EQSecure 4.1 plus?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by neksus, Dec 8, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. neksus

    neksus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Posts:
    54
  2. Smiggy

    Smiggy Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Posts:
    209
    Location:
    The Angel Isle
    If my memory serves me right this is a chinese version only, no english variant.

    :thumbd:
     
  3. Alcyon

    Alcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Montr?al, Canada
    This new version was released today :thumb:

    It's supposed to be compatible with win2000/2003, XP and Vista.

    :) :D :thumb:
     
  4. Alcyon

    Alcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Montr?al, Canada
    Hmm, how nice! o_O This new v4.1+ version is exclusively for Chinese users, again. I'll see what i can do.
     
  5. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Oh No

    Not again o_O

    Universal Extractor, get ready for some use again (Sigh) ^|^


    Ah Crap. Site is down here

    The page cannot be displayed :doubt:
     
  6. Alcyon

    Alcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Montr?al, Canada
    Yeah, the fun begin again ;)
     
  7. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    I can't reach it. The site is toast on this end. Anyone have an alternative URL?
     
  8. Einsturzende

    Einsturzende Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Posts:
    390
    Location:
    neubauten
    I have just tried to install it on one of vmware machine where I trying Malware Defender, Disabled MD unload it and just touched EQ Sec 4.1 to see if it gives option for English installation and it gives me error window which I doubt it is even on Chinese (maybe corrupted download), will try it latter on clean system (see pic)

    error.png

    BTW. I found changelog (translated with google)

    1: increased support for the operating system, Vista SP1.
    2: increase in the exclusion list, and enhance compatibility.
    3: Repair the driver a number of issues, to strengthen stability.
    4: Rules Editor can be added to the rules of the trust.
    5: to address neighbors do not have access to the network.
    6: solve some of the dead cards.
    7: Strengthening the bottom of the disk block, to repair some cases may result in failure to intercept.

    P.S. what is "6.....dead cards" I don't have clue, dead rules maybe o_O
     
    Last edited: Dec 9, 2008
  9. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
  10. Alcyon

    Alcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Montr?al, Canada
    @EASTER, there's no problems on my side.

    Yep, this new version is definitively in Chinese.
    You need to extract the executable with Universal Extractor, remove the .tmp extensions, overwrite the files in your 3.41 folder (EQS must be closed)
    and install Chinese PRC:
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 9, 2008
  11. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Don't worry Alcyon, we'll transfer that different (character) data so that we can read it in our native lingo ;)

    UNIVERSAL EXTRACTOR + remove tmp endings.

    Ready? I am :cool:

    Let's see how far they come along during this absence. LoL

    EASTER
     
  12. neksus

    neksus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Posts:
    54
    Looks like Easter blocked himself from accessing their home page with all of the security he uses:). Guess the culprit may easily be that secret line of code inserted in Alcyon's EQS ruleset;).
    I went back to V3 some time ago after not being entirely satisfied with V4, but still cannot block myself from checking their website at times (as couple of the most persistent ones too:cautious:), hopping they might have stopped giving the rest of the world unexplainable "silent treatment" regarding English lng support, etc..
    Seems like that will never happen...
     
  13. Rickster100

    Rickster100 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Posts:
    152
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Easter, Alcyon,

    Please use your skills to get this working in english. The translated website at EQSecure shows that, yet again, there is an english language version available.

    It is frustrating that once again they ignore english users, but yet ill bet that they are happy to use Alcyons rulesets. Alcyon can you check your website logs?!! :D

    http://www.eqsecure.com/download/eqsecure200812pro.exe
     

    Attached Files:

  14. Alcyon

    Alcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Montr?al, Canada
    There's no geo-localized logs but such an implementation with drop.io is a really good idea :)
     
  15. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    The server at www.eqsecure.com is taking too long to respond.

    Can't even pull that installer in with Firefox. Hmmmmm, wonder why. :doubt:
     
  16. Alcyon

    Alcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Montr?al, Canada
    EASTER, check your PMs.
     
  17. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Done.

    Many thanks and more. SUCCESS!

    EASTER
     
  18. Alcyon

    Alcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Montr?al, Canada
    Using EQSecure v4.1 Plus is a pretty enjoyable experience until you enable "Access to physical memory". Once activated, even with "Prompt and allow", EQS will make Windows freeze for unknown reasons. Also, there's a problem with the tray icon contextual menu and the EQSysSecure.xml file inside the main executable is once again incomplete:
     

    Attached Files:

  19. TerryWood

    TerryWood Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Posts:
    703
    Hi

    Where can I download this ENGLISH version of EQSecure Plus 4.1

    Thanks

    Terry
     
  20. Nizarawi

    Nizarawi Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Posts:
    131
    very nice work alycon
     
  21. Alcyon

    Alcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Montr?al, Canada
    Like i said, it's unstable, the xml language file is incomplete and there's nothing i can do about it yet. A GUI in Chinese and English isn't very interesting.
     
  22. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    true, but it gives us english users at least some understanding of where everything is so its better than a pure Chinese one :D

    and i never knew they added a sandbox into this version? :eek:
     
  23. neksus

    neksus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Posts:
    54
    Sandbox was introduced in first "mutation" of V4, but from that time they only managed to make it less attractive for the non-Chinese-speaking people with each new version! The last one I tried was so called Beta2, and though I liked the added protection (e.g. raw disk), it was pretty buggy for my taste, while V3 always worked exceptionally!

    And since this is like 3rd or 4th version without included English translation it looks like it would be fair to say that we won't see one ever.. Maybe we could sign a petition, 10-15 signatures we could easily collect should be more than enough to make them reconsider their corporate policy:)
     
  24. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    5,633
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    Good heads up Alcyon

    We've been tasked with a mutated ("incomplete") EQS b4 but unfortunately looks like this stalling just might be another driver issue somewhat like i experienced with it's predecessor release that was too painfully slow to get some real use with 4 me, one of them anyway. Maybe memory leak also, we'll have to see what shakes out further. We'll have to wait N see if they release another more stable driver release. Anyone program/edit drivers here? o_O

    Thanks for the preliminary finding. Got the jump on me again :)


    EASTER
     
  25. zen_usuario

    zen_usuario Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Posts:
    153
    +1! :) You have, of course, my signature for this.
    EQSecure, please, reconsider your own "other languages corporate policy"!
    Can someone write an argumented petition (my english, so bad)?
    I'll singn it;)

    @Alcyon

    Thanks for your interest developing for security, too much appreciated, sincerely:)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.