error during the installation of the lnsfw1 driver: 11 24

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by Brummelchen, Nov 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,650
    setup: LooknStop_Setup_207MEn.exe

    Message like above.

    why?

    Installed: eset v4, cfosspeed, win-firewall deactivated (inc service)
    OS Win7
    need more?
     
  2. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,570
  3. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,650
    thank you much - i'll try it later when on Win7 (currently XP as main OS)
     
  4. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    This error comes when there is something broken in the registry, in GroupOrderList key.

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  5. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,650
    Back on Win7 - that did it:
    *export of tree
    * modification
    * re-import entry

    LnS works nice so far, now i need my rules from some tests before.
    wish me luck :D
     
  6. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Do you mean you exported GroupOrderList, modified it and reimported it ?
    I'm curious which modification you did ;)

    Thanks,

    Frederic
     
  7. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,650
    The re-import of same data was not possible - so i re-ordered the lines to
    that and copied them into a new line with right entry. so the type of entry
    changes - the other efforts did not.

    * i know what i am doing
     
  8. twistedvincent

    twistedvincent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    I'm having the same issue (lnsfw1 driver 11 24)during installation using Windows 7 and the latest look n stop.
    Could someone explain the fix in layman's terms?
    I'm semi-computer literate, but I have no idea what:
    *export of tree
    * modification
    * re-import entry
    means.....please help.
     
  9. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,721
    Location:
    Canada
  10. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    2,650
    looks like this here
    Code:
    REGEDIT4
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\GroupOrderList]
    "PNP_TDI"=-
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\GroupOrderList]
    "PNP_TDI"=-
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Control\GroupOrderList]
    "PNP_TDI"=-
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\GroupOrderList]
    "PNP_TDI"=hex:05,00,00,00,03,00,00,00,04,00,00,00,08,00,00,00,09,00,00,00,0b,00,00,00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\GroupOrderList]
    "PNP_TDI"=hex:05,00,00,00,03,00,00,00,04,00,00,00,08,00,00,00,09,00,00,00,0b,00,00,00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Control\GroupOrderList]
    "PNP_TDI"=hex:05,00,00,00,03,00,00,00,04,00,00,00,08,00,00,00,09,00,00,00,0b,00,00,00
    
    
    Please check the hex code before - may differ
    (copy in a new textfile name: "PNP_TDI_win7.reg" and double click it)
     
  11. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    I think it's better to verify first if the PNP_TDI value type is different from REG_BINARY.

    If it is different, Ok, exporting, modifying the type, and removing+reimporting could solve the issue.
    If the PNP_TDI is already REG_BINARY, then the problem is probably on the content, and exporting/modifying/reimporting will not solve the issue.

    Frederic
     
  12. twistedvincent

    twistedvincent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    I didn't have entries for current control set 1 or current control set 2.
    Attached is all I found to export.

    Thanks for the help.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    These entries (CCS1 & CCS2) are backups of previous CCS, so it's not important if you don't find them.

    The problem is probably because of the following:
    Value 35
    Name: PNP_TDI
    Type: REG_NONE

    it should be:

    Value 35
    Name: PNP_TDI
    Type: REG_BINARY

    Since it is not possible to modify the type of an entry, what you can do:
    - Rename PNP_TDI to PNP_TDI_Old
    - Create a new Binary value with PNP_TDI name
    - open PNP_TDI_Old copy all, close
    - open PNP_TDI paste, close

    Try again the setup.

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  14. twistedvincent

    twistedvincent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    I'm still confused.
    Out of everything to do with computers, firewalls and configuration continue to baffle me.

    I hate to ask but could someone walk me thru the previous steps using more simple terms? I really want to get LnS up and running.

    Thanks for all your help.
     
  15. twistedvincent

    twistedvincent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Success!!!
    Thanks for all the help everybody. I guess I just get a bit shaky when it comes to messing around with the registry.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.