Error by Disk Director (DD)

Discussion in 'Acronis Disk Director Suite' started by sarutaro, Feb 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sarutaro

    sarutaro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    169
    Since I got DD v. 10 around last Christmas time, I was not able to install DD correctly. Whenver I install DD, I am getting the following error (after booting):

    Windows - Drive Not Ready

    As soon as I unisntall DD, the error disapperared. I tried so many times under different conditions, the error always showed up after the installation of DD and disappears when the DD was uninstalled. I see a 100% correlation between DD and the drive error.

    OS of my computer is WinXP Pro SP2. My computer runs super.
    Need your advise. Sarutaro
     
  2. ChrisTek

    ChrisTek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Posts:
    10
    What I've found -- for a month -- that the error doesn't seem to cause an issue to the computer or drives themselves. Looks more like a write cache issue, though (like can happen upon boots where the write cache is disabled).

    But it is an annoyance, as it can repop back up 3x couple seconds apart.
     
  3. thecreator

    thecreator Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    Baltimore Co., Maryland USA
    Hi Sarutaro,

    Simply Schedule Chkdsk to run after a reboot on all partitions and Reboot. Then reinstall Disk Director Suite after you are back at the Desktop.
     
  4. sarutaro

    sarutaro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Posts:
    169
    In fact, I tried intall DD after chkdsking on both C and D drives. I was getting the same error.

    Once I got rid of it but it agains pops up when I intall/update a program.
    Sarutaro
     
  5. thecreator

    thecreator Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    87
    Location:
    Baltimore Co., Maryland USA
    Hi Sarutaro,

    What are the Hard Drive(s) involved? Are you running any SATA Hard Drives? Are you running any USB Hard Drives?

    Are your Hard Drives spinning all the time, or being allowed to power down?

    What type of Hard Drives are installed?
     
  6. MudCrab

    MudCrab Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Posts:
    6,483
    Location:
    California
    Sarutaro,

    This may be a long shot, but someone else reported this error and after a lot of troubleshooting found out that it seemed to be caused by the mouse driver not being properly installed. The mouse was part of the Microsoft Wireless Laser 6000 v2.0 keyboard/mouse set. DD had been uninstalled, but after reinstalling the Microsoft drivers and reinstalling DD, the error message wasn't showing up anymore.

    It may have been one of those specific combination things, but I thought I'd mention it. I've never run into this error in any of my testing or using of DD.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.