error during the installation of the lnsfw1 driver: 11 24

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by Brummelchen, Nov 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,734
    setup: LooknStop_Setup_207MEn.exe

    Message like above.

    why?

    Installed: eset v4, cfosspeed, win-firewall deactivated (inc service)
    OS Win7
    need more?
     
  2. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
  3. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,734
    thank you much - i'll try it later when on Win7 (currently XP as main OS)
     
  4. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    This error comes when there is something broken in the registry, in GroupOrderList key.

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  5. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,734
    Back on Win7 - that did it:
    *export of tree
    * modification
    * re-import entry

    LnS works nice so far, now i need my rules from some tests before.
    wish me luck :D
     
  6. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Do you mean you exported GroupOrderList, modified it and reimported it ?
    I'm curious which modification you did ;)

    Thanks,

    Frederic
     
  7. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,734
    The re-import of same data was not possible - so i re-ordered the lines to
    that and copied them into a new line with right entry. so the type of entry
    changes - the other efforts did not.

    * i know what i am doing
     
  8. twistedvincent

    twistedvincent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    I'm having the same issue (lnsfw1 driver 11 24)during installation using Windows 7 and the latest look n stop.
    Could someone explain the fix in layman's terms?
    I'm semi-computer literate, but I have no idea what:
    *export of tree
    * modification
    * re-import entry
    means.....please help.
     
  9. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
  10. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,734
    looks like this here
    Code:
    REGEDIT4
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\GroupOrderList]
    "PNP_TDI"=-
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\GroupOrderList]
    "PNP_TDI"=-
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Control\GroupOrderList]
    "PNP_TDI"=-
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\GroupOrderList]
    "PNP_TDI"=hex:05,00,00,00,03,00,00,00,04,00,00,00,08,00,00,00,09,00,00,00,0b,00,00,00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\GroupOrderList]
    "PNP_TDI"=hex:05,00,00,00,03,00,00,00,04,00,00,00,08,00,00,00,09,00,00,00,0b,00,00,00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet002\Control\GroupOrderList]
    "PNP_TDI"=hex:05,00,00,00,03,00,00,00,04,00,00,00,08,00,00,00,09,00,00,00,0b,00,00,00
    
    
    Please check the hex code before - may differ
    (copy in a new textfile name: "PNP_TDI_win7.reg" and double click it)
     
  11. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    I think it's better to verify first if the PNP_TDI value type is different from REG_BINARY.

    If it is different, Ok, exporting, modifying the type, and removing+reimporting could solve the issue.
    If the PNP_TDI is already REG_BINARY, then the problem is probably on the content, and exporting/modifying/reimporting will not solve the issue.

    Frederic
     
  12. twistedvincent

    twistedvincent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    I didn't have entries for current control set 1 or current control set 2.
    Attached is all I found to export.

    Thanks for the help.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    These entries (CCS1 & CCS2) are backups of previous CCS, so it's not important if you don't find them.

    The problem is probably because of the following:
    Value 35
    Name: PNP_TDI
    Type: REG_NONE

    it should be:

    Value 35
    Name: PNP_TDI
    Type: REG_BINARY

    Since it is not possible to modify the type of an entry, what you can do:
    - Rename PNP_TDI to PNP_TDI_Old
    - Create a new Binary value with PNP_TDI name
    - open PNP_TDI_Old copy all, close
    - open PNP_TDI paste, close

    Try again the setup.

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
  14. twistedvincent

    twistedvincent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    I'm still confused.
    Out of everything to do with computers, firewalls and configuration continue to baffle me.

    I hate to ask but could someone walk me thru the previous steps using more simple terms? I really want to get LnS up and running.

    Thanks for all your help.
     
  15. twistedvincent

    twistedvincent Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Posts:
    29
    Success!!!
    Thanks for all the help everybody. I guess I just get a bit shaky when it comes to messing around with the registry.
     
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.