Engine Upgrades

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by reflux, Sep 25, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. reflux

    reflux Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    I need to know if there is a way to tell if an engine update has been performed for example updating from 2.5 to 2.7. I want to be able to check for the change and have the server reboot at a time that suits me. I have 150 Nod Mirror / File servers and don't want them rebooting when they feel like it. I've looked through the registry and filesystem but cannot find anthing that says its changed.

    Any help would be appreciated.

    Cheers
     
  2. anotherjack

    anotherjack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    224
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Check the file version of the ps_nod32.dll file in the installation directory. That's how I do it. You can write a VBscript to check the version at every login if you'd like.

    Jack
     
  3. jftuga

    jftuga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Posts:
    64
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    Here is the script :cool:

    -John

    Code:
    '
    ' n32ver.vbs
    ' -John Taylor
    ' 09-26-2007
    '
    ' From the cmd prompt run:
    ' cscript n32ver.vbs [computer-name]
    ' 
    ' and this script will return the version number of ps_nod32.dll on
    ' the remote machine, and thus the version of Nod32 that is installed.
    '
    
    If Wscript.Arguments.Count = 0 Then
    	Set obj_net = CreateObject("Wscript.Network")
    	comp = obj_net.ComputerName
    	fname = "c:\Program Files\Eset\ps_nod32.dll"
    else
    	comp = Wscript.Arguments(0)
    	fname = "\\" & comp & "\c$\Program Files\Eset\ps_nod32.dll"
    end if
    
    Set obj_fso = CreateObject("Scripting.filesystemObject")
    Set obj_file = obj_fso.Getfile( fname )
    
    dllname = obj_file.name
    vers = obj_fso.getfileversion(fname)
    Wscript.Echo comp & vbTab & dllname & vbTab & vers
    ' end of script
    
     
  4. jftuga

    jftuga Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Posts:
    64
    Location:
    Athens, GA
    reflux,

    You may also be interested in this thread:
    "HOWTO: Add Client Version to Remote Admin"
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=184712

    It uses an older method to determine the client version that is not as good as the script above. However, you can swap out the above vbs script for the batch file contained in the zip file mentioned in the above thread.

    -John
     
  5. reflux

    reflux Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Sorry for the late delay, I've been a little busy.

    Thanks I will check them out.

    Cheers
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.