Okeydoke, Acadia, I reckon that addresses my concern. Enjoy the weather, looks like we'll get a load dumped on us here in Allentown tonight.:p
     
  9. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    yea, my local news said 10"

    Jeez I love the snow :-(
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.