EQSecure V4.0 Beta2 2008.3.28

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by xuesisi, Mar 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. xuesisi

    xuesisi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Posts:
    71
  2. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Hi

    How do you set EQSecure for the English Language there is only a Chinese Language zip file in the language folder?

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  3. Alcyon

    Alcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Montr?al, Canada
    Thanks for the info, xuesisi.

    What is the changelog?
     
  4. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Hi,

    just straight from google language tools...

    Update records 2008.3.28:
    1: resolving conflict with some software problems.
    2: increase exclusion list, compatibility enhancements.
    3: Driver repair some of the problems and strengthen stability.
    4: Rules can be added to the editor trust rules.
    5: Network neighbors can not solve the issue of access.
    6: Addressing the issue of death of some cards.
    7: Strengthening the bottom of the disk to intercept and repair under certain circumstances may lead to intercept failure.

    Cheers
     
  5. xuesisi

    xuesisi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Posts:
    71
  6. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    EQS 4.0 Beta2 Task Manager still crashes immediately calling up Dr Watson and such.

    I know developer is working to pull out bugs so no biggie here yet.

    Anyone else experiencing this behavior with EQS 4.0 ?

    Everything else seems fairly fluid so far.

    Thanks for the release notice and linky for Beta 2.
     
  7. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Hi xuesisi

    Thanks for your reply. I renamed the text file to ZIP and copied it to the Lang folder but it is still showing Chinese. Have I missed something?

    Thanks Terry
     
  8. xuesisi

    xuesisi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2007
    Posts:
    71
    like this...
     

    Attached Files:

  9. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Hi xuesisi

    Thanks a lot for the info and diagrams

    Terry
     
  10. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    I switched to my XP machine, installed 3.41 and then the latest beta. Not bad. I do get an error when Firefox opens up...something about not being able to connect to my home page (Yahoo) but the page does load up. I would like to see an option to delete the sandbox content either like Sandboxie or SafeSpace.

    Easter,
    I just tried bringing up Task Manager and even though the time interval was quite long it did eventually come up with no errors.

    Later...
     
  11. kuririn

    kuririn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=204700
     
  12. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    is it vista ready yet?
     
  13. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    It is but it isn't. If beta 2 were released as an installable then it would be Vista ready but as it is right now beta 2 is a collection of files and folders that you copy into EQSysSecure's (3.41) Program Files folder.

    Later...
     
  14. Vengeance666

    Vengeance666 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    5
    EQSecure 4.0 beta 2 (but also the previous beta 1) produces some strange CPU spikes on Windows XP SP2 when opening new programs and windows.
    For example, if I run Windows Task Manager, CPU time goes to 100% and returns normal after some seconds.
    This problem occurs with all processes and it is very annoying. :doubt: The only way to "solve" this problem is turning off EQSecure, by closing it completely. (In fact, even if I disable all system protections, the problem is still there :( )
    After reinstalling EQSecure 3.41, everything works well again.

    My software configuration: XP SP2 32 bit fully updated + KIS 7 MP1 + EQSecure 3.41/4.0 beta.

    I'll give it a try on a virtual machine. :eek:

    PS: sorry for my bad english. :D
     
  15. ooooo

    ooooo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2008
    Posts:
    33
    I read on wiki castlecops good tiny review.
    Most important for me is the easy usage, is it?

    In my opinion easy must be no irritant SpyBot Resident alike messages (allow-deny) and no configuration required due to my bad configuration can destroy the sistem.
     
  16. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Thanks kuririn many more.

    That eliminated the EQS Task Manager crashing. Opens up now fine.

    I'll continue pour over this Beta a little more today and see if theres any other items of concern.
     
  17. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    No, it,s not.
     
  18. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    Anyone else having big time Firefox trouble? If you have a solution please post it.

    1. Error when Firefox first loads up...can't connect to Home page...yet page loads anyway.
    2. Can't save any downloads...no recovery option

    ...plus others.

    Thank you.
     
  19. kuririn

    kuririn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    8
  20. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I just had a strange thought.

    Wouldn't it be something if the developer of EQS just happened to join in with some of these discussions regarding his creation? :argh:

    Wishful Thinking?
     
  21. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    Nice new release to test after holiday. Thanks a lot!
     
  22. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Hi All

    I am very interested in EQSecure, particularly the Sandbox part of this software.

    Could someone give a brief commentary on its usabilty. Say compared with Sandboxie, how effective it is and its strengths and weaknesses.

    Also does the software (in total) protect against Keyloggers.

    Thank you

    Terry
     
  23. Trespasser

    Trespasser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    1,194
    Location:
    Virginia - Appalachian Mtns
    A bit early to be doing that in it's development, but, yes, I'd like to see that too. Personally, I had a lot of trouble with the sandbox part of it.
     
  24. kuririn

    kuririn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Posts:
    8
    Yes.

    But there are some bugs now,particularly the "log keystrokes".

    EQSandBox is similar to HIPS(AD,RD,FD).RD&FD redirect and

    AD are policy like this,but AD .....
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 1, 2008
  25. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Hi Kuririn

    Thanks for your reply

    Would you know whether Alcyons Ruleset helps protect against Keyloggers

    Thanks

    Terry
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.