Enterprise Server working directory

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by tmis, Jul 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tmis

    tmis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    We are experiencing the following problem with True Image Echo Enterprise Server. On a Windows 2003 server, when we try to backup data from our D drive (about 200 gigs worth of data) our C drive (which has only about 4 gigs of free space) always gets full and the backup fails. After canceling the error dialog, the free space is restored to C. We have tried backing up to other drives and network locations that have more than enough space for the backup and our C drive always ends up getting full and the backup never completes. This is a problem not only because we cannot complete the backup but having the C drive full interferes with some processes that run on the server. Is there a way to change the working directory to some location other than the C drive? Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello tmis,

    Thank you for using Acronis Corporate Products

    If you use the*default compression level (i.e. the Normal compression), archive size is 55 percent less than initial data size (approx, real value may vary). Therefore, you should select the target storage that has not less than 100GB of free space. For the testing purposes you can free about 120-130GB of space to perform the backup of the current system and compare the archive size value.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  3. tmis

    tmis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks for your reply. The problem is, though, that the C drive, which we have never selected as the target storage, is the one that is getting full. I am guessing that the application does the compression on that drive and then moves/copies the result to the actual target storage? Is there any way to prevent this?

    Edit: The two target storage that we have tried have 600 GB and 1.3 TB of free space.
     
    Last edited: Aug 7, 2009
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello tmis ,

    Thank you for the clarification.

    Could you please provide us with the log file of the failed operation, it will help us to find the exact moment of the backup failure.

    - Start Acronis True Image;
    - Select Tools -> Show log;
    - Choose the log entry which contains errors;
    - Click on the diskette icon, choose the location (folder) and save there;
    - Attach the log file to your next post.

    Thank you.

    --
    Oleg Lee
     
  5. tmis

    tmis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    Posts:
    3
    Attached are two examples. Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.