Error 1010: Access Denied

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by moontan, Jan 30, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    been seeing that a few times lately.

    they all seem to be related with CloudFlare.

    any idea what is happening?
    from the text, it has to do with browser signature.

    seems to work with IE, Chrome gets blocked.

    here is the link:
    h**p://abriluno.com/lousy-tipper-you-will-wash-dirty-dishes-in-california/

    Error 1010.jpg
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2014
  2. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
    Works on Firefox for me.
     
  3. luxi

    luxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    I've also been getting that a lot with Chrome. I assumed it's one or more of my security extensions that blocks or masks something they want to know about my browser, but I can't be bothered to find out what it is exactly.

    It's probably their DDoS/bot protection.
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2014
  4. Dermot7

    Dermot7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Posts:
    3,196
    Location:
    Surrey, England.
    Just to ask if you could be using a User Agent switching extension (or similar) in Chrome?
     
  5. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    Definitely not default behaviour, even my heavily customized Chrome has no issues with the link. Always test with incognito mode (no extensions enabled) before pointing fingers.
     
  6. luxi

    luxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    I don't see anyone pointing fingers here, J_L.

    And yes Dermot, I do mask my user agent, and that was my first suspicion too. But disabling it doesn't remove the ban on those certain websites so I can't confirm anything beyond that.
     
  7. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,516
    It's a general statement, hence the "always". Anyhow, no issues with IE 11 here either.
     
  8. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    i thought it could have been the extension i am using (HTTP SB) but i unisntalled it and got the same results.

    like i said, all the page where i got that message have one thing in common: CloudFlare, as in the image above at lower right..
     
  9. kupo

    kupo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Posts:
    1,122
    Yep, got that after I installed HTTPSB, my research shows that it is a result of cookie blocking. After allowing cookies and return to the site that shows me that alert after 10 - 15 mins, it won't show that message again.
     
  10. moontan

    moontan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Posts:
    3,931
    Location:
    Québec
    tnx for solving that mystery kupo! :thumb:

    i'll give it a try when i come back from work.
     
  11. PRUHDG

    PRUHDG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Posts:
    77
    Was having this same problem using header hack and other modifying header extensions in comodo dragon and opera but modifying header in my palemoon 3.6.3 does no give this problem
     
  12. luxi

    luxi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    I got it on another site today (-https://thedaywefightback.org/-) and I was able to confirm it was the cookie blocking that caused it. It's strange though, blocking cookies in Firefox doesn't result in a ban by Cloudflare for me.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 5, 2014
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.