Eraser Question

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by n8chavez, Jul 6, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    If anyone can remember, could you tell me if it was Eraser 5.83 that had the single contect menu entry; the entry for moving files only appeared via drag-and-drop to another location. I think it is but I am not sure. Does anyone have version 5.83 (or 5.84) they could send me? I can't find it at sourceforge.
     
  2. LockBox

    LockBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,275
    Location:
    Here, There and Everywhere
    You mean without the 'Secure Move' feature in the context-menu? That seems to go back a long way. If you can figure out a version number - I've got most of the old Eraser setup files. Our own 'Spy1' here at Wilders would be a good one to ask as he's a moderator at the Eraser forums.
     
  3. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Maybe this will further explain what I mean. One of the screenshots below is of the default context menu from Eraser 5.87 b1 shown when right-clicking on any file and/or directory. The other is the default from Eraser 5.87 b1 shown when dragging and dropping. It makes sense to have the 'move" entry there, but not in the first.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Hi

    What does the Secure Move do?

    Thanks
     
  5. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    When you right click on a file and click on secure move it brings up a dialog box asking where you want to move the file to Eraser then copys and pastes the file in the location and erases the orignal file.
     
  6. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Hi

    OK. Thanks. The latest version of Eraser still has this right?

    Thanks
     
  7. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    Yes Eraser does still have Secure move, the latest version is 5.86a
     
  8. rookieman

    rookieman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Posts:
    409
    I'm tempting to run this latest version on Vista 32 bit.Has anyone had any problems with this on Vista?Thanks.
     
  9. Someone

    Someone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Posts:
    1,106
    Hi

    Thanks. Does Eraser Portable have it?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.